We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Hotel Casa Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Real
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed 7 February 2013

It is a real nightmare. We checked in at 11 in the morning. The price was suppose to be $60 and when we got the there, the price changed to $70, went down to $65. We paid, BIG MISTAKE!... They took took us to our room and it was a freaking dissatisfaction. Very small, smells bad and dirty. We asked for our money back to the owner, he completely ignored us and got in his car and left. Till today that we are back in the states, we haven't got our- money back. Very bad experience. Not a good place to stay. Go to ALOHA HOTEL OR LOS PINOS THEY DO TREAT YOU LIKE A HUMAN BEING WITH RESPECT.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angie2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

I visited Nicaragua for one week on business. Having stayed only one night upon arrival in Managua at a hotel near the airport I was interested in staying close to city and was recommended this hotel. Owned and operated by a 30+ year Nicaraguan resident Swiss man, the hotel is an interesting place with a very interesting and helpful owner, Rene Hauser and his wife who also run a French restaurant nearby which serves very good food in a more traditional European style. If you like hotels of a more typical western style hotel then this is not for you, but if you like something more personal and eclectic, then this is definitely of interest. Some very interesting and good quality Nicaraguan art, collected over 30 years adorns the walls of the hotel, and even more is to be found in the restaurant, “Marseilles” up the road. The pictures and paintings are very interesting to see and a great collection.
Rene’s advice on what was available around Managua, show his knowledge of the area, and he and his wife’s friendly manner and helpfulness were second to none. He also had a lot of interesting stories of life over 3 decades in some very turbulent times in Nicaragua, now thankfully passed. Overall a surprising country and a very nice place to stay, for all the reasons you wouldn’t expect.
Rooms were simply furnished but large, and in keeping with the hotel name, Casa real, it is more like a house ambience. Another plus is the free wifi through the hotel.

Room Tip: A choice between ground floor, or 1st floor rooms. No particular preference, though I had a 1st floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The hotel looks like in the 80's must have been a very posh hotel, now not so much.
There is tacky decoration all over the place, and it's in desperate need of a transformation.
For that same price you can stay in another place that would stand to the quality you are paying for.
One good thing about it is the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Arriving at 15.00 hours, we were taken aback by the choice of our Agent of Casa Real as a suitable hotel for us, some 20 mins from the international airport.. The reasons for that consernation were (1) the hotel was in a residential area in the business sector of the city - some distance from the restaurants/ cafes, (2) the walk to those cafes etc was considered by the receptionist to be inadvisable (she suggested that I took off my watch), (3) the hotel had no restaurant but a take away could be orded (4) our room was next to the working washing machine area, which did not enamour us to it and finally (5) the hotel had little or no ambience or warmth.

As a result we asked our Agent to move us to more suitable accommodation, although the owner did offer us a taxi to take us to his restaurant some 10 mins away later that evening

Had we had transport or arrived late evening for an early morning tranfer - it would not have been a problem - just a sleep over

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Spent my last two nights here during my 8-day Nicaragua solo vacation. It was a step-up for me after some hot travelling and this place was very comfortable. It was exactly what I needed to freshen-up and relax. Hot water galore, and strong A/C. Clean, comfortable bed. The staff, and owner, go out of their way to make sure that you have anything you need. There's a business office with free Internet and printer, and the hotel has free wireless if you have your own laptop. The location is good. A safe street, and about a 5-minute walk to a large modern shopping mall and restaurants.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2006

Casa Real is a quite good and small hotel in Managua. The best I encountered during our four-day stay were 1) quiet and clean rooms and 2) very good, a la carte breakfast. The weak points are 1)no restaurant for lunch and supper and 2) not so close=safe to the restaurants that you could walk through the very dark streets. In the evening and at night you need a taxi, which may charge heavy mark-ups for a 3-minute ride.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HarriCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H4171FZclaudial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, Propietario at Hotel Casa Real, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
343 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#7 of 50 in Managua
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#28 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#46 of 50 in Managua
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Real

Address: Rotonda Ruben Dario, 2c al Oeste, 2c al Sur, 1/2c al Este, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing