We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I reckon i could live here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luna's Castle Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I reckon i could live here”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights as a solo traveller. Had a great time, made new friends and new plans. Good atmosphere in the hostel, bar downstairs with cheap drinks. Also has curtains around the bunks, just a small thing but one i appreciate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    203
    105
    46
    25
See reviews for
6
133
194
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived very tired from our trip in the hostel and there was so much music that it was impossible to sleep before 3 AM. Also the party guests were using our bathroom all the time. This a nice place If you like to party, but for us it was too noisy. Breakfast is nice! You can bake your own pancakes!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1leonie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Don't go unless you want to sleep in a disco. This is crazy - never experienced a room loud like this, impossible to sleep. Hoped for a good night of sleep before the outgoing flight but this is just a nightmare. Even with earplugs it feels like being ON the dance floor - for hours now.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL1766538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed the first night in a dorm with AC, essential in this oppressively boiling city. Room was dark and dingey but quiet and cool. Bloke in bunk above me was having a fight with himself ALL night then got up crack of dawn crashing around and putting the light on full. Not the hostel's fault but annoying all the same. Next night we managed to get a private room which was ok but only had a barely functioning fan and we boiled alive all night and had music from the bar downstairs pulsing away into the early hours (earplugs didn't block it). We actually really liked the hostel overall, really good vibe and great location plus the cleanest shared bathrooms we have experienced. Lots of lockers too with plug inside to charge your stuff securely - great idea! It is a party hostel so if you want peace, it's not for you. Oh (most) of the staff were really friendly and helpful which goes a long way and doesn't take much.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wigster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was a great place to stay during an overnight layover in Panama City! I really enjoyed the location in the historic colonial part of the city, and it was fun being so close to great nightlife. The quirky, eccentric decorations and vibe of the hostel was really interesting! Overall I don't have any real complaints about our stay there, except for a situation we had with leaving an iPhone in a taxi at the airport (one we booked using the hostel), where we immediately called the hostel front desk to have them call the taxi driver to turn around. The people at the hostel did not act in a timely fashion to assist us with our situation, however, which was frustrating since we could have potentially received our item if they had. Even though this unfortunate event occurred, we still had an overall nice stay in the hostel. We would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the side facing the street, as it is extremely noisy at night. If that both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polychromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Luna's Castle is the best party hostel in all of Panama. If you're looking for a quiet place to sleep, this is not the hostel for you. It's a beautiful hostel with dark wood and art everywhere. It's very clean and the dorms with a/c are very comfortable. Each bed has a drawer underneath where you can keep your bag. Lockers are also available with outlets if you want to charge your phone or iPad. Each dorm bed has a curtain you can pull that gives you a bit of privacy.

Luna's has the best location and is in the middle of everything. It has a bar downstairs that is open from Tues- Sat and stays open till 4am pumping dance music that make the hostel floors vibrate. You get a yellow wrist band when you check in and you can get 50 cent beers and a dollar mixed drinks from 8pm to 10pm. At 7am, you can hear the roosters in the back of the building so if you're looking to sleep in, try ear plugs. Free pancakes, bananas, coffee, and tea were great. The front desk can book a trip to the San Blas for you if you want. Friendly staff and great atmosphere, we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Friendly staff and nice rooms for the price. Go here if you want to meet a lot of people and have a fun time. Free pancakes in the morning and fruit in the afternoon.
in the back there's a big courtyard and a bar with good prices and a lot of people. There's a crazy lady on the balcony next to the courtyard though, who throws watermelon slices at you every night. so look up accasionally. :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kongslev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 114 in Panama City
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#38 of 114 in Panama City
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#35 of 114 in Panama City
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna's Castle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna's Castle Hostel

Property: Luna's Castle Hostel
Address: Calle 9na Este 3-28 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Spanish colonial mansion built upon the water’s edge. Luna’s Castle Hostel attracts those who seek the ideal Panama City backpacking experience. Following Captain Morgan’s plunder of Panama Vieja in 1671, stones from the ruins were used to construct the massive walls of Casco Viejo. Luna’s Castle, built in 1905, rests upon these original city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Luna's Castle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna`s Castle Hotel Panama City
Luna's Castle Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing