We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghetto hotel”
Review of Bahia Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Suites Hotel
Ranked #97 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ghetto hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Made the mistake of having family book this hotel for us without reading the reviews. As soon as we left the airport and told the cab driver which hotel to take us to he asked us who chose the hotel and then said that it's located in a rough area and not to venture outside after dark. As soon as you get in the area you can see what he meant as a half-naked prostitute walked right by us.

The bad-The hotel is very old, dark and in rough shape. Rooms are dark, tiny, walls full of cracks and the old air conditioners barely worked. My 6 year old son even commented on the smell of the room (musty). Shower was horrible, a hard stream of water which felt like a pistol on you (see pic). Definitely a lower class hotel that was way over priced. Paid $89 for one night as we had to pay $15 for the cot which there we barely enough room for. Cab driver told us we could get a better hotel in a better area for the same price. Restaurant service was horrible and pool is tiny. The breakfast that's included was not very good. We found egg shells in the scrambled eggs.

The decent-pool was clean and the cheeseburger and spaghetti was good.

Would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Most of my reviews on trip advisor are positive so I'm not someone who normally complains but this place was gross. Only reason why we stayed is that we arrived late after a long day of traveling, already paid for a taxi and were leaving at 7:30am the next day.

Avoid this place and spend your money elsewhere.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcela32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    62
    73
    25
    40
See reviews for
42
93
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Poor quality and a bad experience.
No nightstand or light by bed.
Bathroom was dark and moldy.
Had to go get toilet paper.

More info to meet tripadvisor 200 character rerquirement.
The only light in the room was a bare light bulb in the middle of the ceiling.

Room Tip: Recommend Hotel Centroamericano 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This place is unbelievable. My father and I had been staying at Hotel Centroamericano a few blocks away when I suggested we book a night at Bahia Suites for a change of scenery, as it was only $10 more for an extra half-star (whatever sense that made). I used my iPhone to book a room for the next night and went to sleep. When we arrived, the gal behind the desk kept looking at the computer and said she couldn't find the reservation, but she was acting strange. I showed the confirmation email to her on my phone, and said we need to check in urgently as we had a long day ahead and needed to put our luggage in our room. Still acting strangely, she said ok and gave us two room keys. We put our luggage into our GROSS, disreapaired room, for which the /only/ lights were oppressive bare compact fluorescents on the ceiling above the beds perfectly positioned to glare into the eyes of anyone lying in his or her back, and ventured out to the Gatun locks and Castillo San Lorenzo, noting the comparative nastiness (not a square foot of clean wall in the building, sketchy arrangement of furniture to conceal holes on walls, etc) of the hotel with its inexplicable extra half-star over the clean, handsome interior of Hotel Centralamericano. When we returned, exhausted, the 20-something gal Abril F. behind the counter signaled us to tell us there was a problem with our reservation and that I should take another look at the confirmation email. I did, and realized that when I booked the room, I had booked it for that night, now the previous night. Because the hotel was so vacant and it was no loss to them, there was an awkward moment when we were confused because it should go without saying that they could understand the mistake and credit us for the night we checked in. This is where things got outrageous. The gal behind the counter, Abril F., absolutely unmistakably took pleasure in announcing to us that no such credit would be given, regardless of the fact that the hotel was half empty at most. When we said okay then, we'll go get our luggage and leave, she took even greater pleasure in informing us that we would not be allowed to recover our luggage from the room it was moved to(!!!) unless we paid for an additional night. There is no way to exaggerate this: her confident extreme snarkiness, her ear-to ear grin, her exaggerated cutesy voice sarcasm, barely suppressing laughter, was unbelievable. This woman is a lunatic. Neither of us could believe our eyes to confront such gratuitous evil. The only way to imagine her mannerisms is to imagine a person finally in a power position relative to some perpetrator of some terrible crime done to her family decades ago. We were exhausted and needed to get to sleep in advance of a long drive the next day, so instead of calling the police, we just handed over a credit card, got new keys, loaded our luggage into our car, and called hotels.com to dispute the charge, a frustrating, fruitless process that exposed multiple lies on the part of the Hotel Bajia Suites staff, most significantly that she necessarily knew the mistake I had made before she allowed us to check in that morning. The dispute was left unresolved because the agent repeatedly telephoned the hotel while I stood in the lobby on hold only for Abril to refuse to answer their calls, all the while grinning from ear to ear as she looked straight into my eyes.

While I disputed the charge in the lobby, my father took a short nap in the room, and I feel that it is important to note that my view of the physical condition of the hotel itself is not colored by this event. Both rooms were absolutely disgusting.

My extremely well traveled father was so put off by this outrageous event that I had to spend the next day convincing him not to fly home early. Neither of us can quit talking about how she acted. We are amazed. Beware!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Bionic-Barnacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are a couple in our early thirties and this place worked perfectly as our 1st stop on a 3 month trip through central America. Wifi didn't work amazingly - if you need it for work then this isn't the place for you. The roof top was comfy and breakfast was varied. We walked to Casco Viejo through the fish market...its a doable walk if you are like us but don't forget to bring some water. Around the corner there is a super fun department store to browse through if you are into that sort of thing. The staff were as helpful as they could be considering we didn't speak any english :)

We used the washer and dryer.

We paid around $50/night. Perfectly inside our budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrison,NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We chose Bahia Suites for their rooftop pool and resturant. Panama City is becoming a vibrant destination and this hotel offered easy access to getting anywhere around the city. Close to Cosco Viejo for old city restorations, history and new updated hotels and restuarants. Rooftop views of city and boats entering the canal were good. Staff helpful and friendly to us with limited Spanish abilities. Front desk excellent. They allowed us to enter our room as soon as it was ready after a long flight from NYC. The neighborhood is improving but caution like any SA city should be assumed. We didn't fear any problem. Suggest taking cabs at night and good security at the hotel. We wanted a pool to relax from the day's heat and we got even more than we expected from the good breakfast to friendly people. A Big OK from us

Room Tip: Floors 5 and 6 are the best. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms too well. Big improvements on the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilahfresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this via Olotels.com and got a fabulous deal 6 nights for £166.00. Good buffet style choice of traditional Panamanian breakfast, coffee and juice free re fills! The room it self was clean and regular cleaning and fresh towls. The receptionists are helpful and some speak English. Great views from the rooftop area whilst having a cold beer or coffee. Would fully recommend. Location is good 8 minutes to the sea front, from here easy walk to the old town or downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights here. The room was Beautiful, clean and quite. Perfect location, walking distance from Paitilla and Cinta costera the best área in Panama City. Great shopping malls, Restaurants and bars. Nice hotel with Friendly Staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabioCostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#79 of 113 in Panama City
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#84 of 113 in Panama City
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 113 in Panama City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#80 of 113 in Panama City
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
City House Soloy & Casino
City House Soloy & Casino
#94 of 113 in Panama City
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#98 of 113 in Panama City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Suites Hotel

Property: Bahia Suites Hotel
Address: 31 Street | Between Justo Arosamena & Cuba Ave., Panama City 23151, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have gym safes in every room free internet hot water security 24 Hotasa restauirante social area with pool-bar 24 hours laundry indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Suites Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing