We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
2
3
16
13
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
3
16
13
27
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This is an old building in the embassy area of the city. Sn easy walk to the Cinta Costera and Ave. Balboa. The area is called Calidonia. It has a lot of inexpensive places to stay. I paid $30 and with a 1PM checkout you have time the next day to do some errands or sightseeing. The room is very basic and with no bad hotel art can appear a bit dismal. But everything worked except the two reading lights over the bed.and the place was clean. Tile bath (none missing) fluffy towels and an okay bed. I travel with my own micropellet pillow to assure myself a good sleep.
The small restaurant has good egg choices for $3.
The manager, Angel, was extremely helpful. I was confused about the payment since I used Booking.com. He explained the process of them collecting my ccard info just in case I was a no-show. I had booked before checking Tripadvisor and I am glad I did otherwise I wouldn't have picked this hotel. You get a free shuttle to and from the airport which is now $30 each way! I can say if I am laying overor coming into the city this is an economical choice.
Oh, Angel did say that repairs and renovations are ongoing so the lower floors may be a better choice. I stayed in 304.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sombaElVallePanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

No one available to assist, langauage only Spanish. interior rooms _No windows no shower head broken toliet seat sheets stained never changed pre-booked 3 days what a mistake. Town of DAVID much cleaner overall ; B&B Kabutz de Rita most helpful glad to be bac and scratch-off that neck - of - world

Room Tip: book only 1-nite ahead and Look at the Room before signing in
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERNARDO68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I had a 20 hour layover in Panama on my way to Ecuador. At the airport I saw a gentleman offering free shuttle service to hotel discovery and it was reasonably priced $27 compared to others that where $60+. The hotel is near the banking district. The rooms have AC and I was glad because right now its very humid and hot regardless the hour. I took opportunity and booked a tour of the panama canal from them and enjoyed my layover. Only thing is that there is no wifi, and I wouldnt recomend walking late at night around that area. Keep in mind, a taxi ride each way from airport to city is 30 bucks each way. Free shuttles

Room Tip: ask to be first floor. elevator to slow
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelidaIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here recently and for the price, it is a really great deal. The tv did not have good reception though and I could not work out why the airconditioning did not work the second night. The main switch is by reception and you have to make sure it is ON.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank MonoFelizPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Pros about the Hotel: This hotel offer you a nightly rate of $ 25.00 US per night once payed for in cash, if you book online the rate is much more. Hotel Discovery is located in a central location in Panama City close to Shopping Malls and the Financial Hub.Taxis to almost everywhere is easily accessible and cost between 2-3 dollars. The hotel also provides free daily transport to Albrook Mall and a free Airport Shuttle leaving the hotel (3) three times a day at 5.00am, 8.00am and 2.00pm. Free Wifi is available which has good signal. There is a nearby Park to indulge in Panamanian culture added to which local food vendors are just a block away.Multicentro Mall is also approximately (20) twenty minutes walk. In the unlikely case of a medical emergency there is a major hospital a block away....all in all in terms of location its great....the necessary precautions should be exercised just like anywhere else in the world, however Police Officers can be seen patrolling the streets at any given time.

Cons: The hotel staff dont speak English so if you cant speak the local languague then you may be in trouble. One staff member (Yvette) try to speak english, she really tries but she is not there all day.The hotel dont have a restaurant however they offer you coffee, juice and toast on a morning for breakfast.There is no room service or cleaning offered at this hotel,so if you staying there for (5) five days then you have the same sheet and towels for the duration of your stay. They dont have large towels so you'd have to use the (2) two small ones in the bath. The linens on the bed are simple,no blanket included depending on the room. AC in some rooms malfunction as I had to change rooms twice.The lighting in the rooms are also poor. Some of the bathrooms has no glass shower,they have some dingy looking plastic shower curtain.There is no panoramic view of the city from your room. If you're travelling solo and want company in your room... its not allowed.

In conclusion if you on a tight budget then this hotel would be fine for a night or two,if you can afford to pay more than go elsewhere.....Panama City offers you a lot of options.

PS: Thanx Yvette for your kind assistance in trying to speak English and guidance on places to visit and things to do whilst in Panama.

Andy
Trinidad.

Room Tip: Not a leisure hotel....okay to spend a night or two.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ASC_360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews