We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kiosks right outside the seafood market”

Mercado de Mariscos
Ranked #52 of 974 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Seafood plays a central role in Panama City dining—and no place captures it better than the Mercado de Mariscos. At this fish market, you’ll literally bump into fishermen carrying their catches and taking them to the many vendors inside. Be sure to order an affordable and super-fresh cup of ceviche on the first floor—or head to the super-casual but delicious sit-down seafood eatery upstairs.
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kiosks right outside the seafood market”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The food vendors right outside the entrance of the seafood market seemed to have organized and created a simple, but effective row of restaurants of local specialties at very moderate prices. No luxury dining here, just outdoors, with the boisterous sounds of music from each kiosk blasting, until one mercifully tones it off to enjoy real Panamanian food, with local and afroantillina influences. As crazy as it is, one must try it to experience a truly Panamanian experience. The rice flavored with coconut and pigeon peas, was just amazing, accompany with prawns in a creole sauce. My husband had a huge whole seabass (corvina) topped with a seafood sauce, with the coconut rice and ripe plaintain. I've never seen him enjoy his food that much, even though, he is not used to whole fish, but filet. The whole thing is a great experience and highly recommended. P.S. Don't forget the ceviche from the girl at the very first stand to the right as you enter the fish market. It's the best. And take a tour of the seafood market and enjoy the catch of the day, you might be surprised at what you find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shellsea05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    239
    105
    28
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ceviche and shrimp cocktail stands”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The fish market restaurant on the first floor is OK. Now, it seems to only be open until about 5:00. Depends on who has the franchise. But the real deal is to be found outside the main floor facing the parking area off the main road. Along the sidewalk are booths and stands where women sell freshly made shrimp cocktails. It is a terrific deal. They sell by the size of the carton, $5, $7, $10, etc. You sit at tables and eat or takeaway. They have beer and soft drinks. You are not going to get any fresher and they ceviche, etc., large shrimps, small shrimps. I have been in many countries on most of the continents. For fresh fish, Panama City is hard to beat and the best place in Panama City are those stands at the fish market.

Personally, I only eat ceviche in Peru or El Salvador. Though they are quite different, each get the spices right. Panama, Colombia and Venezuela have ceviche, but they don't get it right. In that department, Lima is the King. But for shrimp cocktail: Panama City fish market, outside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Love the food, it is really good, amazing price, you just need to get there early so you can get sitting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BecksterQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
214 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A real Panama experience, you will remember always.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This for one of the many cheviche stalls around the outside of the market. I consider this my best experience with chevichi. You get to choose your selection from the iced serving cart. Choose from about 15 selections. The server spoons up your selection from plastic jars into an overflowing 8 ounce Styrofoam cup.The price? $1.25 for the absolute best and freshest cheviche I have ever had.
Leave your hoity toity attitude somewhere else, and enjoy the authentic experience that can only come from being at a working fish market. I intend to return whenever possible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnDugue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I highly recommend this for a quick, cheap and delicious stop. If staying in Casco Viejo it is a moderate walk or a very quick cab ride. I think that they take the fish that does not sell to restaurants through the day and make fresh ceviche. There are many stands to choose from and they all looked great. I had a plate with five large langostinos, fried plantains and rice with 3 beers for $12. Note that it seems to be a very local kind of place with little english speakers but great off the beaten path if you like that kind of thing like we do.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtoakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercado de Mariscos also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Mercado de Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing