We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, would stay again”
Review of Hostal Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Good location, extremly friendly, helpful staff, good tv room and lots of places to use wifi + free internet of communal computers. Lots of nice places to sit and hang out. Near a very good supermarket and ability to cook for yourself which was nice. Dorm rooms looked really nice, unfortunalty we booked a private room with shared shower, only one shower worked, room had no window and was impossible to be in when the air conditioning wasnt on and the sheets didnt fit the bed! Also it was a double bed room not a twin which we didnt realise so if looking for a twin beware of that! However, we would recommend it as a place to stay but IN A DORM!

Room Tip: Pick a dorm
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMaudP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Mamallena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've stayed in many hostels around the world including the Hostal Mamallena in Boquete and unfortunately the Hostal Mamellena in Panama City ranks towards the bottom.

Our room was very small - not much bigger than the very worn out mattress that was sitting on the floor. We were grateful it had AC until we discovered the AC doesn't come on until 9 PM. We'd been traveling all day and really wanted to crash for a few hours, but the room was too hot and the mattress sagged too much. When the AC came on at 9 PM, the room cooled down but then we couldn't turn the AC off - the switch was broken :-(

The showers and toilets were average - there was always one free when I needed one and they were reasonably clean.

While the location seems central, it was 3-5+ km from all the places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We must be doing pretty bad to be rated near the bottom of most of the world!! I do apologise though, its not our intention to be like that. I am pretty sure we don't have a mattress on the floor though, and if it was I am also sure it wouldn't sag! We do advertise that we only have AC from 9pm, and the size of the rooms has been mentioned various times here on TA. The Ac shouldn't be broken, but a broken switch on an AC is difficult to fix. I will look into it though. I will look into the problems and make sure they are fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here the first night we landed in panama city. Richard checked us in and we went straight to bed after 18 hours of travel. He was very helpful to recommend us to the Miraflores locks and casco viejo as the next days activities.
The next day we walked from mamallena to casco viejo on the beautiful waterfront walk. There is a fantastic ceviche fish market between the hostel and casco viejo where we ended up eating everyday we were in panama city.
The staff and volunteers at mamallena were so helpful at recommending activities on a budget and the guests that we met were simply lovely. If you are looking for a laid back hostel with a cool location, definitely stay at mamallenas.
Ps choco loves pio pio.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouveriteVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

To be fair, Choco loves anything that involves food, any food except his own that is! Good to hear that you enjoyed yourself and the staff are living up to expectations, thats always great to hear. Come back anytime, Choco is getting hungry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

To be honest, when I first came to Mamallena in Panama City, I did not like it. I just could not understand what was so cool about it. But I kept coming back because of Edgardo who works there - so helpful, always smiling, easy to talk to ... and also because of some guests staying there, such as Heider. We really had a blast chatting every day. The hostel itself is like any other hostel pretty much, the wifi is good, it can get a bit loud at night and I didn't like air con at night as sometimes it got too cold. But thumbs up for the little blender so I could make my smoothies (I do not eat pancakes included in the hostel price as I am raw vegan, so had to prepare my own meals).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazysexyfuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I ve been in hostel Mamallena last september and I can only say was wonderful. All people who work there were brilliant, gave me all instructions how to get where I wanted and really pleasure to met them. Once again I highly recommend this hostel because people who work there do their job very well and without them you would not be so sure. Thanks again to make my travel so nice. Love you all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa762, Owner at Hostal Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thanks for that, its always nice to get praise for the staff in what can sometimes be a bit of a thankless job. This makes them feel that much more appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent hostel for all kinds of crowds. Clean dorms with large bunkbeds and good ventilation at night.
Helpful staff who can help you planning your boattrip to Colombia via the San Blas islands (I can really recommend skipper Sebastian and his ship Cortos 2).
Nice, free breakfast with pancakes.
The garden lounge is a great hangout area to meet other travellers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at Mamallena, I felt very safe and felt at home right away! A very friendly environment with helpful staff and a real nice dog. I stayed in a private room and a dorm and both were comfortable. The common kitchen and gathering areas lent to a family kind of feeling. I stored beer in the communal fridge with no worry of some else "helping themselves". I a sole female backpacker I highly recommend this place. Also the location is very convenient for catching a bus or taxi.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
1.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 115 in Panama City
1,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 107 in Panama City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 107 in Panama City
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#5 of 107 in Panama City
604 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#8 of 107 in Panama City
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mamallena

Address: Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £15 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamallena Backpackers Panama City
Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing