We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and fun to go with it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerto Salvador Allende

Puerto Salvador Allende
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.00*
and up
Managua City Tour
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view and fun to go with it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

You get a great view of one of the famous lakes in Nicaragua and you also have access to bars to drink and dance all around! How can you beat that!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank candeeshoppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    287
    89
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

It has a lot if bars and restaurants. I didn't find any clean or appealing enough to draw us in but there are stand alone little shacks selling food that were great. Prices are unbelievably cheap.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“When it is busy, it's the place to be! (When it's empty, it's empty)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I visited Puerto Salvador Allende 3 times on my last visit. First, it was about 9:00am and my guide was showing me around. It was completely empty and everything was closed. The flags on the water made for a beautiful picture of the volcanoes, but that was about it. I went on Easter Sunday at about 5:00pm and had so much fun. I shopped and snacked and went to dinner. I saw an outdoor play and people watched for hours. It was the happening spot and that night made my trip. I returned on a Tuesday to go on the boat tours (my guidebook said Tuesday through Saturday) and they said the boat tours weren't running and wouln't run "for a couple of weeks." I was disappointed to miss this opportunity, but I went to one of the open air restaurants and sat and had such a nice, peaceful lunch anyway.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pailin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Do not miss this Nicaraguan sight and tour. Is a very well cared place recently built by the government. Delicious restaurants and bars are everywhere and you can take spectacular pictures of the lake and volcanoes. Don't miss the boat trip to the lake.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank catrachosps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with a group of any size”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have visited here a few times in the last few months - once with a small group of 5 and once with a larger group of 60. We enjoyed the ferry ride quite a bit and the playground is the best I've seen in Nicaragua so far. Haven't tried any of the restaurants there yet, but look forward to doing that in the future!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Salvador Allende also viewed

Managua, Managua Department
Managua, Managua Department
 
Managua, Managua Department
 

Been to Puerto Salvador Allende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing