We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food was Good but the Prices Were Not”

Masala Indian Cuisine
Ranked #615 of 986 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Food was Good but the Prices Were Not”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our group had a variety of dishes, including lamb and chicken but the prices were as others have stated very high. The food was good and prepared to the hotness as requested. But I would not return based on quality of the food compared to the prices charged.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    13
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A jewel in the hart of Panama City!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Masala has been my best experience with Indian food so far. Starting from the moment you enter the restaurant and you are greeted by the host, your sense of smell is awakening by the wonderful aromas that permeate the restaurant. Service is great and if you are lucky to be greeted by the owner of this restaurant you are in for a great treat. Allowing suggestions from the owner was a great experience and I strongly recommend that if you are in Panama and you are looking from something different, exciting and overall a great culinary experience, Masala is the place to visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dirty tables, prices downright laughable, yet tasty food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

$23 for one curry dish in a semi-dodgy area of Panama city is absolutely ridiculous. That is more expensive than back in the States or in Europe. A la cart prices for chicken curries were $13 but rice is another $4 and naan was too. But okay, if you're gonna charge high prices, at least be a nice restaurant. Instead we got filthy placemats covered with sauce which presumedly hand't been changed from the diners before us. Our plates were dirty too. With these low standards, you cannot justify the high prices.
I will say that at least the cook is doing a good job though because my vindaloo was spicy and tasty.
If you're going to spend $50+ on dinner for two in Panama, there are much much better places than here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We party of 3 went twice to this place. The older gentleman waiter is rude and just weird. Made us feel as if he was paying for our food. Very poor service. Will recommend you not to talk to this man else you will spoil your night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridhika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contadora Island, Panama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Get together with friends from USA”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The food was excellent - we all thoroughly enjoyed sharing numerous different dishes. The service was also excellent. We had read the reviews and there was a negative one so we hoped against hope that it was an off time, especially seeing as we were taking out of country guests and it was the only night we would all be together. We had eaten here before and had an excellent experience. Two of our party of 8 are vegans and there was plenty of choices for them as well as the other 6 guests. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience and we were grateful. The servers were very helpful and friendly. Two of our party had to eat in a hurry to go to the airport to pick up incoming guests and their meal was served promptly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelingwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Indian Cuisine also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Masala Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing