We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
San Jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I booked this place online not knowing what i was in for. i just knew that the causeway was a good place to stay not so far away from the city, but at the same time a place that felt as if u were far away as well. my first impression of the hotel from the outside was hmmm...... i don't know. but afterwards we went in checked ourselves in and wow was I in for a surprise. as soon as the door opened i saw a huge room with a really comfortable bed. the i reached out to the glass door and opened it up and saw the view that it had, in my case, to the city. it was dark already so the city was all lights at the time. i just had to sit down and have a balboa right there and then. myself and my family stayed for a whole week, and got to walk the causeway it was really fun you have many restaurants to choose from on a walking distance, and the convenience store is just really close by. as i stated before i booked online and got a really nice deal on the price for my stay. compared to other hotels on the same price range this is a really good one. go for it if you have the chance. amador ocean view, I hope to visit you soon again. honestly if you as a traveler want to ask me more of this hotel, just write me, i'll tell you really good things about it. and yes the pool is small, but it works. a quick dip on the pool and you are ready. on my stay i spent some time there, and there was no one else there. so, yes small pool but none uses it, so it your own private small pool with a view to the main road. cool. so buy some balboas, stay in your room enjoy the view, or go to the pool (small one.....) and refresh yourself, it is a really special place. go for it, i know i will do so soon again.

Room Tip: you can request either to have balcony view to the city (and parking lot) or the canal (main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Located away from the hustle and bustle of the causeway. Large clean rooms, friendly staff, but speak limited english. Close to restuarants. Pool is micky mouse, more for soaking not for swimming. Do not use Shower facilities by pool, electric wiring is exposed in these showers!.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Amador Ocean View is out on Isla Perico, away from the city, but with views of the skyline across the bay. It's located in the midst of several restaurants and shops in a strip mall like setting, so if you don't want to go far for a meal, there are several choices nearby. Our room was nicely set up and decorated, though showing some signs of wear. One oddity was the bathroom setup - one light switch lit both the sink area and the toilet/shower located behind a door - and there was no door to the sink area. However, no big deal.

The front desk help was pleasant, but not able to assist with questions about transportation. Our friends had told us an unmarked minivan cruises the road out front, and can carry people into the city for $1.00, but the front desk people seemed not to know about this. Cabs are fairly inexpensive, but unless you know how to negotiate with them, you may get charged more than you should.

Check in and out was easy; there is a computer right by the front desk and can be used by hotel guests. Even though Amador is located in the strip mall, and there is a seemingly endless stream of cars and motorcycles going by, our room was not affected by any of the noise. A nearby attraction is the Smithsonian Nature Center, where you can see fish, starfish, anemones, stingrays and a moray eel up close. There is also a boat to Taboga Island close to the Nature Center, which makes for a nice day trip.

If you stay at Amador Ocean View, be sure to go to Mambo's Cuban Cafe located nearby - the food and service was great, and the band provides fine entertainment, particularly if you like to dance salsa, cumbia and merengue.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrotheadnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is an odd hotel but, frankly, is a good value. In it's day I would guess that this was a very-nice high-end hotel. Since then though it's sort of gotten lost amid a high-end residential development and I don't know if a new company has taken it over that doesn't have a lot of money or is still getting set up or what but there are some odd things falling through the management cracks. For instance: the key to the room, it was just a blank card and the concierge wrote the room number on a piece of paper and taped it to the back of the card. There weren't a lot of amenities in the room and it sorta seemed like the place just hasn't had someone paying very close attention. Nonetheless, the rooms are very big, bright and comfortable and the views of the city and the bay are fantastic. The young front desk staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and spoke English. We paid $130 a night for a "Jr. Suite" with two queen beds and a big patio overlooking the bay. during Carnival. The linens are a little worn but they were much higher quality than what you find in most hotels and the pillows were the only ones in the entire country of Panama that didn't seem to be made from cardboard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the bay and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way home from Colombia. It was in a quiet area, but with easy access to the old city and to the Panama Canal. There are many good restaurants nearby, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogpog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This probably isn't someplace you'd want to stay for a long-term trip. But after traveling around Panama, we found it a great alternative to busy downtown Panama City for our last night before flying home. The hotel is on the long causeway from Panama City, with great sidewalks for walking and bike riding. Also, lots of good restaurants are within easy walking distance. One side of the hotel looks out over a parking lot to the entrance of the Panama Canal. Be sure to ask for the other side, with great views over the water of the Panama City skyline. We had some hot-water issues in our room. The staff could not have been more accommodating and even gave us a discount on our room rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deebee29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Most what was written in previous reviews is still valid in 2010. We stayed in the Amador Ocean View for a long weekend in September and found it a very quiete place at this time of the year. The place is ideal location for anybody wanting to discover the city prior or after adventuring the rest of the country.

Our room was clean and spacious. Maybe the quality of workmanship on bathroom and the whole building is not as perfect as used from European hotels in this price range. But at least US standard is met. 130US, seem little overpriced for the type of hotel quality and are definitely related to the location. In the end it was however surprisingly cheaper then first quoted and the magnificent view out the window from bed, wipes out all worry. Having the Pacific ocean and entrance of the Panama channel right in front of balcony was great.

First we got assigned to a room on other side towards the city. But the noise of exhausts from the kitchen area outside the window was horrible and thankfully the friendly staff offered us room on other side, which was then lot more calm and even got the better view. As written in previous review, also we had problems with WiFi and add-hoc function of device not working. However, the staff was very friendly and tried helping. Using traditional LAN cable helped in the end to assign our laptop to the network.

Little disappointing was the provide breakfast. It seemed we were almost the only guests, enjoying our toast and eggs in the icecold breakfast room. Also the pool and outside sitting area seemed lonely and like the last guest have left long time ago. I guess is all related to the low season factor. A little fresh colour on walls, some more people and flowers around would fresh up the whole place.

Despite these little downsides, I would any time stay there again and say thank you for a nice weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportgebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plaza Paitilla Inn
Plaza Paitilla Inn
#39 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites

Property: Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites
Address: Isla Perico, Amador Causeway | Brisas de Amador Center, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location and the only hotel in Amador Causeway, you can view the entrance to the Panama Canal and to the City. Next to a Marina and to many tourist attractions, restaurants, duty-free shops, shopping centers. The rooms of the hotel are all ocean view and they allow the visitor the peaceful surroundings and views, but still very near the city, easy access to main natural attractions by the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amador Ocean View Hotel Panama City
Amador Ocean View Hotel And Suites
Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing