We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zulys has a New owner.”
Review of Hostal Casa Rica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Casa Rica
1 review
“Zulys has a New owner.”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Zulys has a new owner. The staff is entirely new. The place is friendly. The people is nice. Please consider Zulys as an alternative when you come to Panama city

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardorojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

this place is disgusting. the owners are rude and insulting although the fellow travelers were great and deserved more. i left after 2 nights and spent the rest of my time in this wonderful city at Hospedaje Casco Viejo - lovely staff, great location, fun and eclectic guests.
do not support zulys! be warned

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I know that when you are traveling on a budget, there are often few choices. Because of this, I ended up with Zuly's with some friends for a few days.

The good news is that the party area of Calle Uruguay is somewhat close, as are some casinos as well as a big grocery store "El Rey". So the location, overall, is decent.

The bad news? Zuly's is located at the dead end of a very dirty street filled with garbage and stray cats. The rooms are very worn out, shabby, with limited ammenities. The staff is okay, but one woman (maybe Zuly herself) barged into our room one day and started yelling at our group because we came with one more extra person than we had planned. We were fine with paying extra, but being scolded like a 5 year-old really raised our eyebrows.

There are other hostels in the area. If you must, just reserve one night here and then find somewhere else to hang your hat for your stay in Panama City.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central and South America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Zuly, the owner of this place, is a very rude and unhelpful person. She sent us off to San blas without telling us anything about it and when we got there, we realized we didnt have enough money. We worked things out with the islanders to pay at Zulys when we returned. With our money in hand to pay her, Zuly chastised us like little children about how if we had left,she would have had to pay. She was EXTREMELY RUDE, and made our normally super happy group extremely upset. The place itself is digustingly dirty, and the other staff member was really rude and unhelpful as well. I hope this place goes under soon so that no one accidentally has to end up in a hell hole like this. After over two months of travelling through Mexico and Guatemala, these are the worst conditions we have stayed in. PLEASE DO NOT GIVE THESE HORRIBLE PEOPLE ANY MORE BUSINESS!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurkeybackpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I stayed in Zulys in April 2009 for a couple of days and I must say that this plays is a very good option when you look for a Backpackers Hostel in Panama City. OK, the place is nothing fancy but it offers everything a Backpacker needs. I for example stayed in a dorm room with only 5 beds in it, it had aircon and it costs only $10 per night. When you take in account, that it is located in the safest (and probably priciest) neighborhood, I think this is good value for the money!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Firstly, I would just like to add that my girlfirend and I have been travelling for 3 months and have never felt compelled to write a negative review until now. We had booked this accommodation via internet and subsequent correspondance with Zuly´s to confirm the booking made us feel very positive about our selection. However, upon arrival and throughout our 2 nights stay we were made to feel very unwelcome. The owner (Zuly) is miserable and very temparemental. We put great emphasis on a warm and hospitable host in helping us settle in a new environment, the value we place on this often overlooks other negatives the accommodation may or may not have. The sour-faced zuly made us both feel very uncomfortable and wishing we had booked elsewhere. Our issues with the owner aside, the hostel has no redeeming features - rooms small, untidy and not cared for, living area very small and kitchen dirty. We are returning to Panama City in a couple of weeks and if this were the only accommodation available we´d rather sleep on the streets!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#42 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#41 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panama Studio Apartments
Panama Studio Apartments
#58 of 111 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zebulo Hostel
Zebulo Hostel
#12 of 111 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Rica

Property: Hostal Casa Rica
Address: Calle Ricardo Arias, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Rica Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing