We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Managua overnights”
Review of Hotel La Pyramide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Pyramide
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect for Managua overnights”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We needed a room in Managua upon our arrival and between our Little Corn Island and San Juan del Sur legs of our stay in Nicaragua. The easy thing would have been to book the hotel right outside the airport. But that seemed bland, and the reviews of La Pyramide led me to email Manfred about staying at his place...it was a great decision.

Leading up to our trip, Manfred was very attentive to emails that helped us prepare. He's got a quick wit and a friendly manner - along with a wealth of knowledge and experience - all of which serves him extremely well in his chosen line of business.

Manfred arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, take us to dinner our first night, take us back to the airport (very early to catch the first plane to Little Corn Island), pick us up again at the airport, etc. All at a very reasonable rate - and I wouldn't have wanted to drive myself in Managua anyway...fairly chaotic and confusing to say the least!

Due to our early morning flight to Little Corn Island, we didn't get to enjoy the regular full breakfast service but Manfred did arrange for fresh fruit to be available to us that day which was appreciated.

We ate a full breakfast one morning and a delicious meal (at very reasonable prices) one evening at La Pyramide. And...cold beer is on hand. Always a plus.

We stayed one night on a main floor room in the main building & one night in an upper floor room in one of the side buildings. Both were comfortable and clean - the one in the main building was larger.

I would not hesitate one bit to recommend La Pyramide to anyone seeking a non-cookie cutter hotel chain - the reviewers here have it right: Manfred's service and attention to detail are top notch. You'll be glad to stay in this unique lodging in a residential part of Managua, and you'll feel like you've made a new friend in Manfred. We'll definitely be back on future trips to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    44
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
141
72
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Manfred was a great host and a wealth of information. He arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport and escort us safely to the hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and accommodating and the next day the same driver was provided to take us to exchange money and board the local bus to head south. I would highly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vester2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Managua. It's in a good area, feels safe and the owner is incredibly friendly and helpful. It's a great place to plan the rest of your Nicaragua trip or stay before flying home. The hotel is unique and quirky and you'll feel very much at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just waiting for our flight out of Nicaragua after a brief stay at La Pyramide at the end of a two week trip. This is a funky hotel, literally a pyramid, in a nice residential neighborhood of Managua. The owner, Manfred, is a person who has found his calling in hospitality. The staff seemed to work well as a team and to share his commitment to our comfort. The rooms are large, well appointed and very, very clean. The hotel has some pleasant funkiness to it. We were initially put off of the idea of this hotel, expecting agimmick, but it really is simply Manfred's idea for a different sort of dwelling. In a land of pyramids, from the volcanoes strewn across the landscape to the triangle on the national flag, this place works. Our family of four would have stayed here coming or going, and even to spend a bit more time in Managua. We had dinner here too and it was delicious and efficient (what we needed after a long day of travel). Families, travelers or business people would be fine and happy with this friendly, comfortable b&b. Only challenge for us was the surprise of Mosquitos in our room last night. Bug spray took care of that small problem!

Room Tip: We were in two adjacent rooms on the lower floor of the main building. We recommend staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Very pleasant stay at this charming family hotel in Managua.
Manfred is a great host, he picked me up at the airport and helped me when I was sick for a day. Provided me medicine and special diet. Food was also very good and his staff is also very good. I stayed at the Tutankamon suite and it's very spacious, clean, interesting decor and I had a nice terrace.
You can use the computer downstairs. The only problem in this hotel is that there's no A/C in common areas so you'll be constantly sweating once you exit your room. Located on a residential and safe area but a bit far from main restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We spent our last night in Nicaragua in Managua before flying out the next day and were not disappointed by La Pyramide. We were upgraded for free to the King Tut suite and it was an awesome set up...we had our own balcony and a huge room. The A/C worked very well, which was definitely necessary. The food at the restaurant was tasty and we slept well, except for the firecrackers that went off for an hour during the night. Manfred, the owner, was very nice and welcoming and drove us to the airport the next morning. We'd heard so much bad stuff about Managua but La Pyramide was in a really nice-seeming neighborhood and assuaged all of our worries. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I've stayed at La Pyramide several times now, but this is my first review. Each time I've stayed, I've been in a different room, so this has given me the chance to see the differences in accommodations. All of them are clean, well furnished and comfortable. And they can be quirky, like the owner, Manfred. I've had breakfast and dinner prepared at the hotel, and have been quite pleased every time. Like others have stated, I was picked up at the airport; Manfred himself took me to the airport one time, and on my most recent trip, took me to Huembes so I could catch a bus.
If you stay at one of the big places in Managua, you are missing out on a wonderful experience. I highly recommend La Pyramide!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrotheadnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
646 reviews
6.1 mi away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 50 in Managua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pyramide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pyramide

Property: Hotel La Pyramide
Address: Gimnasio Hercules, 1c. al sur, 1c. al este, 2 1/2 c. al sur, Managua 1234, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#1 Best Value Hotel in Managua
#2 Family Hotel in Managua
#4 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Pyramide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having traveled quite a lot, we really do understand that a traveler would like to find in a hotel a sense of home while on the road. This is why we offer a concept that combines professional attention with a ‘home sweet home’ feelings and international standard. La Pyramide, your hotel, is located in the best zone of the capital: it’s the most safe residential area of town, while very close to the new center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pyramide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pyramide Managua
La Pyramide Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing