We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites
Ranked #96 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The location of the hotel on the Causeway was convenient, However, the hotel does not live up to the facilities stated on its website and the photos that are included on the same website do not depict the actual scenes that I saw. It also was good that we got a ride to the hotel, the entrance to the hotel is from the parking lot area and not the Causeway, although if you are driving on the Causeway you would certainly think otherwise. Also, if you come back to the hotel from dinner, after dark, it can be a little bit intimidating if you are walking since it is not well lighted in all areas.

I was traveling with a friend and we had planned to stay for 4 nights in late January. This was the 2nd place that we were staying at in Panama and I was looking forward to staying on the Causeway. While checking in we were asked if we wanted the city view or the view facing the Marina and we chose the city view. There is an elevator that takes you to the upper floor so you don't have to carry your luggage. The room was decorated in white and aqua and seemed fairly spacious and cheery and the balcony indeed did have a lovely view of the city. But it also overlooked a parking lot with a number cars that looked junked and abandoned.

After settling in I looked for the safe deposit box and also the hairdryer that when I booked the hotel said that a hairdryer was available. What was not explained is that the safe deposit box is a square box mounted on the wall of the closet and has a key, not a combination lock and that to get the key and the hairdryer from the front desk a $5.00 deposit is required for each item which will be returned when checking out.

In the bathroom there was one very small towel rack that would only hold a hand towel and another towel rack on the glass shower door. There weren't any hooks to the wall to hang any towels so If 2 people are sharing the room the towels must either be left on the bathroom sink or thrown over the shower rod. There were only a few hangers for 2 people so hanging the towels in the closet didn't work. Also, when you wanted to take a shower, the ventilator in the bathroom made a huge racket, it was almost deafening.

Wi-fi was easy to use but it didn't always work if you wanted to sit on the balcony and just relax. If in the evening you wanted to read it was either all the overhead lights were on, they could not be adjusted, or a long, narrow light hanging from the ceiling between the beds that had insufficient light to read by.

Later, I went looking for the swimming pool and was very surprised that it did not match any of the photos on their website, it says it is a swimming pool but it looks more like a wading pool. Also, there weren't any chaise lounges spread around the "pool", they were stacked up one on top of the other and not very close to the pool. When I went to look at the washroom facilities and the shower area I was appalled at the condition both of these rooms were in. I couldn't tell if they were usable, I didn't dare turn on the water in the shower since there were exposed wires just above the shower head. In the washroom, which looked filthy, the paper towel dispenser was broken and the paint was peeling from the ceiling.

Continental breakfast was included, a small glass of orange juice, toast was just bought to the table already done so it wash't hot and it was also the smallest slice of toast I'd seen, however, the coffee was acceptable.

The hotel didn't have many staff at the front desk, sometimes there were 2 people but most often just 1 person and they seemed to be there whenever we left the hotel to go on a tour and were still there late in the afternoon.

We only stayed 3 nights at the hotel, the Ironman was taking place on the last day we were at the hotel and we didn't want to get stuck on the Causeway. However, I wasn't disappointed that we had to leave. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the city view side, sometimes there are fireworks in the city which can be seen from your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
25
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
210 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The room was clean, the view from the causeway balcony great but facility problems kept appearing. 1st rm air conditioning didn't work, rm key did not work half the time, one chair on balcony of suite. In each case the staff was very helpful in solving problem but it would be good to not have problem in the 1st place. The breakfast was as minimal as possible.

All that being said, the causeway was great area to stay in. It was good to be away from the noise of the city, It's a wonderful area to stroll in and the views are great.

Room Tip: Get a rm facing the causeway. The view toward the city overlooks a large parking lot 1st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 662marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in late January. The room was spacious and clean but there are no towel racks in bathroom and no hot water for showers, on two occasions. The view of the city is very nice, especially at night. The breakfast that was promised was coffee, two pieces of dry toast and small orange juice. The chairs in the outdoor dining area were soiled and the both the indoor and outdoor area were dark and not inviting. The pool is a wading pool and there were never any chairs or chaise lounges set up, just stacked in a corner. The bathroom near the pool was very dirty and wiring was exposed above the shower. The hotel is not well maintained, areas where patchwork on the walls have not been painted, air conditioner was so rusty that pieces of rust fell on the balcony. The parking lot has several "junker" cars, covered with plastic tarps. When we asked about making local calls from our room, we were told we could not and that we would have to buy a calling card from the Mini Mart next door.
Upon check out, my friend and I had requested the bill be split between the two of us. This seemed to cause much confusion and took an hour to complete. We really enjoyed being on the Causeway but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room on the Causeway side, lots of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camerateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

At first i thought i was maybe just being a bit of a girl thinking, on arrival, that it's the little things that can make a difference (nice toiletries in the bathroom, coat-hangers and a hairdryer in your room, a duvet cover, being given the wifi code at check-in, batteries in the aircon remote control, a lightswitch by your bed - all non existent here!) but add to that dirty (&stained!) towels, marks on the bedsheets,the room smelling like an ashtray/smoker's paradise and loud music from the bar/restaurant and road downstairs keeping you awake all night...and no, I don't think i'm just being fussy..it's not like this is a hostal or a really cheap rate...it's really not great at all and the staff just don't seem to care either...
Also, a coffee, juice and one slice of toast does not constitute a breakfast to me even if it is free/included in the rate..
You can find (MUCH) better for your money in panama city- the hardrock which id rated as "too cool for school" is now looking like where ill check in to tomorrow to escape this nightmare..(and it's not just me - im here with two other friends who are experiencing the same as well as cold showers and broken air con units)...

Room Tip: IF you still plan to stay here (i wouldn't recommend) expect hostal standard with a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in late January 2013. The room was clean and spacey. The two biggest issues were, the front desk, who called the evening of our last stay and asked us to pay for the room even though we were planning on having breakfast before checking out and the lack of hot water if you shower after 7:00 AM.

With all the selection in Panama City it is unlikely we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick the back side if possible to keep away from the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanPanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
471 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The views from the Ocean side of this Hotel are great, but be warned that street traffic along the causeway, especially on weekend nights can be horrendous. The parking lot and reception desk for this hotel is extremely tricky to find late at night, and the area is not well lit. It is on the back side of the building.
We were two couples traveling together. The other couple had requested a King bed and were given a Queen that had not been cleaned. Since we got the King, we switched with them at 1AM in the morning. Neither room had the view that we had requested and paid additionally for, so we had to move once again the next day. Many things about this hotel just don't work properly. For example, if you want to make a local call, you have to call the front desk, give them the number, have them place the call, and then transfer it to you. Computer in lobby could not be used to print out boarding passes, because they ran out of ink and were waiting for a new cartridge.
We were told that we would be given a free night when we had problems checking in, but when we tried to verify that with the front desk, we were told that no, we were being offered an extra night,. Not the same thing, nor anything that we could use. Finally they agreed to a rebate of one night.
Hotel is not well maintained. Paint on door handles and on leather headboard, cracked tiles on sloping floors.
Hotel "Manager" is a no-show. She never once came out to speak with us, or others who were having trouble. When we asked to speak with her, the front desk clerk just rolled his eyes.
Take your chances with this hotel if a good price is most important to you. The room we ended up with was acceptable but, if you are not able to argue with them in Spanish as I was, when there is a problem then you might not get satisfaction.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Amador Ocean View is a hotel past it's prime, but it still delivers a quality stay with a great location and comfortable accommodations. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the causeway nearby is a delight!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plaza Paitilla Inn
Plaza Paitilla Inn
#40 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#56 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites

Property: Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites
Address: Isla Perico, Amador Causeway | Brisas de Amador Center, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location and the only hotel in Amador Causeway, you can view the entrance to the Panama Canal and to the City. Next to a Marina and to many tourist attractions, restaurants, duty-free shops, shopping centers. The rooms of the hotel are all ocean view and they allow the visitor the peaceful surroundings and views, but still very near the city, easy access to main natural attractions by the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amador Ocean View Hotel Panama City
Amador Ocean View Hotel And Suites
Amador Ocean View Hotel & Suites Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing