We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends - but with the personal space!”
Review of Hotel La Pyramide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Pyramide
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I stay with Manfred in his "hotel with charme" every time I am in Managua for work and even the first time it felt like coming back to a place you know, to people who know you.
It´s a funky house with spotless rooms, nicely decorated, with TV and A/C, the best being the room right under the roof of the pyramid itself - with a little private balcony and furnished like a room at home might be...

Manfred (a former development worker who fell in love in Nicaragua and decided to stay) picks you up at the airport at all hours, makes sure you get what you need during your stay and has unlimited stories and anecdotes to tell. The restaurant serves excellent meals - with many of the vegetables grown on their farm outside Managua - either indoors or on their airy terrrace. The newest item is an open air yakuzzi to cool you down on hot days.

Compared to other hotels in Managua, it´s an excellent choice for a really fair price!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Pyramide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2009

If you have found this hotel, you must have a grrrrreat aura, because like attracts like. Not only does the German management exude a loving Energy, but the facility itself does as well, a tropical Oasis. The entire staff is professional yet treats you like you are "on a bed of cotton." We felt like we were the only guest, beyond our expectation. The meals were tailored to our needs, and all for such a great price....the best value in all of our stays while traveling in Centro America.

In addition, they have another restaurant nearby, that caters to vegetarians and yogis, with a huge yoga room, opening onto an enclosed lucious garden. Perfect for drifting away in your asana!

Stayed: January 2009
Thank ROBINSTONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

As we were on our honeymoon, the first hotel we booked was "an expensive one" ... but we didnt get the real feel for Managua by being there, and certainly didnt feel safe leaving the complex, we were technically "stuck". After meeting another couple, they introduced us to La Pyramide and Manfred, the owner. La Pyramide is clean, staff are friendly, food is fantastic, and the rates are very reasonable. It doesnt matter if your single, as a couple, or with your family, they cater to all. Manfred will bend over backwards for you and help you experience Nicaragua as you should, wanting you to see and experience the country he knows and loves. He also put us in touch with Christian Geller of Cocopeli Tours, www.cocopeli-tours.com Both men share a passion about this country which is contagious, you cant help but get drawn into the history, and the beauty. Their open, honest, friendly attitude toward us turned our honeymoon around!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ninky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This is a very nice, value hotel in the middle of Managua. My flight arrived after midnight, and a shuttle was waiting to take me to the hotel. The cost of the shuttle bumped up the hotel to the price of the airport Best Western, but from the reviews on TripAdvisor, I think this was the better choice.

Clean rooms and linens, TVs, working air conditioners, basic but nice rooms. There's a balcony that looks out over Managua (kind of) that you can sit on for breakfast. A very small outdoor pool is available, too.

Overall, a good, solid experience. It seemed to be safe with a guard in a residential area of Managua, and a good value for the money.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We like off beat and unusual so, after reading the reviews we booked this for our last night in Nica instead of staying near the airport. It fit the bill! The only disappointing thing was the abundance of bugs in the room. I know, I know...it's the tropics, but I've stayed in more bug free places in the tropics. I don't think they were the biting kind, but I just wasn't expecting it. No problems otherwise. Great A/C and even some English cable TV for us gringos. Manfred as promised patiently waited for our late flight, and amused us with his great history. He is a character and worthy of the visit to the hotel alone. We wanted to experience one more night out so we walked from the hotel to El Garabato (excellent) restaurant. Even though it's only a 15 minute walk, it was a little confusing at night, in the rain, in an unfamiliar neighboorhood with many security gates. Perhaps in daylight and a lessed rushed (up early for a flight out) experience we would have had a better one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I would like to echo the previous excellent reviews of this wonderful hotel. We stayed recently for one night with our children and another couple - our first night in Nicaragua. Manfred was waiting for us at the airport and as others have stated, upon our arrival at this hotel, provided us with wonderful juices and cooked a meal for our son that was delicious. In the morning he took us on several errands and arranged transportation for us to SJDS.

Clean and quiet rooms- charming environment- outstanding welcome by Manfred. A terrific way to begin our visit!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

All reviews I have ever read on La Pyramide are really positive, and mine is no different. The hotel boasts great food, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and exceptionally good service. You will find that Manfred will exceed your expectations. He certainly exceeded ours. Most notably he came to our rescue by driving us to the airport when our ride did not show up at 4:30 in the morning! That is great service and dedication to having a great hotel.

Stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ossie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
398 reviews
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#27 of 50 in Managua
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#15 of 50 in Managua
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pyramide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pyramide

Address: Gimnasio Hercules, 1c. al sur, 1c. al este, 2 1/2 c. al sur, Managua 1234, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#2 Family Hotel in Managua
#2 Best Value Hotel in Managua
#4 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Pyramide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having traveled quite a lot, we really do understand that a traveler would like to find in a hotel a sense of home while on the road. This is why we offer a concept that combines professional attention with a ‘home sweet home’ feelings and international standard. La Pyramide, your hotel, is located in the best zone of the capital: it’s the most safe residential area of town, while very close to the new center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Pyramide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pyramide Managua
La Pyramide Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing