We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough and yet far away”
Review of Canal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canal Inn
Ranked #32 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Close enough and yet far away”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed two nights and had a great time. The staff is very helpful and Franz (the owner) personally greeted us for breakfast the morning after we arrived and made sure we had what we needed. This is more like a house than a hotel or B&B (and I mean that in good way). The location is good - close to the causeway, albrook, cerro ancon and the rest of the city if you need to go there, yet its far enough away without being out of reach. There is a pool, more for cooling off than swimming, but still a nice feature.

Room Tip: rooms on both the main level and one level up - we choose the upper level as it was away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    25
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
30
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I like to visit Panama City but I prefer to stay in the more peaceful Barrio Balboa within the former Canal Zone. Canal Inn is tucked away on a side street within sight of the Bridge of the Americas, walking distance or a short ride to the Amador Causeway, and Ancon Hill, Allbrook Mall, Allbrook bus terminal and Albrook airport, and the entrance bay to the canal. Also a short drive to the Miriflores locks and Parque Metropolitan, Gatun and the Pipeline Trail.
The Canal Inn is beautiful, comfortable, peaceful, and very pleasant, And the location is great. The breakfasts are simple but good. The owners speak English and will be of great help with anything logistical. They will deliver/ pick you up at the airports or bus terminal and drive you most anywhere.
Local Balboa area taxis are numerous and readily available, unlike downtown Panama City. It is sometimes easier to get to/from a Casco Viejo restaurant from Canal Inn than from a downtown hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2012

As a traveler living away from home will be easy if you live a place like CANAL INN, With the personal attendance of CANAL INN Owner Mr. Fanz and great assistance from Staff , my 8 days of stay in Panama is really a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this Hotel if you are looking for natural, affordable and safety place to live in Panama. Capt. Arturo – from Tokyo Japan.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTURO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have had their business card on my desk for 10 months, meaning to put in a good word for this place in Panama City. Quiet, clean, nice people. This is my first ever comment so you can see that I was impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrskdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

great place. a little out there so if you don't have a car or like walking a bit to buses/taxis then it might be a downer - but the owners are great about arranging things if needed.

i would return. so quiet. and there is a monkey, ramona, that lives at the place along with some gatos.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is by far the best location my family and I have discovered on our frequent trips to Panama City from David, Panama. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived until the second we said good bye. This three day stay was well above from what we expected ... Franz and the family did a great job as hosts for my family and me. We really enjoyed the refreshing pool on the hot afternoons. The room was the right size for my family with fresh clean linen. The hotel is very tastefully decorated with things that make you feel like HOME. My family and I will definitely be back to visit our family at the Canal Inn.

EJ

Room Tip: All rooms are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very friendly and helpful, exelent breakfast, ok clean rooms, free internet. Very calm area near the canel and American Bridge. Easy to get to the Albrook Airport and Busterminal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Panama
Hotel El Panama
#51 of 114 in Panama City
839 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#99 of 114 in Panama City
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ramirez
Casa Ramirez
#12 of 78 in Panama City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Albrook Inn
Albrook Inn
#36 of 78 in Panama City
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baru Lodge
Baru Lodge
#8 of 78 in Panama City
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Posada Casa Real
Posada Casa Real
#30 of 78 in Panama City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Inn

Property: Canal Inn
Address: Calle Ernesto J. Castillero, Casa # 7, La Boca-Balboa | Balboa, Panama City 02845, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal - inn, our peaceful bed and breakfast guesthouse welcomes everyone. This beautiful inn is centrally located and has a lot of privacy and connected to both roads: to the north (Gamboa) and to the west (Chiriquí - Costa Rica). A place surrounded by colorful flowers, plants and birds. It is close to restaurants, train station, colonial area, shopping malls and domestic airport and of course, close to Panama Canal and Bridge of the Americas… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Panama City
Canal Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing