We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great experience!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed in Milagro del Mar a couple of weeks ago and had a blast! Some friends and I went for a wedding that I must say was the most beautiful and romantic one I've been to. The landscape, the decorations, the service. Everything was just perfect. Plus the rooms are very nice and comfortable. Milagro del Mar is the perfect gateaway where you'll find peace and fun at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariAngel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    32
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
43
35
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winkler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was my first time visiting Nicaragua - March 2014. I stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was fabulous. Everything I needed and much more. The staff were very friendly and really helped me with the language (my Spanish needs a lot of work). Communicating in English was never a problem - very accommodating staff. WiFI, A/C, fully furnished room, golf course, spa, yoga, massage and more - all the features you would expect in a modern resort destination. The beach was amazing! Incredible surf during the day and the most inspiring sunsets you'll ever see - every evening! There was a wedding scheduled while I was there. Can't think of more romantic place to tie the knot! Can't say enough. I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

In February 2014, my wife and I went to Milagro del Mar for one week looking for a warm winter getaway. We found it and we loved it. Activities that we enjoyed included horseback riding, golf, daily walks on the beach, swimming in the warm Pacific and relaxing on wide open beaches.

Another great experience we had was a private bird watching walk on the property with Osman. We spotted a pair of Lovebirds, several Double Striped Thick Knees, beautiful pink Spoonbills, hawks and several hummingbirds and many other birds.

Tasca, the onsite restaurant was also a hit. We had some great meals including delicious local fish and lobster. The service was friendly and helpful and the ambiance can't be beat. Absolutely gorgeous ocean front seating with a terrific view, especially at sunset.

An added bonus was the post dinner walks under the blanket of stars. Be sure to download a star gazing app. A very unique and cool opportunity.

Milagro del Mar checked all of the boxes for our needed getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrekker949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been to this resort many times since our arrival in Nicaragua in 2011. Why do we keep returning? The staff are very accommodating, one can always find someone that speaks English, which is not always available in Nicaragua, the rooms at the condos are very modern, equipped with WiFi, own AC controls, very good TV channel selection, and comfortable beds. But the real reason we go is for our 2 dogs!!! We can take our dogs down to the many miles of sandy beach and not worry about stray dogs. Which may sound strange, but if you have ever been to Nicaragua, you understand. If you have not---very sad to say, stray dogs are abundant! Our 1 dog is an adopted Nica dog and we are animal lovers. But we can bring our dogs here and let them run and run and not be bothered by stray dogs, and not bother other people as their is so much beach space!
We always enjoy Gran Pacifica, it is always a relaxing time. And yes it does have a remote feeling to it! It is not flashy like one would expect at an Aruba, or a Mexico resort. No 1 comes by bothering you and trying to sell you a grain of rice with your name on it! You can't go shopping 50 ft from your door. Instead you hear the waves coming along the shore, maybe some kids playing in the pool. Very Tranquil! At the same time, you step inside your condo and you have an assortment of TV channels, WIFI and AC. Life is pretty good!

PS, my pictures do not show its true beauty!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I decided to travel to Nicaragua based on the enthusiastic testimony of a dear friend. We probably wouldn’t have considered moving our annual “Spring Break” excursion from Mexico to Nicaragua without this friend’s encouragement. From our Canadian perspective Nicaragua seemed a lot further to travel to compared with Mexico and, to be honest, we simply knew nothing about what Nicaragua could offer travellers such as ourselves.
What we were told, in response to our questions, is that Nicaragua is safe, cheap, beautiful and full of lovely people. Our friend also told us about Milagro del Mar as a place where we could settle for a few weeks. Of particular interest for us was the notion that Milagro is relatively secluded, has miles of beach to walk and is not swimming with time share sales people! Our friend was also frank about telling us that Milagro is a “resort in progress” being the first of its kind in Nicaragua.
While at Milagro we stayed in Las Perlas. This is a condominium hotel right on the beach. We stayed in a largish one bedroom condo with a complete kitchen on the first floor. This afforded us easy ingress and egress from the room. All the condos are beach front with a great ocean view.
As far as meals went we ate many of them at the resort’s La Tasca Restaurante. The meals were quite good and reasonably priced. I particularly enjoyed the Rack of Lamb and the seafood (fishing is big in the area and the freshness and quality was quite evident) was terrific. I have to say the shrimp was the best that I’ve ever had and my wife raved about the snapper. Even my first experience of a Nicaraguan hamburger was not at all disappointing! We also had an evening meal out at the Clubhouse and I enjoyed my first Nicaraguan pizza there. One evening we also travelled to the nearby fishing village of Masachapa. Lovely village and again the people were lovely as well.
Of note is the restaurant staff. They are to be commended for being universally sweet, polite, humble and friendly. We were blessed to get to know Isaac, Veronica and Gloria by name but all the staff were fabulous. Likewise such sentiments extend to Joanne and Janelle in the shop and Giovanni and all the office staff.
Besides our daily long walks around the resort and the beach itself we participated in a day trip led by Osman (a native Nicaraguan and conservationist) to see the volcano at Masaya. We also took a boat tour of Lake Nicaragua and ended the day with supper in the historic city of Granada. While on the boat tour we stopped by Monkey Island (at least that’s what we called it) where Osman called one the resident Spider Monkeys on board. Lucy was an absolute delight! She took a particular interest in an English woman who was also staying at Las Perlas- even to the point of grooming her hair. What an experience!
Another notable of our day trip was to see some of the local villages. Milagro has been instrumental in providing employment for the surrounding area. In think that there are about 180 people on staff- most of who are locals. The leadership of the resort has also been deliberate about helping the locals communities by building and repairing schools and I heard that a medical clinic is being planned as well. It was very encouraging to see a business entity such as Milagro being intentional about being a blessing to their neighbours.
The make up of the other guests staying at the resort included a fair number of Canadians, Americans and Nicaraguans. While we were there a Nicaraguan wedding was performed. It was fun watching the couple get married as we gazed unobtrusively from our room. Lots on surfers were around- apparently the surfing is some of the best in the Americas. We found other couples to spend time with and there were some families with children visiting too.
The resort, aside from the hotel, is also expanding with free standing homes. About forty have been built or are in process. We got to know several of the owners and renters while at Milagro which contributed greatly to the overall positive experience. In total I would think that there will eventually be over a hundred homes being built. Also there is another hotel in process on the site- Wyndham Ocean Village & Hotel. As I understood it was begun a number of years ago but the original developers ran into financial problems during the 2008 recession. The new resort owners have since secured an alliance with Wyndham to manage that hotel. The new hotel (luxury condos) should be completed by next year.
Some concluding and other thoughts: It is a bit of a drive from the airport to the resort. The last part of the road is a little rough but is being upgraded to pavement. Great internet if you have to be connected. Golf is 9 holes so far with 18 more to follow. 2 tennis courts are coming. Lots of activities- yoga, riding, massage, surfing etc. Quiet and restful environment. Beautiful scenery. We were at the end of the dry season- hot but great breezes every day. No time share salespeople- yay! You can prepare your meals in your room’s kitchen but there is not a grocery store close by. Resort is evolving and will be busier in the future which has pros and cons depending on your perspective.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have gone many times to Milagro de Mar because it is the most beautiful beach closest to Managua -- about 1 1/2 hours west of the city. The beach is gorgeous -- without any vendors bothering you. The surf in front of the condos draws surfers from all over the world and can be rough/challenging but there is another beach where they teach surf lessons. The infinity pool offers the best seat to enjoy the sun & the view of the ocean. The restaurant offers something for everyone from chicken fingers and hamburgers for kids to a delicious steak and whole fish or the traditional gallo pinto plate for those hungrier. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful. Activities include horseback riding, golf, surfing, swimming, shelling, but my favorite is taking a bird walk with Osman early in the morning or late in the afternoon to see the amazing variety of birds there. We have stayed in the beautifully decorated condos as well as in individual homes with their own private pools. We always look forward to going back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Anita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We recently enjoyed a 10 day vacation at Milagro del Mar which for us was about "rest and relaxation". Our one bedroom condo was spacious, quiet and had all the amenities we required. Our day started with coffee on the patio watching and listening to the breakers roll in and finished with dinner by the pool watching the spectacular sunsets. We ate all our meals at the resort restaurant and were pleased with everything we tried. The service was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly. The resort Manager was visible and approachable throughout the day. He certainly "walked the walk" and made sure that all his guests were having the best experience possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Managua
13.0 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
647 reviews
28.1 mi away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 50 in Managua
347 reviews
28.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
386 reviews
27.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Address: Villa el Carmen, Managua, Nicaragua (Formerly Milagro del Mar Beach & Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Pacifica is Nicaragua's premier vacation resort. Come visit our beautiful Spanish Colonial community nestled on miles of stunning sandy beach. Two world-class surf breaks from beginner to expert are just steps from your suite. Explore the shoreline on horseback, try some deep sea fishing, play a round on our beautiful golf course, have a relaxing massage in our beachfront grass hut spa, let us arrange one of the many nature or city tours for you, or indulge in any one of the other multitude of things to enjoy at Gran Pacifica! And our waterfront dining of spectacular cuisine will cap off your evenings while you watch the stunning sunset! Gran Pacifica is the closest beach destination to Managua and our luxurious suites include free Wi-Fi, American TV channels, A/C, private bedrooms, living room, full kitchens, extremely comfortable beds and each suite is beachfront with decks to watch the beautiful sunsets over the waves just outside your door! Our waterfront restaurant, separated from the Pacific only by the infinity pool, offers fine and casual dining options of spectacular cuisine with daily locally caught seafood as well as fresh, local organic produce used in every delicious dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing