We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite beach close to Managua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have gone many times to Milagro de Mar because it is the most beautiful beach closest to Managua -- about 1 1/2 hours west of the city. The beach is gorgeous -- without any vendors bothering you. The surf in front of the condos draws surfers from all over the world and can be rough/challenging but there is another beach where they teach surf lessons. The infinity pool offers the best seat to enjoy the sun & the view of the ocean. The restaurant offers something for everyone from chicken fingers and hamburgers for kids to a delicious steak and whole fish or the traditional gallo pinto plate for those hungrier. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful. Activities include horseback riding, golf, surfing, swimming, shelling, but my favorite is taking a bird walk with Osman early in the morning or late in the afternoon to see the amazing variety of birds there. We have stayed in the beautifully decorated condos as well as in individual homes with their own private pools. We always look forward to going back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 23Anita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We recently enjoyed a 10 day vacation at Milagro del Mar which for us was about "rest and relaxation". Our one bedroom condo was spacious, quiet and had all the amenities we required. Our day started with coffee on the patio watching and listening to the breakers roll in and finished with dinner by the pool watching the spectacular sunsets. We ate all our meals at the resort restaurant and were pleased with everything we tried. The service was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly. The resort Manager was visible and approachable throughout the day. He certainly "walked the walk" and made sure that all his guests were having the best experience possible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've been getting a crew together and going to Nicaragua for the past six years. Our stay at Gran Pacifica was, by far, one of the best trips we've ever had. The staff were gracious, friendly, and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. The ambiance was serene and natural. And the surf was truly uncrowded and epic. I've posted a couple of photos. This is a special place. We were looking to get away from the south that is getting increasingly more crowded. We could plan well in advance without any burdensome deposit, and the ride from Managua is pleasant and about one-third of the time it takes to get to San Juan and Rancho Santana areas. Will return ASAP.

FWIW: The place is relatively new. The owners who we met are very nice people who are (when we were there) working to train new restaurant staff (many who had never interacted with North Americans before and who speak little English) and to bring the place up to speed. Personally, when I travel outside of the US I enjoy the differences I find in the places I go. I like slowing down, interacting with locals (with my awful Spanish) and learning about a new place. Gran Pacifica is an extraordinary success in that they have a fantastic property in a beautiful setting with fine service and administrative staff. One word for those who are looking to chill out (and who can actually do it) in a beautiful spot: Go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited Milagro del Mar last month for the first time. We stayed Monday through Thursday. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit there! We stayed in a one bedroom condo that was very clean and nicely appointed. This was our second trip to Nicaragua.

Upon arrival at the airport we were greeted and driven to Milagro del Mar by the Gran Pacifica driver. It's about an hour's drive to Milagro del Mar from the airport BUT this is the closest beach to the airport---a huge plus in our opinion!

We were welcomed warmly upon our arrival to the resort and shown our room. The people of Nicaragua are so kind, warm and friendly....we remember this all to well from our first visit to a different location.

Amenities of Milagro Del Mar: horseback riding on the beach, fishing, surfing, sitting by a beautiful infinity pool overlooking the gorgeous Pacific ocean, bird watching tours, massage, and a painting class! Yes, a painting class! This was so unique that we chose to participate in the class and had a terrific time where we painted a canvas by the beach (how cool is that?!).

The on site restaurant, Tasca!, was where we enjoyed each of our meals during our stay. Lovely open air restaurant, servers very friendly...even helping us with our Spanish!:) The menu has variety---we did enjoy the traditional Nica breakfast (eggs, gallo pinto, fried cheese and plantains with juice and coffee). For lunches we selected salads (salad dressing was excellent!) and burgers. For dinners we had filet, seafood (that appeared fresh caught) and chicken. Overall, the food was delish..a very pleasurable experience!

As noted in one previous review there was no one on the beach---this was our experience as well BUT, this was also our experience last year at a different location. We chalk it up to it being a best kept secret. Personally, we love not being among throngs of people that you will experience on the US beaches. As another reviewer pointed out, Nicaragua is not as well known as say, Costa Rica BUT it is going to get there. To that point, yes, Malagro del Mar is secluded (again--there's true beauty in that!) but we are certain that given time, that will most definitely change.

We truly enjoyed our stay at Milagro del Mar so much that we are going to return in a month and stay there for 5 months renting one of the homes available there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philandlisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Two family members and I discovered the relaxing ambiance of this lovely stretch along the Pacific, and views that reminded me of my first trip to Hawaii and views of Diamondhead, years ago. The step back into the natural beauty of the area, to watch majestic waves, and glowing sunsets, was perfect for refreshing and relaxing. (world class surfing conditions attract those who enjoy the art of "hanging ten", but we found it more fun to watch from our balcony:-) Spacious and comfortable suites provide ample spaces for individual activities, or group fun. A stop enroute to the coast at a fresh market for additional provisions enabled us to prepare some favorite dishes in the spacious kitchen. The mild Nicaragua coffee from the mountains is a must for coffee lovers! The staff at Las Perlas is warm and friendly, and worked to satisfy our needs. Lunches and dinners around the pool area frequently offered seafood dishes from area waters.....and, watching the sunset from the pool area during "happy hour" was the perfect way to relax. We found the scenic trip to Granada, the first colonial capital, and about 2 hrs. away, to be very worthwhile. There we had a very interesting boat ride on Lake Nicaragua, complete with tropical flora and howler monkeys!
The unhurried pace at the Milagro del Mar Beach and Golf Resort at Gran Pacifica reminded us of what vacations are all about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I have traveled extensively in Canada, the U.S., Mexico, Costa Rica, Venezuela, Bali and Austrailia.We loved Nicaragua and the Milagro del Mar. This small resort delivers first world, 4 star service in a country that is virtually untouched by tourism. If you are looking for a place where you may be the only person on the beach or want to drive 15 minutes to a true Central American town and don't want the commercialism of Mexico or Costa Rica the Milagro del Mar is the place for you. It provides plenty of solitude or makes an awesome home base for a tour of Nica. The Resort is very safe and clean and the staff are awesome. They will do anything they can to make your trip to Nica memorable. The Milagro del Mar has great self contained, well outfitted condos and homes for rent. The on site restaurant has very good quality food and great service. The 9 hole golf course (future 18 or 27) is the equivalent a very good public course in Canada but with great scenery and a beautiful ocean side signature hole.There was construction of a new 4 story condo and several houses happening when we were there and it appears like these are going to expand the resort in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We loved it! Our daughter went horse riding, while my wife and I just enjoyed great food and beatuful sunsets. The apartment suites are great!
Service is just unbeatible.
If you want to rest and relax, this is the best you can get for your dollar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Managua
27.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#10 of 50 in Managua
418 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
683 reviews
1.2 mi away
Los Cardones EcoLodge
Los Cardones EcoLodge
#1 of 4 in Pochomil
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
27.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
28.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort

Address: Villa el Carmen, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Milagro del Mar Beach & Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range: £91 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Pacifica is Nicaragua's premier vacation resort. Come visit our beautiful Spanish Colonial community nestled on miles of stunning sandy beach. Two world-class surf breaks from beginner to expert are just steps from your suite. Explore the shoreline on horseback, try some deep sea fishing, play a round on our beautiful golf course, have a relaxing massage in our beachfront grass hut spa, let us arrange one of the many nature or city tours for you, or indulge in any one of the other multitude of things to enjoy at Gran Pacifica! And our waterfront dining of spectacular cuisine will cap off your evenings while you watch the stunning sunset! Gran Pacifica is the closest beach destination to Managua and our luxurious suites include free Wi-Fi, American TV channels, A/C, private bedrooms, living room, full kitchens, extremely comfortable beds and each suite is beachfront with decks to watch the beautiful sunsets over the waves just outside your door! Our waterfront restaurant, separated from the Pacific only by the infinity pool, offers fine and casual dining options of spectacular cuisine with daily locally caught seafood as well as fresh, local organic produce used in every delicious dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing