We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay outside Panama City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay outside Panama City”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay which was our first location on our trip to Panama. Our room was clean and comfortable and overlooked the pool. Being away from the congestion of the city was a plus for us. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We enjoyed a wonderful, reasonably priced meal at a restaurant located right next door (a one minute walk) so no need to take a taxi into the city. The small pool was very pleasant for an afternoon dip. The area is quiet and safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    204
    82
    21
    13
See reviews for
101
107
47
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davisburg, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Right next to Miraflores Locks. Staff here is very, very helpful. Especially Cesar who went out of his way to help us several times. It is clean, the food is very, very good and the price is very reasonable. Go there.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Katty thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love.
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be share your comments with our staff we are pleased to hear such great comments. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My experience with this hotel is limited as I stayed only one night. I had been slightly ill while traveling for 36 hours so when I arrived at the hotel, I went to bed and stayed in bed until my late check out. The front desk staff was courteous, professional, and very accommodating. I was too tired to think straight but the staff got me sorted and into a room that faced the Canal.

The room was very clean, well appointed, and the bed was exquisite: the sheets were so clean and soft that I forgot that I wasn't at home. The bathroom was beautifully designed and the shower had strong water pressure. The room had a digital thermostat for precise temperature control. That room was the perfect place for me to rest and rejuvenate. I wish that I had booked for a few nights, instead of just one.

I did not use the pool or the restaurant. I considered ordering room service but there was almost no vegetarian options. There is a small bar and I was given a free drink coupon upon check in.

The hotel is conveniently located for flying out of Albrook airport and shopping at the Albrook mall, which is huge. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetMags2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for share your experience on Trip Advisor. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Miraflores Locks and to the biggest Mall in Panama, Albrook Mall (schedule at the Front Desk). Recently we have a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Airport (schedule at the Front Desk). We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Went to Panama City, Panama for our 40th class reunion. This was in the Fort Clayton area of the old Canal Zone, almos across the Miraflores locks. They gave us a special price during our stay, complimentary breakfast. The rooms were clean and spacious. The safe in my room was not working, they came right away, could not fix it, and replace inmediatly. King size bed, plush.I did not stay on the side that has a view of the Miraflores Lock, yet my room was very quiet, a friend told me the traffic in the morning was loud on that side. You can jog or walk around the area. They did everything to make our stay and party a great success. Initially I thought it was away from Panama City, but the reality was that it was "easier" to get to places from there...if you consider easy driving in Panama city :)
Overall it was a good experience, and I would stay again should my travels take me back to Panama City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diablu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear guest, we are grateful for the time you spent reviewing our hotel. We are committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Like you have said, we are surrounded by lots of nature, also we are near to the Miraflores Locks and one of the biggest malls in Central America, the Albrook Mall, which our hotel have shuttle service totally free (please check schedule at front desk). We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is in an unusual location – the former grounds of a US military base across the road from the Panama canal and the Panama canal railway. So if you love watching trains and boats from your hotel window, it’s a great location. Just ask for a room on the canal side. The rooms are fine, and the food in the hotel restaurant was consistently good and often interesting.

Room Tip: Canal side if you want to watch the boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandemaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear guest, we are grateful for the time you spent reviewing our hotel. We are committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Like you have said, we are surrounded by lots of nature, also we are near to the Miraflores Locks and one of the biggest malls in Central America, the Albrook Mall, which our hotel have shuttle service totally free (please check schedule at front desk). We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Over nearly a four-week period in Panama, mostly in the Panama City area, I have stayed at 5 different hotels, some with more services and better facilities but no one matched the staff at the Holiday Inn in the City of Knowledge for their consistent level of service whether I was at the front desk in the morning, the restaurant in the evening or in the hallway outside my room. Even if a staff member didn't speak much English, they always had a great smile and tried their best to help. I never knew the breakfast chef's name but he always had something friendly to say - and I knew it was friendly because he had a great big smile on his face.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 6th floor are under a meeting room above - that was noisy one Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. We especially appreciate your comments, we will be shared with all the staff and we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BsAs
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel enjoys a great view of the canal,close to old Panama town and close to Gamboa the rainforest resort and it is within the City of Knowledge where many companies, organizations and schools are settled. The staff are very friendly and obliging, rooms are spacy,spotless and clean,there is a small pool to cool down after work and a little bar to unwind. Breakfast is good served at their restaurant which is modern and yet cozy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Patricia thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
915 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City, Panama
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Property: Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. You can be assured that when you stay at an IHG Green Engage Hotel, you are participating in an advanced, world-wide sustainability effort. We understand that it is important for you to have an active role in protecting our environment and that's why we've made it easier for you to choose a hotel that matches your sustainable values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing