We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Europeo
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Managua(Managua)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel HEX(Managua)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mozonte(Managua)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
28
31
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
31
9
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2008

As we have found in traveling through Nicaragua the last few years more often than not they "Just Miss It". This place Missed it a lot!

When we got there we were told they never had gotten our email that was sent 5 days in advance. Because I had not gotten a return email I had contacted by phone and was told to come on... no name or info needed. (we had been told by others what a nice place) But yes they had a room. The room was stuffy and moldy smelling, turned on the A/C ( looked to be about 20 years old) and it sounded like a jet plane. Out to the front desk and asked if to be moved. This next room was a bad remodel of trying to update an old hotel "just missed it". The court yard and pool area are nice as is the food area.
After dinner out, we returned to room that was so cold you could hang meat... it would not adjust up or down and about every hour I would awake to turn off or on.
While up, I went into the bathroom only to be welcomed by water all over the floor that was leaking from the pipe into the flush tank, turned it off at the wall and put down towels. After walking back to bed and getting feet very dirty from the floors it was mud on the sheets the next am.
No place to hang anything in bathroom... no hooks anywhere and not enough counter space to lay out.
NO hot water to basin sink in bathroom, both pipes right and left plumbed to same cold water outlet. Makes it very hard to shave.
Trying to watch TV was a joke... the remote did not change things and the only place to sit was on the bed or lay down and then have to get up and push the buttons on the small set.
Going to breakfast was a going to be a joy... as some guys had climbed up on the roof and where making such loud noise we could not even talk.
Brenda, the one wait-person on staff was just super.
We were told we got toast, fruit, coffee and if we wanted more must order from the menu.

We looked out to a NEW two story area overlooking the courtyard and asked some folks that came from that area about it.
Upon check out I ask "how does a person get a better room in the new section" was told I "need to ask when checking in", but I was not offered the choice.
Nor was I told the price when checking in, the advertised price of $41.00 US is NOT the case... it is $62.00 + tax for all rooms new or old I was told.
Oh well, we have been to better places and will NOT stay at the Europeo in Managua in the future... I think they "just missed it" you decide.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Texasbluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Staff terrible. Why show the worst room in the hotel first and charging full price for it? Refused to accept and then she "found" another room for the same price witch was about ten times nicer. Lots of problems with A/C and hot water in the shower. Did get sorted out during the stay but no refund. Restaurant on spot served bad fruit for breakfast witch made us sick for two days. Would not stay here again ever.

Stayed: June 2007
6  Thank CamLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario, nos ayudo a mejorar mucho en cada uno de los servicios, le invitamos a ver nuestra página web asi como los mas actuales comentarios sobre el Hotel.

Disculpe el mal servicio en ese tiempo pero ya hemos mejorado gracias a su comentario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here on my first visit to Nicaragua. He had stayed in other hotels in Managua, but found out about this place from some people he knows, and was really happy about it. As another review mentioned, the pictures really don't do this hotel justice - it's really pretty, and has a great atmosphere. The pool area is very inviting, and we loved the restaurant - had both breakfast and dinner here. We stayed on the way to and from the airport/San Juan del Sur, and it was perfect in that it's fairly close to the airport, has a restaurant on site, and is very reasonably priced for what you get. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We have stayed in both a room with a balcony over the pool, and a larger one in the older part of the hotel. Both were very nice. The neighborhood is pretty upscale which is also a plus. We will be staying here again this March.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank aw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario
esperamos verle pronto en el Hotel, estamos mejorando nuestra página web y hemos actualizado fotos que muestren nuestro verdadero servicio.

gracias por visitar Hotel Europeo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

I stayed at Hotel Europeo, Managua from Dec26 to Dec 30 2006. I liked it. The rooms are clean, however the air conditionning is abit noisy. The Tv set is small but it has all the channels. The restaurant/bar/pool is surrounded with plants iand is simply a wonderful place to relax after a hard day touring Managua and its surroundings. I also found the personnel friendly. Internet is avaialble and it's free. However the hotel is in a nice and clam neighborhood. It means no nightlife. The hotel is 3 to 5 minutes away from downtown and 30 minutes from the airport. You will need transportation for almost everywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kkanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013
Google Translation

Hotel Europeo agradece su comentario, actualmente tenemos una guia de los lugares recreativos cercanos al Hotel, asimismo tenemos transporte privado para su mayor comodidad.

Esperamos verle pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

I travel to Managua frequently and I am always looking for a clean, comfortable, enjoyable stay and the Hotel Europeo exceeded my expectations. The room was cozy, clean and nicely decorated. We had a small balcony that overlooked the nicely landscaped pool. I stayed three nights here and would definitely return. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and the groundspeople maintained the property very well. The Hotel Europeo represents an oasis in Managua, the only drawback being its distance from the Carretera Masaya restaurants. The hotel is a quiet, delightful and reasonably-priced stay. I will probably return with a group of my college students in July.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank cristinasabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComunicacionHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Europeo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013
Google Translation

Hotel Europeo agrade su comentario, asimismo agradece que se haya hospedado ya que usted ha apoyado solidariamente a adolescentes de escasos recursos.

Estamos para servirle y estamos mejorando para brindarle un mejor servicio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews