We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing stay at El Almendro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Almendro Managua
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at El Almendro for 3 days by myself and was extremely pleased with everything about my stay. The room was comfortable and clean: large bed, TV, air-conditioning and ceiling fan, phone, private bathroom. Couldn't think of anything else to ask for. Breakfast is a great mix of eggs/gallo pinto, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, toast. I had my breakfast sitting next to the pool and the tropical flowers and plants - very relaxing! The hotel is centrally located - you can walk to Metrocentro and you can catch a taxi down the block at the main road to anywhere you need to go. I also felt very safe inside the hotel; it was an oasis from the rest of chaotic Managua. I had a car with me and they had a secure parking spot inside the hotel. There are common areas around the hotel that are also very nice for sitting and relaxing, reading, meeting with people, ordering food in to eat, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were always willing to help me with whatever I asked - and that includes everybody: receptionists, cleaning staff, breakfast staff, security guards. I thought the price was very reasonable considering the location and how comfortable and pleasant it was inside the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room right across from the kitchen where breakfast was prepared, and that could be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

My family spent one night here after we first arrived in Nicaragua. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The rooms are nice, as are the grounds, the pool, and the breakfast. It is on a side street adjacent to a busy main road lined with street vendors, which is a fun place to walk around and buy some local fruits. There's a mall right there, but honestly, skip this--it's a carbon copy of any mall you've ever been to. Everything I read before going to Nicaragua made Managua sound like a mess, but this particular neighborhood was safe and pretty cool. The pool is small, but my 5 year old son loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have stayed at this property several times, and I appreciate the large rooms with kitchenettes, and have also stayed at the apartments in the back. These are good options for larger parties of three or four people. The rates include breakfast. The staff are clean, helpful, and friendly.

Room Tip: I would recommend the older rooms closer to the reception area. They are larger and have better inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rllankford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almendro-ni, Manager at Hotel El Almendro Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped agradecemos sus comentarios. También le queremos informar que estamos en proceso de modernizar los cuartos studios, así que esperamos poder volverle a servir muy pronto y que pueda disfrutar de nuestros cuartos renovados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on our trip to Nicaragua to visit her family. The hotel was in a great location, it was close to the mall and resturants. It was safe, clean and relaxing, especially when we needed the quiet time. I am not a breakfast person but loved the eggs with typical rice and beans. We would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times over three years so this is not a hasty review. On my last visit my UK mobile phone was stolen from a locked hotel room. I reported this to the security guard who was the only person on duty at 5pm on a Saturday. He denied understanding my Spanish until I said that I was calling in the police. Please note that I have an 'A' level equivalent qualification in Spanish speaking and listening and have been to Latin America 14 times. I then spoke to the receptionist at her home. She denied understanding my English until I said that I was calling in the police. The following morning the hotel owner got involved and things temporarily improved as he arranged for me to go to the police and get the official document for an insurance claim. He promised to phone me back on my Nicaraguan mobile to tell me what was happening but failed to do so. Note that there are three hotels in neighbouring Reparto San Juan with exactly the same facilities minus the swimming pool for just over half the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed in one of the studios with kitchenette for 2 weeks in February on my first trip to Managua. The room was large, clean with a nice bathroom and excellent a.c. The bed was very comfortable, too. The garden sitting areas are what really give El Almendro that wow factor. It is an oasis in a busy city.
The excellent staff is very friendly and anxious to please. Usually, there was someone who spoke English, but even those that didn't, tried to communicate to ensure that I was enjoying my stay. The breakfasts were hearty: eggs, toast, beans and rice, cereal, plenty of fresh fruit, fruit juices, yogurt, and more, served by the small swimming pool.
The location is superb: 3 blocks from MetroCentro which has a very nice supermarket and adjacent to the University of Central America.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've stayed at The Almendro twice in both my visits to Nicaragua and I love it. Its safe, clean, comfortable with an amazing staff. You also get a very nice complimentary breakfast which includes eggs, gallo pinto (rice and beans typical of Nicaragua) fruits among some other things. The rooms are very nice with A/C. It almost feels like you're in someone's home as a guest instead of a hotel. It is very well located in the center of Managua, walking distance to metro centro. It also has a very nice little pool to relax and refresh yourself if its too hot. I will keep staying there everythime i come back to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almendro-ni, Manager at Hotel El Almendro Managua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

We want to thank you for your great review and we will do our best to keep improving. We are in the process of renovating our room and kitchinett so that are product will always stay fresh and up to our guest standard. We hope to see you soon in our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#7 of 50 in Managua
452 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#19 of 50 in Managua
348 reviews
0 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#29 of 50 in Managua
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
0 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#6 of 50 in Managua
371 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Managua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almendro Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almendro Managua

Address: Rotonda Ruben Dario 1 cuadra al sur, 3 cuadras al oeste. | 1/2 cuadral al Sur, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almendro Managua 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Almendro is located in the center of Managua Nicaragua, just a few steps from the Metrocentro Mall. Offers spacious single and double rooms, studios full equipment wich kitchennet.For Reservations visit our web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Almendro Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing