We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming and Friendly”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Like so many hotels that are converted from old buildings this one is more charming than comfortable. Our beds were up a flight of step, narrow stairs with the bathroom downstairs. The space was generous with a kitchen that would have been nice if we were staying longer. Whatever the place lacked in comfort was made up by the friendliness of the American owner. We were leaving before breakfast the following morning and he made sure we had muffins, granola and yogurt in our frig so we could have a bite to eat before catching our plane home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
79
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was pleased with this location, they really made it feel like home. They are located in Casco Antiguo near the Presidential palace so you definitely feel safe here. The bedding was comfortable but the rooms are a bit small. You have to be a traveler looking to commune in the common living room with other guest which I love to do!!! Probably the only negative is the restoration and construction in the area does increase noise level and cause traffic nightmares. Once this is done - this area will be good competition for the old city of Cartagena!!! Enjoy the coffee house by the same owner.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CZBrat1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice couple runs this fun location in historic Viejo. My brother and I with our wives stayed here and found it very convenient to walk around to see some nice sights and views of the city. The owner Alyce got us free access to the rooftop bar across the street (Tantalo's) which has a great night time view of the city. Rooms are tucked away keeping you quiet from a very busy city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

There are really nothing but great things to be said about Casa Sucre, and most of them have been covered in the variety of reviews available. I agree completely with all the comments about how lovely the accommodations are, how gracious the hosts Alyce and Rich, and how perfect the location is in the fascinating Casco Viejo area. The coffee shop is equally fantastic! Excellent+ ratings on all of the above.

So here's why I almost gave Very Good and not Excellent. We happened to be in town on a holiday weekend - who know Mother's Day was a holiday? But it is, and apparently a big one. Through absolutely no fault of the owners, they are on a very busy, very noisy corner. Tenants in the building across from us played ridiculously loud music until around 2:00 a.m. Cars driving by honked at all hours and also blared very loud music. It was really hard to sleep, even with ear plugs.

I understand that it is not at all this way when it's not a holiday. So if you are a light sleeper or need a lot of quiet, you may want to ask if it's a holiday when you are planning to be there.

Otherwise, I couldn't recommend Casa Sucre more and would go back there again in a moment during a non-holiday time.

Room Tip: I would not suggest the corner/end room due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a treat it was staying at the Casa Sucre with inn keepers Alyce and Rich! They are the wonderful hosts in this beautifully restored and decorated boutique hotel in Casco Viejo. They were very helpful in recommending local restaurants and activities as well as connecting us with the expertise of driver/guide Tomas. The comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and breakfasts in the cafe made us feel quite at home. A great introduction to Panama City!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed for four nights with Rich and Alyce at Casa Sucre and had a lovely stay. The apartment that we had was set of from an interior patio and it was very secure and quiet. They were SO helpful with directions and set us up on a tour to the Embera Village that was one of the highlights of our three week trip to Panama. They have an adjoining coffee shop/cafe that was fantastic with great espressos. We would definitely return to Casa Sucre. Very clean. Very secure. Very private.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntbolsachica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I spend 10 days in Casa Sucre and it was a haven of peace coming there from the busy city. Alyce and Richard are very kind and helpful, so is their staff. Food and drinks in the restaurant are nice and tasty, and it's a great place to sit, have a rest and watch the world go by. Casa Sucre is in a great location and you can walk around Casco Vejo, no need for a taxi, everything is in walking distance. I will stay here again when I come back to Panama.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casasucre1, Owner at Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for the kind words and comments. We wish you safe travels as you continue on your journey.

Best,
Rich, Alyce and Abisha;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 114 in Panama City
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#33 of 114 in Panama City
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#52 of 114 in Panama City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 8 y Ave B, Casco Viejo, Panama City 64063, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest Hospitality in the Middle of the Americas and a Home Cooked Breakfast to Start Your Day! Located in the historic Casco Viejo neighborhood of San Felipe, Panama, Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel is a renovated 1873 five bedroom three apartment guest house for those visiting our historic city. With its unique architectural history, picturesque buildings, cathedrals and churches, ruins, museums, varied and diverse cultures, and gourmet restaurants, guests of Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel will have the best of the city waiting just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sucre Boutique Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing