We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome place”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

this a beautiful hotel. the food is great. the hotel staff are wonderful. it has been right down to one of the best places i have stayed!!!!! they have a great bar and lounge and the room service after hours is great as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mr. Sean thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    204
    81
    21
    13
See reviews for
101
107
47
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was amazed I liked being out side the city but this is a great hotel, food was good and service great. You are completely out of the city but you watch the boats getting ready to go through the canal all day. Totally different experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn has great staff and are very helpful with questions about the area and cab prices etc. the breakfast was included and was good though not exceptional. The hotel offers complimentary one way shuttles to miraflores locks to see the Panama Canal operations as well as to the albrook mall. The room was nice and clean and had pool view. The fitness centre is quite basic. The surroundings are quiet and there is nothing else in the vicinity so no restaurants to eat at except one in the hotel and one outside. For people who don't mind the far away location it's a great choice because you can easily get cabs for under 10.00$ to take you anywhere in the city. There were no tourist attraction brochures or a tour desk so make sure you have your tours and outing planned before you check in or simply ask the awesome staff

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ish21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn City of Knowledge. We appreciate all your recommendations and we will take it in consideration to improve our service. We are glad you liked the rooms and the service delivered by our staff. Hope this won’t be the last time you visit our beautiful country.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 2 separate times during the month of September 2013. The second stay was a result of the experiences I had on the first stay. The service was outstanding. I do not speak much Spanish, but the hotel staff would go out of their way to find ways to communicate with me or find Robert B. who speaks English as good as his Spanish. A special thanks goes to Robert for all the kind & helpful things he did for me. He truly is the definition of guest hospitality! There are many interesting places to visit within a short drive from the hotel. Albrook Mall (it's huge!) and the hotel's free shuttle will take you there. Metropolitan National Park, just 5 minutes from mall and you're in the jungle! How cool is that!? It's the only National Park within a major city's limits in the world! The canal is just across the road from the hotel and Miraflores Locks just up the road a piece. Nature lovers rejoice. Flocks of parrots fly overhead every morning and evening. Several different species of colorful birds visit trees on the hotel property and if you're up early and move quietly, you may see an agouti (large rabbit size rodent) foraging on the lawn. The rooms are very clean & comfortable and having a room safe box was nice. The canal view restaurant has great food & outstanding service. A recommendation from a nature enthusiast would be to have more brochures on natural attractions nearby, Metropolitan National Park, Soberania National Park, Summit Botanical Garden & Zoo, Panama Rainforest Discovery Center, Gamboa just to mention a few. Also, please put some hummingbird & fruit feeders out along the flower bed on east side of hotel. It would be something not many other hotels could boast about. Everyone likes hummingbirds and Panama has lots of them, so show them off. I truly enjoyed my stay at Holiday Inn - Panama Canal, and will recommend you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mr. Dave, we are grateful for the time you spent reviewing our hotel. We are committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Like you have said, we are surrounded by lots of nature, also we are near to the Miraflores Locks and one of the biggest malls in Central America, the Albrook Mall, which our hotel have shuttle service totally free (please check schedule at front desk). We especially appreciate your comments, it will be shared to Robert and all the staff and we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had to organize a Regional Meeting and selected Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal as our venue for both the event and for the participants to stay over for 3 days from 1 to 3 October 2013. Service was excellent, facilities were very good, great food at the restaurant and during the breaks. But most important, the courtesy and friendliness of all the staff. Our event planner, Ikebana Boothe and the F & B manager Alejandra gave us an A+ customer service. I will recomend it for future events. Thank you for your hospitality and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayos_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you Mr. Rayos for taking the time and share your kind comment about your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service and we will share this with all our staff.Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I choose this hotel because it was the closer (and better) to the miraflores locks and we really wanted to visit the panama canal. We requested a Canal View room which we had and in a high floor and was simply amazing, will sure come back again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've spent few nights at this hotel in July while I was on a biz trip to Panama. It's extremely clean and comfortable (Holiday inn style). Downsides: room doors are so noisy, and when your neighbors enter or exit their rooms, it makes so much noise. A bottle of water in the room was 8$!! Make sure you buy one in town where it costs less than 1$. The internet wasn't working extremely well.

Breakfast was really good, however you have to pay for that.

Nice swimming pool and gym!

Be aware that this hotel is pretty far from downtown, and there's basically nothing at a walking distance. Just a restaurant and bar. Not even a convenience store.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoMnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graciela A, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We appreciate your suggestions and we are going to take in consideration to our continuous improvement. We are sorry that you can’t enjoy the activities that we have around the hotel. We have near the Kiwanis Sport Center, where you can enjoy tennis, football, baseball or swim. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Miraflores Locks and to the biggest Mall in Panama, Albrook Mall (schedule at the Front Desk). Recently we have a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Airport (schedule at the Front Desk). We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
914 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Property: Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. You can be assured that when you stay at an IHG Green Engage Hotel, you are participating in an advanced, world-wide sustainability effort. We understand that it is important for you to have an active role in protecting our environment and that's why we've made it easier for you to choose a hotel that matches your sustainable values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing