We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far from the center, there are better places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Villa Michelle
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“far from the center, there are better places”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Goods:
- the green room at the bottom of the corridor is cool
- the garden and rancho are nice to have, kitchen available to guests

Bads:
- far from the malecon and casco viejo (old town)
- not easy to find, in a obscure small street
- sometime noisy, the owner is in the garden most of the time, and maybe loud music is playing
- a couple of rooms are really small (for the price you pay)
- no breakfast, hostel taxi pricey, no private bathroom and some other details

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We lived there with my husband for two weeks, and it was nice. At weekends there were huge parties, so it is not that silent place to be. Anyhow, I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emminuorgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2011

i spent four days at villa michelle and i thought the place was very nice for a hostel; clean, a nice kitchen, and a little pool too. the only complaint i would have would be for ALL of panama when getting directions; they give you directions to places not addresses ... if the taxi driver knows the place you want to go or a place near that place , then you will get there ... but give an address or ask for an address , well there you will run into trouble ... anyway because of this here are the GPS corrdinates to villa michelle (which should be put on the website for those who are finding it for the first time) N09 00.260 W079 30.304 My son & i were sight-seening and scuba diving in panama for eight days and stayed at three different hostels ... villa michelles was by far the very best one we stayed at ... and we were ready for a nice place by the time we got there. i would highly recomend villa michelle to anyone who enjoys staying at hostels rather than hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hostel claims to be a luxurious accommodation. This is far from the truth. It is also overpriced taking in consideration its location, the fact it does not provide any breakfast and quality of the accommodation. The hostel offers a pick up service from the airport for $35 which is overpriced too. Owner parties almost every night and advice provided is not accurate. We were told that buses to Bocas Del Toro leave every day, during day time the first bus is at 8:00am and then on the hour and there is also a night bus at 8:00pm. We got to Gran Bus Terminal for the 8:00am bus and there wasn't any. There weren't any buses on the hour either and had to wait for the 8:00pm bus (day lost in Panama Gran Bus Terminal).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Let me start out by saying that this hostel was very nice and clean, and the staff very helpful. The room we were in was very spacious and charming; the grounds well taken care of; and the pool was nice and well maintained. There was also a nice covered outdoor sitting area centered around the pool. The kitchen was nice and a great way to save money on meals. The in-door sitting area was also very homey and comfortable with a big-screen TV and books, etc. The bathrooms and shower are clean, large, and the water in the shower is hot with good pressure. The hostel is a bit out of the way, though, for people who are not already familiar with the city and this makes transportation around the city a bit expensive and difficult to obtain and sometimes harrowing because you are at the mercy of taxi drivers, many of whom seem to take advantage of Americans in order to make extra money. We had many terrible experiences because of it. This, of course, is not the fault of the hostel, but it did place a serious damper on our stay. Otherwise, the hostel is excellent. Instead of using taxis, I suggest trying to use the bus system if you are so inclined, which is very safe and has affordable standardized rates, though it can result in long waits and can be a bit daunting to navigate as an outsider unfamiliar with the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelandGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Ivonne is a warm and wonderful person who helped me out on a wide range of things and even arranged to have someone come over and repair my computer.

I love hanging out at the Rancho, a very pleasant place. The place is immaculate, Rollando is always on a tear, cleaning, cleaning, cleaning. My room, the former library is a treat, the walls and ceiling are Honduran mahogany and the walls are lined with wonderful shelves.

The cookware is very high quality and there is an awesome Brinkman stainless steel grill that I have been using for grilling with my fellow guests. A couple of guys live here and are very happy with the place.

The pool is cool and very clean and with two full sized refrigerators and only nine rooms there has always been plenty of place to put my food.

Between the moat structure on one side and the massive walls and gates and being in a very secure neighborhood I feel free to leave computers and cameras around in public areas while I go out to do some shopping.

The water pressure in the massive showers is the best I've seen in this country.

If my room had a private bath, this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 months. The rate was very fair for long term rental. We chose this place because of the number of amenities available: 2 fully equipped kitchens, two TV areas, small pool, plenty of rooms, and lots of people to hang out with. The house was cleaned every day, except Sunday). The location is farther than most "tourist" attractions, but we found it easy to get on a bus (or haggle with a taxi!). Our room was pleasant and large. We stayed in the front of the house which was more quiet than the back of the house. There were frequent all night parties, which could be fun if you wanted, or noisy if you didn't. However, I felt the owner was always approachable, and willing to turn down the music if asked. The owner and staff were willing to help us with anything, from explaining the city to me to helping me practice my Spanish. After staying here for 2 months I was sad to leave!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
2.1 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.0 mi away
San Roque Bed & Breakfast Panama
San Roque Bed & Breakfast Panama
#62 of 86 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Oasis PTY
Casa Oasis PTY
#20 of 111 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 111 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Villa Michelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Villa Michelle

Property: Hostel Villa Michelle
Address: 2 1/2 Sur, Panama City 87422, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Villa Michelle 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL VILLA MICHELLE is a luxuriously styled family operated as BED AND BREAKFAST self catering and can act as your personal TRAVEL TOUR GUIDE for your Vacation, Tourist destinations, Leisure and Shopping splendor.You can live in the heart of the city (with easy access to everything) and yet feel like you’re far removed from the hustle and bustle of the City. We are constantly rated by our guests/travelers as one of the best BED AND BREAKFASTS you'll ever find in Panama City for inexpensive accommodations with a home like peaceful, secure lively atmosphere.VILLA MICHELLE is not a B&B, a hostel, nor a hotel. We offer it to you as YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME, with a feeling unlike ANY hotel...because THIS IS A HOME. Beside your HOME, Hostel Villa Michelle is an ISLAND in Panama.OPEN LIVING AREAS (THE COMMONS):Hostel Villa Michelle offers 3 common Living areas, 5 Dining areas, a GUEST KITCHEN (2 fully equipped Kitchens if you choose to cook for yourself), a Barbecue Area with a large grill, 4 LUXURIOUS Italian tiled Bathrooms with on demand hot water. (The rooms do NOT have a PRIVATE bath, 3 rooms share one bath). Local Telephone service (sorry no international calls unless your using a pre-paid card) International Cable TV, Gated and locked 24 hour Security PerimeterPrivate secure parking area (FREE BIKE, AUTO or MOTORCYCLE parking)Remote Security Gate controller (for those guests in possession of a car rental needing parking)2 Entertainment Centers (the rooms do not have TV) A desktop PC Computer for your use (if you have no PC and need access for your email communications).Hostel Villa Michelle is a large, wonderful yet quaint garden terrace area where you may want to dine, cook or just relax and kick back with a glass of wine or local brands of beer, nestled amongst trees and a swiming pool for cooling off in on a hot day. Our reception is available 24 hr, meeting facilities and Airport pickup.Above all we pride ourselves on great PERSONAL service and tourist assistance to help you navigate and get to know our city/country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Villa Michelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Villa Michelle Hotel Panama City
Hostel Villa Michelle Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing