We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but with a couple quibbles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Galveston,TX USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great but with a couple quibbles”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Alyce was indeed a very good host, the breakfasts were superb and the location is safe and convenient for the Casco Viejo area - near the Presidental Palace, good restaurants and the fish market a couple blocks away. The quibbles: We had street level rooms. Street urchins were a constant evening presence outside our street exit door, talking, leaning against our door. Our bedroom opened into the quadrangle so by closing our bedroom door the sound level was manageable but only by turning up the TV could you drown out the street noise. The property is old and quaint. What isn't quaint is the Ikea like low end press board dressers with drawers that didn't work. The room safe was locked. Repeated requests to get it opened were always cheerfully acknowledged with a promise to have Tomas take care of it; six days and it never did get opened. Speaking of Tomas, the driver and handyman, we were so impressed and grateful on our arrival when Alyce had him take us to a USA style supermarket to stock our kitchens. He drove us there and waited while we shopped - $6 per couple, very reasonable. However we were shocked at the $50 price to take us to the ferry. A trip the locals assured us would be a fourth of that price. On top of that the car broke down in the area adjacent to Casco Viejo where you are warned to never walk and the taxis roll up their windows as they speed through. We quit using Tomas and hired another local driver. Casa Sucre is still recommended but do know that there are differences in the quality of the rooms and ASK for details on any arrangements made for you.

Room Tip: The street access rooms are noisy but have full kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
79
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I decided to take our kids, ages 8 and 14, on an adventure for spring break. So while their friends lounged on a Mexican resort beach or stood in lines at Disney world, we headed for a cultural experience filled with adventure, nature, history, and yes, great beaches.
Alyce at casa sucre was the ideal host as we began our journey. She lined up a private guide/driver who met us at the airport and whisked us past the thrilling skyline of modern panama cit to Casco Viejo, the old colonial city located across the bay. Located on a narrow peninsula, walks down narrow streets often lead to amazing scenes of ultra modern skyscrapers framed by the 100 year old buildings in the neighborhood.
Casa Sucre was in the ideal location to enjoy and explore. Our guide picked us up after the amazing breakfast alyce and her lovely mother served us, to give us a great tour of the lock and city. Part of any panama city tour includes the old city, and we were staying right In the heart of it. We walked the narrow streets with our kids feeling safe, and mesmerized by the overwhelming display of architecture, poverty cohabitating amongst gentrification, and history. Great restaurants were within walking distance, alyce recommended and pointed us in the right direction out the front door.
Our room was perfect, they have an apartment at street level with a quiet courtyard. Our son used the pull out couch, and the four of us were comfortable.
Our guide also lined up a private boat ride to see monkeys and zip along part of the canal in a fishing boat. Amazing experience to drive past giant freighters, the kids loved it.
Go to panama, and stay with lovely alyce. Then head to the small airport and take a short flight to bocas del toro..... Nothing "all inclusive" about this trip...... And that's a good thing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed ther a night before head to costs rica. So we want to stay near casco viejo. It was the best valued place for us. Owner was.very kind and helpful. Also, casa sucre is near main square, sight seeings and more squares. Most of all, it is a very safe place due to proximate from the presidential palace, many polices around. However, if you don't know the casco viejo, it can be little dangerous, not life threatened but being mugged especially after sunset. Only one thing you need to be aware is that across from the hotel, here is a new trendy hotel called Tantalo. They have a open roof top bar and you can imagine what will follow. If you are sensitive in things like that, sucre is not the place. Yet it was a entertain for us to see how the local riches are hanging out. I would stay again if I visit panama next time. Location and its value are our strong consideration.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefminkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent our first two nights in Panama with Alyce and if there is a more gracious hostess anywhere I'd like to meet them. The hotel is beautiful, located in the heart of Casco Viejo. The rooms are all beautiful, well decorated, and unique, the breakfast excellent. The only caveat is for noise from the outside. We stayed in the Panama Room and it could use some extra soudproofing. The rooms that did not front the street were fine. Casco Viejo is the area to stay when visiting Panama City and Casa Sucre is certainly the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosegrwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay. Rich and Alyce were so accommodating for our big group of 11 people. We stayed in two units that could sleep 5-7 per unit. We arrived quite late (11pm) and Alyce was there to great us with a warm smile, and she even arranged a multi-course family style dinner for us at near-by Rene's (highly recommend!). We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip, and she was equally gracious on our return. Both times she got up at ungodly (5am!) hours to cook us beautiful breakfasts of eggs, fresh fruit, sausage or bacon, toast, coffee, etc. DESPITE having been up late with us the night before. A truly wonderful host! Rich was in the US but greeted us over Skype. Overall, a great stay with well appointed rooms and fantastic hosts in the center of Casco Viejo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This bed and breakfast is located in a beautifully renovated building in the historic neighborhood of Panama City. Several nice restaurants and bars are located within walking distance. Each room is unique, but all are impeccably decorated and furnished with everything one needs for a stay. Alice is a gracious host who makes guests feel at home even in difficult circumstances. The breakfasts are not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernaodemagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Casa Sucre for one night when we arrived in Panama, the rest of our trip was spent in Bocas.

The place was a little difficult to find in the taxi, there aren't many signs and numbers can't always be found on buildings. That just added to the charm of Casa Viejo and I'm glad we choose this area of the city.

The second floor of the B&B leads onto a sitting area with a large breakfast table and a separate kitchen. From the sitting room you can see the outdoor patio below and three (or four) doors leading to guest bedrooms. This makes for an open, communal type living area and is separate to the apartment.

We stayed in the Panama Room, a small, clean corner room with two separate doors leading to the shared terrace balcony. It was nice, although I was a little worried about paying in full in advance and about the reviews with the noise there was no problem. There is definitely noise but nothing that kept us awake, although I have a feeling this could change quickly depending on the day.

Alyce was very welcoming and helpful. She insisted on waking up very early to make sure we had breakfast before our flight. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 113 in Panama City
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#39 of 113 in Panama City
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#33 of 113 in Panama City
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 113 in Panama City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest Hospitality in the Middle of the Americas and a Home Cooked Breakfast to Start Your Day! Located in the historic Casco Viejo neighborhood of San Felipe, Panama, Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel is a renovated 1873 five bedroom three apartment guest house for those visiting our historic city. With its unique architectural history, picturesque buildings, cathedrals and churches, ruins, museums, varied and diverse cultures, and gourmet restaurants, guests of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel will have the best of the city waiting just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing