We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family hostal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos
Mauvezin, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice family hostal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I felt very safe, I was in Managua before and I didn't want to get back there, but this place was really nice. It's very close to the airport and they can pick you up. I don't recommend Managua for long stays, but if you have to be there for a few nights this is the place to stay. It's nice and quiet. No hot water, but you don't need hot showers when you're at those high temperatures. Breakfast is included and they offer classical Nica breakfast or fruits with tea or juice.
La familia es muy amable, sobre todo si hablas español te puedes comunicar mejor con los abuelos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was such a great hostel! They waited for us to get in (which was late) and showed us right to our room where we had just the accommodations we needed. The family was so nice and had coffee ready for us in the morning. Totally coming back and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Charming abuelo/abuela pair - both real characters. Situated v near to bus station. Room as you would expect for price spartan but fine. Very good nica breakfast. If I return to Managua on a similar budget I will hands down return here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl06agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a great alternative to staying at an airport area hotel. They will pick up or drop off from the airport and the cost of the transfer and room will be less than half what you would pay near the airport. The rooms are simple but quite adequate. Communicating with Fabiola by email was easy. Mercado Roberto Huembes is in easy walking distance for bus connections to Granada, Ometepe etc. This is a family run hostel and the atmosphere was welcoming and friendly. I will definitely use them again next time I fly into Managua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed there 2 times already and we will definitely stay there again.
It's a great simple family hostel with excellent service and they are so friendly and generous.
I feel comfortable and relaxed there.
Great breakfast and a nice little backyard to hang out in. Wifi works perfectly!

Thank you Casa de Los Abuelos


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessilago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived in managua exhausted after many long buses and connections and we couldn't find anywhere to stay. We were taken to a couple of unsafe and filthy places until this beautiful family took us in and gave us a simple but lovely room, they played guitar and sang out the front and in the morning they made us a delicious breakfast, included in the price of the room. If you need to be near the bus terminal this place is perfect and you'll feel completely cared for in their beautiful family home.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed just one night but I wanted to thank Fabiola for a great stay. If we go back through Managua we will definitely stay again, she made us feel so welcome. After I booked on Hotels.com I got a follow up email from her which I thought was awesome. Wasnt sure where the place was but it is in a local neighbourhood where we felt safe at night. In fact, Fabiola recommended a comida a block over, we went there and for $3 each we had one of our top 3 meals in all Central America. I think the locals were surprised to find tourists eating at night in this spot and everyone was super friendly, talking and laughing, greeting us as we walked back. A real and unexpected highlight!
Room was neat and clean, good shower, excellent breakfast and nice common areas, including roof top patio to get night breeze.

Room Tip: Ask Fabiola about the comida on the next block and bring an appetite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young_alan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#19 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#21 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 62 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pachamama Managua
Pachamama Managua
#10 of 62 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 62 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos

Property: Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos
Address: Hospital La Mascota, 1 1/2 cuadra al norte | Reparto Cuadra, casa B-8, Managua 5050, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel grandparents' house is a familiar feature in which we want our guests to feel as grandchildren.Our family atmosphere allows us to provide personalized service in 13 comfortable rooms, recreational and rest areas where you can enjoy reading or just have a coffee.The kitchen of the hostel is available to all guests, it has all the necessary equipment for the conservation, preparation and consumption of foodstuffs who wish to process.We have Wi-Fi free , 2 living rooms, a terrace and a dining room to entire disposition of our visitors.We can also take them to different tourist attractions near Hostel example: Volcan Masaya, Granada, Islets Lake Cocibolca Footprints in order Acahualinca several sites of interest.Hostel The GranParents HouseYour Family Away From Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing