We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here for business while in Panama. This hotel is close to the canal locks and lots of decent restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is clean and the staff is professional. It is a bit outside the city so you'll need a car or to use a taxi to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHareFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. Thank you for choosing us, We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you. Once again that you so very much for your comment, we really appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    192
    79
    21
    12
See reviews for
96
103
45
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Panama Canal because I wanted to see the Canal and Panama City. It is located literally right across the highway from the Canal and probably less than a mile from the Miraflores locks. It is about 10 km out of Panama City and in a pretty quiet neighborhood that is actually a decommissioned US military base.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, and well kept up. The staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are nice with modern furnishings, comfortable beds, and nice bathrooms. I even had a room with a great view of the Canal. There are large flat screen tvs with cable, and the free hotel wifi is very good. The only issue I had was that it was hard to control the room temperature and it was pretty cold in the room.

There is not too much right around the hotel except for the Canal. There is a restaurant and most of the area has been converted to the "Ciudad de Saber" or City of Knowledge which is a research and educational campus with quite a number of non profit corporate offices, private international schools, and some corporate offices. About 1 km away there is a plaza with some restaurants and shops. The visitors center at the Miraflores locks is definitely worth a visit ($15 admission)

The hotel restaurant is a fairly typical hotel restaurant. The breakfast buffet is excellent (usual price $15, $10 for hotel guests if paid at check in). The dinners were ok, although at $24 the itralina dinner buffet seemed a bit pricey - the regular menu was fine with burgers and sandwiches in the $10-$12 range.

There is a small pool that seemed nice and a nice fitness center. The business center was also ok, although I believe there is a charge for using their computers (it seemed to depend on who was working at the desk). When I checked in I was given a coupon for a free drink at the bar. It's a nice place to relax and chat with the friendly bartender.

One thing i would suggest is renting a car if you are staying at this hotel, as it is a ways out of town and it will give you much better mobility. Car rentals are cheap at the Panama City airport - I paid $10.39 for two days + $33 insurance. The one way cab fare from airport to hotel is upwards of $40. From the hotel into town it's about $10 (the cabbies will tell you $15 - it's not worth that as it isn't very far - coming back from town i was only charged $5 - so bargain with the cabbies if you're going by cab). A car will enable you to visit place sin the canal zone and go out to Amador along the causeway which is scenic with many restaurants. One the main roads driving is fairly easy - downtown it's a mess.

I look forward to returning to this hotel as it provides an excellent base for exploring the area.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the canal is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for share your experience. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Miraflores Locks and to the biggest Mall in Panama, Albrook Mall (schedule at the Front Desk). Recently we have a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Airport (schedule at the Front Desk). We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel was the perfect location for us to explore the Miraflores locks at the Panama Canal and the Panama Canal Museum. These are located just a few miles out of the city and the hotel is right across the road and provides free shuttle to the locks twice a day.

Staff was incredibly helpful and spoke English, which I appreciate since my Spanish isn't great. They answered all our questions and helped us with any requests.

Our room was beautiful, modern and clean. The restaurant had GREAT food, (we loved the pizzas and the incredible breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, including passion fruit) and the lobby coffee shop had yummy treats too.

Great outdoor pool and patio but sadly we didn't get to enjoy it with all the rainy season rains going on...just part of life in Panama.

Thanks so much for taking such great care of us!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Greetings from Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. Thank you for share your experience on Trip Advisor. It's our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view and comfort of our accommodations at our hotel. We will be shared with all the staff and we are pleased to hear such great comments. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama and enjoy all the services that we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The staff was superfriendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of healthy options which I really appreciated. We spent our time visiting the Gamboa rainforest resort and went for a trip up the Panama canal and got to see crocodiles, turtes and monkeys. Furthermore, I can also recommend visiting the Embera community living in the national park up the Charges river. Truly amazing! Thank you, Panama!

Helpful?
Thank jegvetikk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn at the Panama Canal. We are very committed to deliver an excellent service guest love. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the City of Knowledge, the Miraflores Locks and to the biggest Mall in Panama, Albrook Mall (schedule at the Front Desk). Recently we have a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Airport (schedule at the Front Desk). We work with Gamboa Tours who offers excellent tours to GAMBOA Rainforest Resort. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Western Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the Mirafores locks and the good reviews on tripadvisor.
The view of the locks is not great and the proximity is not a good enough reason to book this hotel.
We are a family of 4 and we tried to book on several websites but they prevented us from booking 4 people in 1 room so we had to book 2 rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we asked for adjoining rooms but were informed that there weren't any available. We couldn't even get 2 rooms close to each other. The whole thing is odd given that the hotel seemed empty (10 cars in the parking lot at night), there are 2 double beds in the rooms that could easily sleep a family of 4 and there are adjoining doors in the rooms.
There is an annoying high pitched noise that pierces the walls of the rooms and is uncomfortable when sitting around the pool. It surges in intensity and comes on at random times during the day and night and lasts for several hours. It is the type of sound that is used to disperse riot crowds. We have read about this noise in other reviews and everyone seemed to think it was the railway, road or locks. We asked the hotel staff about it but they don't hear it. Following the sound we found that it is the generators from the nearby Miraflores Power Generating Station located by the locks.
There are little food options available in the area except for an italian restaurant next door and an excellent food court located a couple of blocks away in the neighbourhood. We arrived at approx. 7 pm and found the pizza place and the Yogen Fruz still open. The neighbourhood was very quiet but would be interesting to visit during peak school times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P&ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear P&ZH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and for appreciating our hotel location. We strive to provide impeccable customer service and accommodations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any difficulties that you may have encountered during your stay with us particularly with the noise challenges, room allocation and food selection received. We assure you that this is not up to our standards and corrective action will be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

Again, we are grateful for your valuable feedback. Shall your travels bring you to the area again we hope for the opportunity to provide you a quality stay with us all around.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were impressed with the overall experience here. Nice staff, above - average breakfast, clean floors and bathroom. Highly recommend it for the price. We had a deadline but would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArangoD1, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time and share your experience at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, is our goal to deliver an excellent service guest love and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

After an all-night flight by way of El Salvador, arriving in Panama City, viewing the beautiful oceanfront accommodations, passing through the less savory parts of town, we finally arrived at the Holiday Inn. Where the heck are we? Having a transfer driver who, maybe, spoke two words to us didn't help.
First impressions of this hotel are not good. It is behind a chain-link fence topped with barbed wire. Come to find out, it is on the grounds of the former Fort Clayton that the American armed forces occupied to guard the Panama Canal back in the day.
After a while, we realized perhaps it wasn't as bad as it appeared - overlooking the Mira Flora locks of the Panama Canal - if you are lucky enough to get a canal-view room on the top floors.
The Mira Flora locks are within a mile - if you care to make the trek and brave the horrendous traffic of the two-lane road that is bumper-to-bumper busy, it seems, all hours of the day.
Hotel prices are expensive. Bring $$$.
Hotel staff did their best to help when we needed. Some English-speaking. Some not.
The City of Knowledge, if that's what your agency boasts, is nothing to see. There are several outbuildings for different organizations around the world.
The grounds, overall, are a rundown American outpost. Nothing beautiful or special about it.
I am not an American "purist." I've traveled. This is not the place for someone who expects paradise.
Stick to the "tourist" spots if that's your goal; otherwise, you won't like Panama

Room Tip: Get a top floor room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama Canal, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Bobbi T,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
5.3 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 113 in Panama City
883 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#36 of 113 in Panama City
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#28 of 113 in Panama City
746 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
3.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 113 in Panama City
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama Canal

Property: Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Address: Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton, Panama City 7336, Panama (Formerly Holiday Inn Panama City)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Panama hotel deals will appreciate the great location and outstanding array of amenities found at the Holiday Inn(R) City of Knowledge. Located just minutes away from some of the best attractions and businesses in Panama, our property offers both convenience and great value.Leisure guests are often drawn to our family-friendly Panama City hotel's close proximity to several of the city's best attractions including the visitor center at Miraflores Locks at the Panama Canal, the Albrook Shopping Center (with free shuttle service from our hotel), and the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. But our guests don't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool in a beautifully landscaped courtyard, the well-equipped 24-hour Fitness Center, or our gift shop for a souvenir. Our hotel is only a few miles away from Panama City's banking district where many international transactions take place. Our fully-staffed Business Center provides guests with everything they need including copying, courier service, personal computer, and high-speed Internet access.When you're looking for great Panama hotel deals we offer the best. Make your reservations today to get the best Panama travel deals around at our Panama City hotel. You can be assured that when you stay at an IHG Green Engage Hotel, you are participating in an advanced, world-wide sustainability effort. We understand that it is important for you to have an active role in protecting our environment and that's why we've made it easier for you to choose a hotel that matches your sustainable values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Of Knowledge Hotel Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Panama Canal Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing