We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent by Nicaragua standards”
Review of Hotel El Raizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Raizon
Ranked #15 of 77 Managua B&B and Inns
suffern, ny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent by Nicaragua standards”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

You have to go into the hotel knowing that hot water and spacious rooms are not typical Nicaraguan standards. However, it was clean, bug free and the food was great. There is free wifi, TVs in the room and A/C, and you can use the office phone to call the states for a mere 3 cords a minute. They have a pool and absolutely beautiful common areas. Office staff has a lot going on so you have to track them down and they are not very quick to help, but pressure them and they'll get on it..eventually. They're on Nica time after all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have stayed at El Raizon many times and the staff and owners treat me and my family like their family! It is always a great experience- clean rooms, great food and friendly people! A true Nicaraguan delight!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlamont1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l.a.
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

the staff was great, the owner and her adult daughters were so disrespectful to all employees at this hotel it was incredible,especially to kitchen staff.when they were mad at these people they would put them down, make them feel like a nothing,a nobody. the only reason they stay is there is no work and all employees are living in poverty.the kicker is a lot of groups and church groups go there and see this and say nothing because of the kick back people get for booking big groups. most of this belittling goes on in the open because they think you dont understand them or speak spanish.. what a shame..other than this, we went out on tours like zip lining, volcanoe hiking,bat caving at night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meme096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I have been on many Bridges to Community trips to Nicarauga with my temple. In total I have stayed in El Raizon for about 7 nights. We are usually a very large group about 50 to 60 people and we all thought it was a great relief from the field work. We went for the first night and the last two nights. the first night they didn't have enough rooms for everyone so they had to put me and 4 other girls into a small but clean room where the shower wasnt useable. but we were fine with it because we knew that there was more to come. The location was about 30 minutes from the main city of Managua and a nice place to spend time and realx. (the hammocks are the best!) They provided you with whatever you needed, for there is a store right at the hotel with cold beverages and clothes.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josiehartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

El Raizon is a pleasant place to stay. A little mercado is on the property where beer, snacks, and the basics are available. Internet in the lobby. On a way busy four lane highway but seems pretty quiet once you are in the courtyard. Hot showers generally available. Run by nice people who seem genuinely eager to help you out with questions and reasonable requests.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank UberXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I have stayed at Hotel El Raizon twice, in March and June of 2006. I did some mission/humanitarian work in the nearby community of Piedras Quemadas (the barrio a klick down the road towards Masaya, across from the volcano). The hotel was excellent, in my opinion. Yes, the plumbing is substandard by US perspective, but normal for Nicaragua. At least they have a large holding tank so you dont run out of water during the day when the city turns it off (the water in Nicaragua is usually turned off between about 7am and 6pm). In my two month stay in country, the week I spent at the hotel was the most luxurious and the only time I had hot water and AC. The food they cook is great and safe- something to note. The garden is beautiful. In reference to the internet, it is connected to the computer in the lobby/kitchen area. You have to ask to use it, and if you ask in Spanish you are more likely to get a response. A couple of the ladies speak English quite well though. It is a safe area and the walls are pretty high. Something to look for when you are there is the ex-president whose ranch is across the road. I saw his motorcade several times. I would reccomend this hotel hands down to any experienced traveler in Nicaragua. You wont go wrong here!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jairush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2008

As previously mentioned, this property is located adjacent to the Bridges to Community office and this is where you are put up when you volunteer for one of their service trips (as I did). Although the hotel is certainly better than the conditions one experiences in the field, the hotel is pretty basic and we experienced some problems, including the toilet breaking, a fuse blowing, a meager shower with only cold water, etc. The place, however, was clean and my daughter enjoyed the various animals on the grounds (toucan, baby rabbits, baby chickens). I have no idea about price, but would assume the rooms are quite cheap. We stayed in one with 5 beds which was quite cramped, and another with 3 beds (roomier) (in the newer and nicer section of the hotel). The hotel is on a major road, but there is a large metal gate that blocks out most of the noise. There is also a small store on the premises where you can buy a variety of goods (including beer!). I also heard there was internet access, but I stood by the front desk for about 10 minutes and was completely ignored by all staff, so I gave up on this pursuit. So, in sum, I would say this place is bearable for a night, but don't expect anything other than the bare necessities (if even that).

  • Liked — Next to Bridges to Community office
  • Disliked — Too basic for my tastes and problems with shower and toilet
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Managua
3.8 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 50 in Managua
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#47 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 50 in Managua
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Raizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Raizon

Property: Hotel El Raizon
Address: Km 20.3 Carretera a Masaya, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Raizon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family hotel that offers comfortable rooms with great prices along with the experience like you havent left home at all! Visit us and discover all you can enjoy in our hotel and the beautiful country we are located in: NICARAGUA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Raizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing