We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mansion Teodolinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansion Teodolinda
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Managua
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here 4 nights and paid $55/night plus taxes. This hotel has potential, but isnt quite there yet. The staff is indifferent at best. The front desk people really dont care and were on headphones a lot, and the restaurant people basically ignore you until you approach them. The one staff member that was amazing was Juan the taxi driver. He was super nice and easy to talk to! Please dont get room 309, its on the ground level and the window is right next to the pool gate. Because its really not a window, its those glass shutters, they have no sound insulation, and I woke up every morning as soon as people would start opening the gate. Really loud. They should think about installing real windows in the rooms closest to that noisy gate. The location is average. There are prostitutes on the same street about a block away. I probably wouldnt stay here again. Managua is super cheap and there are much better options for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Propietario at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for your feed back, it help us to improve.
We have give some talks about customer service to front desk personnel, so they will be promt to respond to customers. Your comment has been used as part of the examples. The person using headphones came forward and apologized.
We know that room 309 need some noise isolation and we need to improve the door communicating to the public area. Both issues have been explored time to time. Last time we check there was no provider with double glass in stock, all orders were imported upon request. The same goes with the spring arm for the door, there wasn't a provider with spring arms that slow down before closing point. Those are also imported upon request, and in this case is not warranted that we will have what we expect. They only have catalogs. We will check out again with providers, to see if there is any change.
We are very sad about girls hanging out in the next block since about one year. There is not much that we can do about it. There is not law regulating the issue, so we can not complain with authorities.
I want to stress that we provide transport services to our guests upon request, but we also have our regular business activities. So we need from our guest early notice when they want transport services in order to accommodate their requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very good hotel, helpful people, and most important is good location.
I would recommend to stay there. good value for your money.
Decent size pool where you can swim basically 24 hours.

Must go to Granada and see old Cathedral in evening.

Room Tip: Try to get room in a new wing looking to the pool. It's quiet and newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Propietario at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We like having feedback to keep improving our service.
Granada is a must when visiting Nicaragua. It is important to remark that our hotel is in Managua, and Granada is 45km away.
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our holiday in Nicaragua. After having been mugged in Granada, we were quite concerned for our safety given all the warnings we had read about Managua. We discovered after we had made our reservation that the hotel offered free airport pick up and drop off. This was relief, since we'd read many bad things about taxis in Managua.
The room itself was very nice. Nicely furnished and lots of space. The safe was nice to have as well.
For our day in Managua we asked the front desk for some suggestions. The arranged for us to use a hotel taxi for $10/hr, which was ideal. He took us to the market to buy some crafts to bring home. Not only did he drive us, but he came into the market with us and basically acted as our guide for the day. On the way back he took us to a book store so we could buy some young readers books in Spanish (for us to study). It was a wonderful afternoon, with no anxiety. Well worth the fee.
On our last morning we had to go to the airport before the restaurant opened. Since breakfast was included, they put together a boxed lunch we could take with us. It wasn't fancy, but it was more than we expected.
The staff were all very nice.
Our only complaint would be that the first night we were there we could hear loud music all night, and it didn't stop until dawn. Our map did show a night club nearby. The second night was quiet. Odd, considering the first night was a Sunday. It was nothing earplugs didn't solve. If the AC had been on, we might not have heard the music over the white noise. Since we like being hot, we didn't have it on.
We would definitely stay here again.
The restaurant menu was good, but could benefit from more vegetarian options.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyZeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Owner at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks for your review.
There are things that are under our control. We try our best to accommodate guest demands such as transportation. We strive to make our vehicles available to our guests, but sometimes is difficult as the hotel also has some errant to do. Asking in advance allow us to plan ahead and reserve vehicles for our guests.
We will look to make more vegetarian options in our menu. This is something that we can do.
There are things that are beyond our control, like night club activities. We have filed several complains at the municipality due noise pollution. Authorities have made inspections and night clubs behave for some time. But it is an ongoing issue. We are diligent on keep complains filed as negotiation with them have failed.
Our plan is to replace our normal windows for insulated glass pursuing energy efficiency, but it will also help with outside noise. I have to tell that we will be replacing groups of windows at the time, and not all will be done shortly. But we will prioritize those facing the noise sources.
Again, thanks for your review. It help us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nice view of the hotel from outside; even from inside.
But the facade inside - when looking from the restaurant towards the hotel - is really poor and should be fixed...

Anyway - that´s just "outwardness".

The hotel is aprox. 30-40 minutes from the International airport.
The area seems to be safe and relatively quiet. In walking distance a shopping center with a supermarket.

The staff is helpful and friendly.
The rooms are large and clean - furniture is functional but not the latest design.
Aircondition: extremely loud - an upgrade to a split unit would be great.

Gym: a nightmare - here, they definitely need to do something. See pictures.
No aircondition - as it is parcially open;
old equipment;
open wires.


Unfortunately, the pool was under renovation when I was there in October; there was no info on the website when I booked. But when I left, they were filling it up with water again.


In general: not a very new hotel; but very good value for the money; friendly staff; large room.

Yes - I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Propietario at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for your review. It is a very objective and detailed review, it will help us a lot to improve our service.

We are aware that the construction of the new building has a terrible look, we agreed to take that issue after renewing our swimming pool.

By the way, we really sorry that you were not informed about the works on the swimming pool. We undertook the renewal of our swimming pool with short notice. We posted the information on the web with about two weeks in advance. From there we informed every new reservation about the issue, and tried to update previous reservations. But yes, with short notice, we did miss some guests. As you said that the swimming pool was been filled up, it is back in use.

We are replacing one unit of air conditioned every month. Every new unit is split and high efficiency.

When we open our hotel we started with mahogany and cedar wood furniture, we have been keeping that for most of the rooms.

Finally I have to accept that the gym has been our blind spot. As a family business we strive to keep doing small things to improve our service, on the side of our investment in the new building. I will put on the list of pending items the gym, marked as important.

I want to thank you one more time, for your detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mansion Teodolindia for 2 night while visiting Managua. It was comfortable and clean, and the staff were very nice and helpful! Note: most of the staff speak only Spanish (as is the case generally in Managua), so it would be a good idea to know at least basic Spanish in order to communicate.

There is a restaurant on-site, which is a great starting point to get a taste of authentic Nicaraguan food.The pool is not huge, but is still very nice, and there is a patio area outside the pool/restaurant.

To put it into perspective: we stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Managua the following 2 nights, and I actually like the Teodolinda better. Our room at the Teodolinda was cleaner and much more spacious than the Crowne. Managua is extremely humid, so carpet at the Crowne made everything smell like mildew -- while the tiled floors at Teodolinda kept the room cool and clean. GREAT value for the cost!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rab9my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Propietario at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
At Mansion Teodolinda, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is true that not all our staff speaks English. All front desk staff do speak English and they are 24/7 to assist our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed with my friend at Teodolinda for one week in August of this year. This is an excellent family and business hotel in a central location in Managua. The service was excellent. Providing a free Nica cell phone during your stay is a very nice touch (of course you have to pay for the time charges which are cheap if you are using it to call Nicaragua). Airport pick-up and delivery, transportation from the hotel to places in Managua was very efficient and moderate priced. The restaurant menu could use some imagination, possibly a daily special? I will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easycr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Propietario at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We appreciate your comment. We will have your suggestion about our restaurant menu into account. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonsonate
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I arrived on July 14, 2013, the hotel was a bit hard to find so we paid a taxi and followed him since we were driving. The Ladies at the front desk were so helpful and very nice. We went up to our room that was standard but clean, the cold enough and the restroom clean.

We came down to eat at the restaurant, all the waiters were watching tv but stopped as we went inside. The service was good but the food was not to our liking, the ham sandwich I ordered had to slices of bread and a piece of ham, not appealing to the eye.

The next morning was a bit noisy but it is a Capital city. The employees were all nice but only one of them greeted us with a propper good morning.

Over all is a good hotel for the price, but only if you are using it to sleep there and spend a few hours, oh yeah the swimming pool is refreshing.

Take care of yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmoyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville_A_Cross, Propietario at Mansion Teodolinda, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks for your feedback, it help us improve.

Managua can be a very confusing city, but Mansión Teodolinda is a land mark, so it is easy to ask for directions.

I will look into sandwiches. Usually I ask random orders to verify quality, but I tend to focus on more elaborated dishes. I will talk to staff about been polite.

Your comment has been helpful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada del Arcangel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#23 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Seminole
Hotel Seminole
#10 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Teodolinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Teodolinda

Property: Mansion Teodolinda
Address: De INTURISMO, 1 cuadra al sur y 1 cuadra abajo | Reparto Bolonia, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion Teodolinda 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family owned mid size hotel that will let you feel the friendliness of Nicaraguan people. Big enough for having plenty of amenities, but small enough to treat you individually. Our room have space for long stays and some of them have kitchenette. Our room have Cable TV, hot water, direct phone line access, free wireless internet and every room has a Ethernet jack as backup. The hotel offers swimming pool, gym, free parking, free breakfast. You can also can hire service like airport transportation, laundry, dry clean and room service. It is convenient located in a residential area but close to shopping centre, cinemas, banks, and bars. So we say, Mansion Teodolinda in the hearth of Managua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansion Teodolinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing