We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every plate outstanding!”
Review of Maito

Maito
Ranked #38 of 1,018 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: US$15 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Every plate outstanding!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This meal was the highlight of our culinary experiences in Panama City. Our group of four friends ordered a variety of appetizers and entrees, and we all enjoyed our own as well as each other's selections! The calamari with squid ink risotto ranks at the top of remarkable entrees that I can remember in the past several years - delicious and unique!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    123
    56
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this Restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The whole experience was perfect. I went with friends to celebrate my birthday. The ambiance, service and food were all top notch. The appetizers are small, and we ordered several of them two and three times. We grazed all evening, and it was absolutely perfect. The eggplant with feta cheese was the clear winner of the evening... we ordered it 4 times!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WineMavenPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama city, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Menu degustation... didn't manage to pull it off”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went with a group of 8 or so and we were talked into the Panama tasting menu. Not bad but just couldn't quite make it work; too many gaps and food was no longer warm on arrival. Nice garden setting and the weather was cooperating too. May go back again to try something off the main menu just in case they can do better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun local place”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Food was great, service was well done. Try the octopus. A little hard to find, but I was well taken care of once I arrived.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Has moved to the top for us in Panama City”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The first time we went to Maito's we were disappointed with the food we had, we have been a few times since and I must say, one bad experience can easily been forgotten.
We yet have to try the dinner menu as we tend to go for a long leasurely lunch.... make sure you book in advance, lunch is packed.
Again, the wines and champagne are very reasonably priced.... and the selection is quite good.
The waiters are very attentive, but only there when you need them.
The entrees are fresh and delicious..... I loved the Spicy Tuna....
Try the baby backribs. They are cooked to perfection, the meat melting off the bones when you touch it!
The location is easy to find, and a nice ambiance awaits.
Quality/price very good.
This has moved into first place for us in Panama City, followed by 1985!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maito also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Maito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing