We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff, beautiful boutique hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Panama
Ranked #11 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, beautiful boutique hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a total of three nights spread out over 8 nights in
Panama. We used it as our "home base" as we spent nights in other locations. The staff was fantastic. Very helpful (I left my passports and iPad in a tour van (ugh!!) and they tracked them down and had them back at the hotel in <10 minutes. By our second night, most of the staff knew us by name.

Rooms were very nice, and location was great.

I am Starwood platinum member, so internet and breakfast were free, but I agree with all that charging $15 for internet access these days is petty silly (but oddly typical of most higher-end hotels). Breakfast buffet was good, and fast/efficient, which was a plus. Swimming pool was small and surprisingly cold, but was in a nice setting overall.

Overall, I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Mark M
It gives us great pleasure in reading excellent comments of the hotel, especially our Staff.
Thank you for your time and looking forward to your return visit to Le Meridien Panamá.
If you have any comment or doubt, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    236
    61
    17
    20
See reviews for
132
248
62
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien for 5 nights while visiting Panama. It is in the heart of the city and close to everything. If you like to walk to you make it to the old city in about a half hour, and the street just beside the hotel has a number of restaurants to pick from in short walking distance. The concierge at the hotel helped us out with a number of things from trips, tours and booking restaurants. Only downside is that the hotel pool is on the roof and only gets sunlight for about the first half of the day. So sitting up there is the afternoon with no sun (and cold pool) isn't great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellingTunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Derude
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback with us! I am glad that you enjoyed your experience in the hotel rooms view. Thanks again and looking forward to your return
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in a few Le Meridien in the past, both in North America and Asia (see my previous reviews of the one in Chiang Mai if you like). This one is way different than the others I stayed at. The rooms are much smaller, the pool resembles a tub rather than a real pool, and the price is just hilarious. The hotel is the first 6 floors of an apartment building. Well placed, across the street from Intercontinental, but a boutique hotel charging high end price - check the others in the same price range before booking.

The wifi is $15 per day and it is on and off. Annoying password screen pops up all the time... More of a menace in a city where the internet speed and quality are absolutely stunning...

The buffet breakfast is also like in a boutique hotel: limited.

The staff did their best to accommodate my stay. Only good words about them.

For half of the price Le Meridien Panama charges or less you can get a decent 5 star hotel in the city or for a few dollars more get a better experience. It depends on your budget and requirements.

I will not stay at this Le Meridien in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DemandingTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear DemandingTraveller7
We will share your comments with our staff.
We will also review our internet link and the breakfast menu; we appreciate your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was the first time I visted PTY and the experince was amazing; kind people all around, always willng to help.

Classy architecture, nice confortable spaces, fancy but cool, that black does give it a touch, clean and the breakfast at the business lounge, delicious.

The bad things I could see, due to the all-black mood, for people like me with a visual disability is difficult to move around, a bit dark I might say. When i got to my room there was a coffee maker but no coffee, I thought I had to buy it... I had to ask my business partner for one of his.

I didn't try neother the pool nor the spa, maybe next Marchm we'll see.

Room Tip: If the pocket's capable go for the Gold Suite, it's superb, have them put some spirits and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Dave
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property.
Thank you for all your compliments and hope to have you back in a near future
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Le Meridien is a great hotel in Panama City. The suites are spacious and well arranged. Service in the hotel restaurants is a bit better than average for the location. Price paid for the room is average for the location, however, the upgrade was complimentary with early check in at 0930. Great service!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guisum
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay. We hope to continue being your home away from home during your future visits and continue providing first class service to our guests. Come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We recommand this place for its location and comfort. Front desk staff speaks English which seemed to be difficult to find in Panama City... A special mention to Monica whom helped us find a trip to San Blas. She was very kind, professional and always smiling. We wish her great success in a career which we're sure will be really great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Winwin007
Thank you very much for your great comments on our hotel staff! We will share your feedback with our associates. Hopefully you can visit Le Meridien Panamá again in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The location of the hotel is very good if you have business in Panama City. The lobby is attractive, and the staff is very friendly and service-oriented. Most of the staff speak some English if required. Rooms are modern, large and clean, and many have a view of the water.

The breakfast buffet is included in the room - it is basic but the quality of the food was good. Service was very slow in the morning. I did not eat lunch or dinner in the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Many rooms have water views. My room was a "deluxe" king and was nice, with a good work d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property.
Thank you for all your compliments and hope to have you back in a near future
Happy Holidays
Boris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Panama

Property: Le Meridien Panama
Address: Calle Uruguay and Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Bay of Panama overlooking the old and new quarters of the city, we're bounded by charming restaurants and vibrant nightlife, all within a few minutes to the financial center and corporate offices. Our design is jaw-dropping. A double high ceiling lobby features an overturned glass pyramid reflecting vibrant colors, while a black granite lobby blends with golden accents, and a prominent 46 feet high atrium featuring lively glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Panama Hotel Panama City
Le Meridien Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing