We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, and good location”
Review of Toscana Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toscana Inn Hotel
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We have spent many nights in Panama City, and usually stay at a differnt hotel which happened to be booked for the nights we needed. After reading reviews here, we took a chance and were VERY happy that we did! The Check In staff were very kind and helpful and the room was clean. That is about all it takes to make me a happy customer! Add on a nice little restaurant right off the lobby, and coffee or hot tea available all day and night and you've got a very nice place to stay. Love that it's close to the casino! We would stay here again without any hesitation. Oh, and we had a relative with us who was visiting Panama for the first time, and she is 86! She was concerned about being in Panama and she found the Toscana Inn to be lovely and a great introduction to Panama.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank just...d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel. We do not enjoy BIG hotels in large cities ..this hotel is just the right size. The service is outstanding. Gretta..gets a big star along with other front desk staff to help. English is limited....but the effort is appreciated. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms and common areas clean. At first we were put off on the location but learned quickly that with construction in the city for the new subway...that this spot is not only safe but within walking distance (easy) to many really good restaurants. The hotel arranged a shuttle to pick us up at the airport ..which was a good idea as prices are all over the place for this service. We came to Panama to view why Americans would come to live in this country for retirement or winter get away homes. so..starting off in the City was a great way to start. We took a city tour that the hotel set up and it was fantastic. (open air bus).
Make sure when you hire a driver...that the driver speaks some English...and that the price is confirmed ahead of time in front of someone at the hotel desk.
Also confirm the night prior again with the driver...we had a problem with this and at the last minute had to take a driver out to the Valley on Sunday who later caused problems with payment and became very rude.
We learned a lot....the people of Panama are truly wonderful...the country is gorgeous and is most progressive. It was hot...but not as bad as we were told it would be. Again...we felt safe the entire trip..most important to us.

Room Tip: Gretta put us on the 6th floor. There is a nice terrace to go out and see the city lights from in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plumlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel was a great pick I found on TA. It was much less expensive than the big Casino or chain hotels and had everything we could have asked for. It is located in a nice part of the city only a block or two from the Veneto Casino (biggest in PC). The hotel itself is very nice and has large rooms with t.v, wi-fi, and good sized bathrooms. It was very clean and haD a nice roof top patio garden where we sat several nights and had drinks before dinner. The staff was vey helpful in arranging cabs, trips to the canal, and had some good tips on things to do and places to eat. Overall I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Panama City.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Loved our stay at the Toscana Inn Hotel in Panama City. The room we stayed in was very clean and had lots of space - refrigerator and comfortable bed. My husband and I weren't feeling well when we arrived in Panama and it was so nice having the coffee, tea, delivered to your room at no charge option! The location of the hotel was great - we walked to many restaurants and a supermarket was close by. Breakfast buffet was good (eggs, toast, fruit, and some Panama specialties. The staff was extremely helpful in getting taxis, arranging for pickups at airport and storing our bags for a few days while we journeyed in the jungle., We stayed another night when we returned and were upgraded to a lovely room. How nice not to have to spend your entire trip budget on a hotel - reasonable prices!!

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were quiet - one faced the front but didn't hear any street noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I very much enjoyed the Toscana Inn. We stayed their two nights after our 'rustic' stay up in San Blas (which was great also, but that's another review). The Toscana Inn is on par with any boutique hotel in the US. While decently priced for a good hotel, there are cheaper places around, but not with this level of quality (trust me we checked). The location is nice with lots of restaurant choices within walking distance.

The rooms are very nice, with big king beds and flat screen TVs. The staff is first rate, super friendly and talkative, and offering you water, coffee etc, as soon as you come in (regardless of whether you are staying there or not).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgb2cmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed only one night at this hotel in January. Since we arrived late from the airport, we did not spend much time in our room. It was nice to have free WiFi in the room. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. They called to reconfirm our flight from Albrook airport that morning. One note of warning is that the traffic in downtown Panama City can be horrible. Our "15 minute" transfer to Albrook airport took more like 50 minutes. Half that time was spent going 5 blocks. The breakfast in the morning was good with plenty of eggs, fruit, bacon and empanadas to choose from. If you want a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay in downtown Panama City, Toscana Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Toscana Inn is an excellent choice in Panama City. I've stayed there several times while in Panama on business. The hotel is very clean, well-maintained and the location is great. There are excellent restaurants in walking distance, several of my favorites are only steps away. Because the guest room floors are all tile, as usual in Panama, I found the room a wee bit noisy during the day. The breakfast is adequate, but not elaborate. The icing on the cake for this hotel is the staff. They are simply wonderful. I don't speak Spanish, and the first night I was there, I called for room service. The person answering the phone didn't speak English, but cheerfully connected me to the hotel manager who took my order and had it delivered within minutes! The front desk and lobby staff will greet you by name throughout your stay and offer any help. You will begin to feel like you're among old friends by the second day of your stay. I highly recommend this hotel when you visit Panama City for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattieRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 115 in Panama City
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 115 in Panama City
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#32 of 115 in Panama City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toscana Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toscana Inn Hotel

Address: Via Espana, Calle D, El Cangrejo, Panama City 0819-09389, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panama City
#1 Business Hotel in Panama City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £52 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toscana Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Panama City for business or a vacation getaway, we make all visits to Toscana Inn Hotel comfortable and relaxing with exceptional service, a welcoming staff, and beautifully appointed hotel suites. Perfectly located in Panama City's prestigious El Cangrejo district, Toscana Inn Hotel in Panama offers effortless access to everything you might want to see or do - from the sparkling beach to exclusive shopping, vibrant nightlife, fascinating cultural and historical sites, and more. Rated one of the best hotels in Panama by Trip Advisor, our focus is on the comfort of our guests and the quality and value of our rooms and services. Let Toscana Inn Hotel be your host in Panama City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Toscana Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toscana Hotel Panama City
Toscana Inn Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing