We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very remote, noisy with expensive 8 USD water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but very remote, noisy with expensive 8 USD water”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Hotel is clean but noisy. The staff is friendly but does not speak English well. Internet is good and fast. The city of knowledge is very remotly located.One bottle of water in the room is charged with 8 USD (10% of the room fee). Panama has very good water treatment plants, so drink from the tap, buy from the restaurant or super market down the street or get free water from the gym.

Room Tip: I stayed in 606 with a beautiful view on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SifteBerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are committed to providing excellent service to all our guests. We appreciate your suggestions these make us have a continuous improvement of our services. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    200
    80
    21
    12
See reviews for
100
106
45
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived late night and planned a visit to the Panama Canal on the following day. This is a great options as you can book rooms with Canal views and is just 5min ride. We arrived on the worst day possible: Christmas Day. Even though we were very well welcome by the staff and we had a very pleasant stay. They even offer free shuttle to the locks, Albrook Mall and airport! It saved us rent a car (transit here doesn't look so obvious) and taxis fare. Besides, free wifi all around. Breakfast is great with custom made omelets and waffle. Absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for Canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliKawaseGoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I've stayed here twice, four days each time. Impeccably clean room, severely over-priced water bottle ($8) and helpful service. Your credit card key is what runs the AC so it takes a good 15 minutes to cool the room down when you first enter. Breakfast buffet is included and there fruit, a hot cereal, some sort if eggs (scrambled, boiled, etc) and meat which could be bacon or the little hot dogs that I've seen in South America countries. The waiter will not " check" on you so make your wishes known

Room Tip: Only touch the elevator button once. Clicking it multiple times just turns it off and then you wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniqueflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I stay in a view room, from where I could follow all the maneuvers of the boats entering and exiting the Canal. That is the best part, it's go almost no stop, so you can appreciate many different views under different lights at the comfort of your room!! The staff are Great!!! The room are of nice size and with good quality of mattress and pillows. The only problem is the noise from the street, the trains and the boats, if you want to have the windows opened, that is the price for the view. The breakfast was included and have nice fruit and other buffet options!! If I need I will be glad to came back!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel.
Thank you again for sharing you comments and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Panama City.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn in the City of Knowledge numerous times over the past 4 years for work. The hotel has been consistently solid. As others have mentioned, positives include great breakfasts, friendly staff, clean rooms, etc.
The only complaint I have is the gym. The hotel has had the same 3 stationary bikes for the 4 years I've been staying at the hotel. 2 of those don't work and the other one is not a good model. The only excercise machine that is worth using is the treadmill. However, if someone is using it, you have no choice but to wait. The gym is also very small. Please consider updating the equipment in the gym. Thanks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the canal side for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We will take into consideration your review to take corrective actions in the areas that you mention before. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Again thank you for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed here for a few days last November only because I needed to be close to Ciudad del Saber. I recommend this hotel if you are doing business in the area or need to be very close to Miraflores for some reason. It may be a bit difficult (and/or pricey) to get a taxi to this area from Casco or El Cangrejo or other parts of the city because it is a little out of the way. Granted, by pricey, I mean anywhere from $5 - $15.

My experience was okay: the service, pool area, and rooms were average. The hallways were really hot and uncomfortable, but electricity is really expensive and no one really hangs out in the hallways. So, that's understandable. They accidentally overcharged us by $400 (!!!), and we did not realize it until after we returned to the U.S., but the manager was very accommodating through e-mail, and our money was refunded to us, in no time.

If you want to be able to walk to restaurants or shops, this is not a good choice. For me, there are many better options in the city center that I prefer.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaleahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Anna Leah

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We will take into consideration your review to take corrective actions in the areas that you mention before. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Again thank you for you feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a great location if you are staying in the Ciudad del Saber (City of Knowledge). However, there is only one restaurant and one bar apart from the hotel within walking distance. The free breakfast is fantastic. My business partners loved the fruit and coffee. They have an omelet station, fresh bread, and all sorts of tasty treats. I loved that there was a safe in the room and the bed was comfy. We got a choice of firm or soft pillows (kindly labeled).

My issues with the room? I couldn't adjust the AC (which was freezing) and the wifi was abysmal. The wifi in the lobby worked well and the business center computer was good, but inconvenient if you want to stay in your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comment about your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. For us it is very important our guest satisfaction for this reason we are committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We will take into consideration your comment to take corrective actions in the area that you mention before. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 114 in Panama City
894 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#38 of 114 in Panama City
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
826 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 114 in Panama City
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Property: Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. You can be assured that when you stay at an IHG Green Engage Hotel, you are participating in an advanced, world-wide sustainability effort. We understand that it is important for you to have an active role in protecting our environment and that's why we've made it easier for you to choose a hotel that matches your sustainable values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing