We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
305
112
53
37
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
112
53
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casco viejo rooftop pool old city balconies overlooking perfect location comfortable rooms lobby area junior suite a wonderful stay bars and restaurants an upgrade mini bar breakfast buffet chen panama atrium ronaldo
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great property, however, street noise was extremely bad. Suggest you offer foam earplugs (as offered at La Concordia) to minimize noise.
Additionally, the taxi your bellman recommended for transportation to Albrook Airport charged over twice the amount as usual, and over 3 times the amount as Uber. I'll strongly recommend to all your guests that they negotiate their own transportation.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Freedom48085216804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and beautiful hotel combined with helpful and attentive staff. Arrived very early morning and they worked hard to get us into a room as soon as possible. Rooftop at sunset was lovely, though the pool was a little small

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was very pretty. Full buffet breakfast including an omlette station. Some mornings there was Panamanian food. Restaurant with a very limited menu and expensive. Pool was only a lap pool. Rooms were small! No dresser or even shelves to put your clothes so you were living out of a suitcase. No towel rack or even a hook to put your towel on. Everyone in my party complained how the showers leaked all over the floor. 5 Star prices but no where near a 5 Star hotel, Convention moved in on Sunday evening taking over everything. You couldn't even sit and wait in the lobby. Woud not stay there again.

Room tip: garden room the same as others, not worth the money
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Getaway774874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel superbly located, rooms well equipped - a/c, WiFi, charging points, large flat screen tv etc. Design of the shower screen in the bathroom led to water spillage which required a large towel to mop up. Staff were helpful when approached but generally not a great deal of English spoken. Had an unhappy experience on the first night with the restaurant: our starter salad was fine but our two friends had consumed their main course before ours even arrived and then my husband’s was inedible. My friend asked three times for a glass of wine (which became a complimentary one when we complained) and we were offered complimentary dessert to help ameliorate the situation (only one take-up). The restaurant was not as described in our literature and had obviously undergone change, including change of name. This is a busy hotel and was host to two conferences during our four night stay. In their favour, the hotel allowed us to check out two hours later than usual check out time to fit better with our trip to the airport for our return home.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We experienced so much during our 9 day stay, I am not sure where to start. Well the staff are the first. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Any question we had was answered with complete knowledge of the area. Second, was the building. The hotel GEM itself. The wood and furnishings were so warm and comfortable.
When we called to reserve, the only 3 things I wanted in a room was; facing the Independence Park, on the third floor and with a balcony. Thats exactly what we had.
During our stay (In December 2018), we had the pleasure, watching the residence transform the Independence Park into a Christmas Wonderland. Panama really knows how to decorate and celebrate the Christmas season.
We walked ever where and felt completely safe, during the day and night. The area of Casco Viejo is an area with amazing churches, museums and buildings. Oh and incredible dining and nightlife experiences. Seemed like every night there was live entertainment in one of the many the local parks.

We went to the Kuna Yale for a 3 night stay and left our large luggage at the hotel. It was looked after and safe. When we arrived back, we felt like a friend with all the staff. You don't get that feeling at many hotels
The rooftop pool at the Central Hotel was another huge surprise. An eagle eye of Old Panama while enjoying a swim and some sun. WOW.
In short. I will go back to Panama, and will just to stay at the Central again. Amazing experience!!!

Thank you

Room tip: Choose a room on the third floor and facing the Independence Park. The church across the park is a Beauty.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews