We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hostel owned by sweet family!”
Review of Managua Hostel Ida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Managua Hostel Ida
Ranked #26 of 76 Managua B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Cosy hostel owned by sweet family!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A very homely and nice hostel, with a good location in Managua. You have Metrocentro and restaurants in walking distance, and various bus connections close by. The family is so sweet and helpful, the beds are big and comfortable and there is a nice little garden where you can relax!

Room Tip: The dorms had a lot of space, so it is not a must to take a private room. There is a room in the yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with doña Ida for 2 weeks all together & loved it. Cozy atmosphere, lovely rooms, freedom to use the kitchen and cook own meals, extremely friendly staff (English and Spanish speaking). It's convenient too with walking distance to the main mall Metrocentro and Viva Spanish School where I was taking some lessons. Can highly recommend it to anyone staying in Managua, short or long term.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank StinePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I love staying here! I live on Little Corn Island and every time I stay in Managua, I stay at Hostal Dona Ida. Its like my home away from home. Ida, the owner, is such an amazing mother figure as she loves to take care of you and ensures that you are always comfortable and always satisfied.

All of the employees here are freaking amazing. So smiley, so helpful, great energy. They all make me feel welcome and at home.

Oh and the best part...there is HOT WATER and the internet is AMAZING!

Moral of the story: If you want a lovely, quiet stay that is super close to the mall and grocery store, then stay here.

Room Tip: If you come early (anytime after 10am) then you will get a sweet bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kailani k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We arrived late to the Hostal, which was difficult to spot in the darkness. The gentleman on duty was very friendly and helpful, sorted us out our room quickly. It's basic but nice enough, and seems to have a more sociable vibe than other places we've stayed at so far - though we didn't get to stay and see. It was an easy walk to Metrocentro for shopping. Essentially average with friendly staff bringing it up to good :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Dona Ida Hostal in Managua, Nicaragua from January 5th to January 13, 2014. It was the quiets hostels I have stayed in. The location is safe and withing walking distance to MetroCentro, a modern mall and public bus service. The hostal is family owned and operated. Ida Mercedes Cardoza and her son, Alfredo Marcell Perez, could not have been more accommodating. They both speak English and Spanish. I opted for breakfast every morning and it was delicious and the cost was reasonable. The other people that were staying there were very friendly. I will stay there again when I visit Managua and I recommend it to anyone looking for a safe, friendly, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was only at Hostal Dona Ida overnight ...I had a late flight into Managua and needed a safe place to stay until my driver could collect me in the morning. Dona Ida and her son were quite gracious and friendly...I emailed at the last moment and asked for airport pickup at 1:30 am...not only did I receive a swift reply back, they were very accommodating...the room was comfortable clean and quiet...it was in a very safe area and walking distance to a mall and supermarket, etc...Alfredo was very good about informing me of all this even though it was quite late....in the morning Dona Ida showed me around and talked with me until my driver arrived...breakfast was available for a small fee, but I woke up late and did not have time for this...I think if you wanted something affordable, clean and safe and a good location, this is an excellent...it works perfect for a temporary stop as well...will definitely make it a personal stopping point for myself and my guests coming to visit me in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel is located very well but nothing special. Our room was simple and more or less clean. A/C worked fine, a fan is supplied in addition. Cleanliness in the bathroom could be improved! Staff was nice and helpful. Everything only average and good for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.8 mi away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 66 in Managua
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maracuya Hostel
Maracuya Hostel
#5 of 66 in Managua
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colibri Hotel y Desayuno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Managua Backpackers Inn
Managua Backpackers Inn
#10 of 66 in Managua
230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 50 in Managua
347 reviews
28.4 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Managua Hostel Ida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Hostel Ida

Property: Managua Hostel Ida
Address: | 3 blocks north and 2 1/2 blocks east, Number 73, Colonial los Robles, Managua 15005, Nicaragua (Formerly Hostal Dona Ida)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Managua Hostel Ida 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST LOCATION IN TOWN! Hostel Ida offers affordable and comfortable accommodation. The Hostel features free WiFi and a large communal shared Kitchen. Hostel Ida has been operating for over 10 years; we have always been recognized for our cleanliness, hospitality, unbeatable location. Very friendly and helpful staff, they are always ready to give advice and recommendations on where to go and what to do in all NICARAGUA (fully bilingual). Also you will find different maps bus schedule and much more info. Cleanest Hostel you would find in Managua. Couldn`t be in a better location near by UCA bus Stop (1.2km away) Metrocentro Mall is within 8 min walk, with several restaurants and bars in between also a lot green areas around. Netflix and playstation 3 it`s available in our living room and you can use it for free. We offer different type of room such as singles, doubles, triples and dorms if you book ours room with A/C you will have breakfast for free, linen included, rocking chairs to relax in our garden, all within a very clean and lovely house! We provide transport to and from the airport at a rate lower than regular taxis U$ 15.00 one person, U$ 20.00 2 people, 3 or more U$ 9.00 per person. Come here and feel like at home in every familiar environment! And also meet other travelers from all around the world! We are open 24/7 365 day. ENJOY NICARAGUA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Managua Hostel Ida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing