We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Tour”
Review of Canal & Bay Tours

Canal & Bay Tours
Ranked #66 of 180 Tours in Panama City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It does not matter if you do the Full or the Partial transit of the Panama Canal you still would have to check off #5 from the list of 100 Journeys of a Lifetime by National Geographic. Canal and Bay Tours has been offering both transits for over 12 years and we are committed in assisting you to create a memorable experience. Both transits are an all-day affair with breakfast, lunch, and non-alcoholic refreshments included. Your once in a lifetime experience of transiting the Panama Canal begins with check in at the Playita de Amador and boarding one of our three vessels; Tuira II, Fantasia del Mar, or Isla Morada. Aboard our vessel you be on the Pacific Ocean and will pass under the Bridge of the Americas, through the Mira Flores and Pedro Miguel Locks, beneath the Centenario Bridge, through Culebra Cut, and ending in Gatun Lake which was the largest man-made lake in the world. You will also observe the construction of the second set of locks otherwise known as the Expansion of the Panama Canal.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The tour was delayed for about an hour, but that was due to the Canal Authority and not the fault of the tour operator. After an hour drive to Gamboa, we boarded a boat, and the tour commenced. The tour itself was interesting and fascinating to see how the different locks work. Admittedly, it could get a little dull since a lot of the time is waiting for ships to arrive and water levels to drop, but it is interesting to see how the canal operates.

Thank The_Traveling_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene C, Marketing Manager at Canal & Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

¡We are glad to hear that you had a great experience throughout our tour! We are working everyday to develop a better and more entertaining tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"partial transit"
in 29 reviews
"african queen"
in 4 reviews
"juan carlos"
in 5 reviews
"half transit"
in 5 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 6 reviews
"low priority"
in 2 reviews
"partial tour"
in 4 reviews
"hat and sunscreen"
in 2 reviews
"amador causeway"
in 6 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 5 reviews
"centennial bridge"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 4 reviews
"engineering marvel"
in 4 reviews
"hour trip"
in 2 reviews
"gatun locks"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Having read reviews beforehand I opted to book this tour from the cruise ship we were travelling on.
We were picked up from the Cruise Terminal and taken by coach to Gamboa to a small dock where we boarded our ferry: "Fantasia Del Mar." Our original plan was to take the train but this trip was cancelled and I am so glad it was, as the trip on the canal was amazing. I really don't think that you can fully appreciate this engineering marvel without, at least, a partial navigation of the canal itself. Our trip took us through what is probably the most interesting section of the canal. The voyage takes you through the Continental Divide, passing under the Centennial Bridge, and on to the Pedro Miguel lock which takes you down into the Miraflores Lake. Upon reaching the end of the Lake you descend, through a two step lock, to the level of the Pacific Ocean. The ferry then continues towards the Pacific along the way passing underneath the historic Las Americas Bridge and on past the Amador Causeway, at the end of which you alight the boat. You cannot help but notice the formidable skyscrapers that fill the skyline over Panama City. Having boarded the coach you are then driven towards the City, where you skirt the edge of it, as you return to your start point. Throughout the tour, on both coach and ferry, the tour guides are very knowledgeable and provide an excellent commentary and are happy to answer any questions that are posed. Lunch is provided on the boat together with an endless supply of soft drinks. This is a truly fantastic tour and you will be overcome with amazement as you traverse the canal and the environs that surround it.

1  Thank AlexanderNL1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene C, Marketing Manager at Canal & Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

¡We are glad to hear that you had a great experience throughout our tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We went to the check-in at Amador, boarded a comfortable bus for the 1 hour trip to Gamboa at the canal's midpoint, where we boarded the launch. I have been through the canal before but I was taking a couple through for their first time. This is an amazing experience, even for someone on a repeat transit. The scale of the project, the size of the locks, the age and endurance of the equipment, and the pride of the workers is something that simply is astounding.

The cost of the tour is worth it. What they don't tell you is that the tour boat, like every other ship, is paying a transit fee, and requires a canal pilot. There was a hot lunch served (included), transportation to and from our hotel (included), soda and water (included), and a guide who was great with his knowledge of the canal, the history, and the people. The tour is slightly expensive, but considering what's included, well worth it.

Canal & Bay Tours were very professional in their operation. This is a very good outfit and they do what they say they will do. My advice -- book a transit with them and then sit back and enjoy the fantastic experience.

1  Thank JoeW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene C, Manager at Canal & Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

¡We are glad to hear that you had a great experience throughout our tour!
Best regards,

René Carrizo - Marketing Manager
Canal & Bay Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We did the 1/2 transit, which was plenty of time for us. They picked us up and returned us to our hotel. They had a nice lunch on board and a great guide! He was funny and VERY informative. This is a really nice way to experience the locks and canal. There is covered seating which is nice when we in the locks and it got a little hot! They have plenty of water and juices to drink. I recommend sunscreen as you will be moving around taking pictures.

Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene C, Marketing Manager at Canal & Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

¡We are glad to hear that you had a great experience throughout our tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The partial transit cruise was very interesting, and we enjoyed most of it, although I’m not sure it was worth $150 each. The mediocre review is because of the end. JC, the cruise director, did not ride on the bus to return travelers to their hotel, to the objection of the bus driver who knew no English. After about an hour riding through the city streets, people started to get concerned and tried to talk to him. No one knew enough Spanish to understand what he was saying, he got frustrated, stopped the bus and motioned for us all to get off the bus. Fortunately we had a phone with Google maps and were able to find our way (about 12 blocks) back to the hotel.

1  Thank Abell2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene C, Marketing Manager at Canal & Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your feedback about your last trip with Canal & Bay Tours, we will use it to improve our services.
In the name of the whole boat staff we apologize for the problems related to the service and your trip.

We will take your review in consideration and take actions to solve this issue.

Best regards,

René Carrizo
Marketing Manager
Canal & Bay Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canal & Bay Tours also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Canal & Bay Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing