We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super nice, helpful, charming and extraordinary service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super nice, helpful, charming and extraordinary service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This family ruled hostel is like a second home!
Beautiful house with nice sitting areas outside.
The breakfast is really good.
But the best about casa de los abuelos is the service: they help you with everything and are always friendly! The shuttle service is amazing: tica bus and our plane came two hours late but both times they waited all the time and welcomed us with a smile.
Best in Nicaragua!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lisfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

They answered emails quickly and they have excellent and friendly customer service. I had a problem with my reservation and they took care of it quickly and without any problem. I look forward to working with them again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very friendly, family run business. They do what they can to help you and make you feel comfortable. I will be going back to Nica in a month or so and will stay there again!

Very close to major market and transportation hub ye quiet ant the same time.

Room Tip: All are good, i stayed near the street and it was nice to watch the world go by from the upper patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Quetzal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

very nice people--very accommodating. everything tiled nicely, and clean, but the bed was a little tired. very nice waking up to coffee and breakfast, and the people were very helpful. There's a very large, interesting market and a bus stop to get to other areas in Nicaragua nearby

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I really enjoyed my time at La Casa de los Abuelos. I've been studying in Nicaragua for about four months, and upon returning to Managua was looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay while finishing up a project. Casa de los Abuelos was perfect! The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the room I was in was spacious and clean, and the air conditioning was amazing. The breakfasts were lovely too. The only downside for me was the location. I didn't find it to be walking distance from anything other than a few pulperias and frintangas. That being said, Managua isn't typically a walkable city, and it was very easy to catch a taxi right outside of the hotel during the day. I would recommend La Casa de los Abuelos for anyone looking for a friendly, clean, affordable place to stay in Managua.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a double bed, A/C, and a private bathroom and I thought it was lovely. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brittany_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hostel has very comfortable and private rooms and has beautiful patios upstairs. It's tucked away in a quiet little neighborhood not very far from main streets. Fabi and the staff are very accommodating and the free breakfast and coffee in the morning is the best!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauvezin, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I felt very safe, I was in Managua before and I didn't want to get back there, but this place was really nice. It's very close to the airport and they can pick you up. I don't recommend Managua for long stays, but if you have to be there for a few nights this is the place to stay. It's nice and quiet. No hot water, but you don't need hot showers when you're at those high temperatures. Breakfast is included and they offer classical Nica breakfast or fruits with tea or juice.
La familia es muy amable, sobre todo si hablas español te puedes comunicar mejor con los abuelos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel HEX
Hotel HEX
#21 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#22 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.9 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 65 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pachamama Managua
Pachamama Managua
#9 of 65 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 65 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos

Property: Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos
Address: Hospital La Mascota, 1 1/2 cuadra al norte | Reparto Cuadra, casa B-8, Managua 5050, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel grandparents' house is a familiar feature in which we want our guests to feel as grandchildren.Our family atmosphere allows us to provide personalized service in 13 comfortable rooms, recreational and rest areas where you can enjoy reading or just have a coffee.The kitchen of the hostel is available to all guests, it has all the necessary equipment for the conservation, preparation and consumption of foodstuffs who wish to process.We have Wi-Fi free , 2 living rooms, a terrace and a dining room to entire disposition of our visitors.We can also take them to different tourist attractions near Hostel example: Volcan Masaya, Granada, Islets Lake Cocibolca Footprints in order Acahualinca several sites of interest.Hostel The GranParents HouseYour Family Away From Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Casa de los Abuelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing