We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Le Meridien Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Panama
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the Le Meridien Panama and it was the perfect home base to explore Panama. The staff was very helpful, one of the employees walked me all the way to the market because I couldn't find it. The sunrise/sunset view from the pool deck is breathtaking, but it was very windy. The sights of Panama were easily within reach via taxi and the hotel itself was close to restaurants and malls. You can start your day walking/running along the Bay of Panama.

Our first room was a handicapped accessible room, which normally isn't a problem, but this room had no bathroom door (for 3 females, this was uncomfortable). The hotel was completely booked for the night, but the front desk staff had no problem changing us the next day.

The breakfast buffet and omelet station started the day off just right. Not too lite and not heavy either.

Great stay overall!

Room Tip: Try and get a room looking out over the Bay. Otherwise you are just looking at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feelinbeachy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Feelinbeachy43
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for half a night because of a foul up at the airport and needed a place to rest before leaving at 3 a.m. The front desk was surly from the start. When i went with the bell boy to the room i noticed a nasty chemical smell and he told me it was from the sun coming in the windows (?). I asked to change rooms. The desk was not happy about it, but offered another room which also had a bad odor, at which point i noticed that the hallways also reeked. The bell boy now informed me that the carpet in the hotel is the problem. Because it was late, and we needed to get up early we decided not to change hotels. The food we ate in the bar was only ok. In the past we have stayed at the Bristol, the Marrriott, and the Intercontinental in Panama City. All are much nicer, and i believe in the same price bracket.
If you are sharing the room with someone you are not intimate with, be aware that the bathroom has a window that is semi-transparent into the sleeping area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patsydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Patsydog
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate your comments and I promise we will be working in those details to avoid that from happening in the future.

We hope you give us a new opportunity soon to show you what we have changed.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Le Meridien Panama during the last week of December. As a Starwood Platinum member, we were upgraded to a suite upon check-in. We were extremely pleased with the room as it included a ocean view, separate living room, large closet and bath tub jacuzzi.

I could go on and on about all of the good things that are being done right at this hotel, but I really wanted to bring attention to the outstanding customer service that we experienced from everyone from at the hotel whether it be the doorman, front desk, bell hop and/or breakfast attendant.

Although our stay was close to perfect, I did want to note that the pool hotel is extremely small and that the housekeeping was slow with turning around our room everyday.

At the end of the day, I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially at it's price point.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tejan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Tejan 96
Thank you very much for your great comments on our hotel and the hotel staff! We will share your feedback with our associates. Hopefully you can visit Le Meridien Panamá again in the near future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If for no other reason go to Panama just to see and travel through the locks of the Panama Canal one of the wonders of the world and eat delicious seafood. The restaurants are amazing and one in particular was lovely and very old world syphiciated.

Room Tip: Room over looking the ocean was lovely..nice modern bathrooms...and large bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanTpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear JeanTpa
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback with us!. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience in the hotel restaurant
Thanks again and looking forward to your return
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here a total of three nights spread out over 8 nights in
Panama. We used it as our "home base" as we spent nights in other locations. The staff was fantastic. Very helpful (I left my passports and iPad in a tour van (ugh!!) and they tracked them down and had them back at the hotel in <10 minutes. By our second night, most of the staff knew us by name.

Rooms were very nice, and location was great.

I am Starwood platinum member, so internet and breakfast were free, but I agree with all that charging $15 for internet access these days is petty silly (but oddly typical of most higher-end hotels). Breakfast buffet was good, and fast/efficient, which was a plus. Swimming pool was small and surprisingly cold, but was in a nice setting overall.

Overall, I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Mark M
It gives us great pleasure in reading excellent comments of the hotel, especially our Staff.
Thank you for your time and looking forward to your return visit to Le Meridien Panamá.
If you have any comment or doubt, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien for 5 nights while visiting Panama. It is in the heart of the city and close to everything. If you like to walk to you make it to the old city in about a half hour, and the street just beside the hotel has a number of restaurants to pick from in short walking distance. The concierge at the hotel helped us out with a number of things from trips, tours and booking restaurants. Only downside is that the hotel pool is on the roof and only gets sunlight for about the first half of the day. So sitting up there is the afternoon with no sun (and cold pool) isn't great.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheTravellingTunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Derude
Thank you for posting this review and sharing your feedback with us! I am glad that you enjoyed your experience in the hotel rooms view. Thanks again and looking forward to your return
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in a few Le Meridien in the past, both in North America and Asia (see my previous reviews of the one in Chiang Mai if you like). This one is way different than the others I stayed at. The rooms are much smaller, the pool resembles a tub rather than a real pool, and the price is just hilarious. The hotel is the first 6 floors of an apartment building. Well placed, across the street from Intercontinental, but a boutique hotel charging high end price - check the others in the same price range before booking.

The wifi is $15 per day and it is on and off. Annoying password screen pops up all the time... More of a menace in a city where the internet speed and quality are absolutely stunning...

The buffet breakfast is also like in a boutique hotel: limited.

The staff did their best to accommodate my stay. Only good words about them.

For half of the price Le Meridien Panama charges or less you can get a decent 5 star hotel in the city or for a few dollars more get a better experience. It depends on your budget and requirements.

I will not stay at this Le Meridien in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DemandingTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear DemandingTraveller7
We will share your comments with our staff.
We will also review our internet link and the breakfast menu; we appreciate your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,323 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.7 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Panama

Address: Calle Uruguay and Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £85 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Bay of Panama overlooking the old and new quarters of the city, we're bounded by charming restaurants and vibrant nightlife, all within a few minutes to the financial center and corporate offices. Our design is jaw-dropping. A double high ceiling lobby features an overturned glass pyramid reflecting vibrant colors, while a black granite lobby blends with golden accents, and a prominent 46 feet high atrium featuring lively glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Panama Hotel Panama City
Le Meridien Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing