We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, price / quality equation is perfect ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Great 5 star hotel, priced very reasonable. Everything is as you expect from a 5 star hotel.
The location is great. The pool and pool bar are good. Beautiful rooms.
Try to get a room as high up as possible and on had city side (even number).
When you get a taxi, don't get it in front of the door, walk half a minute to the right and they charge you only half since they don't associate you with the 5 star hotel. We stayed here 2 times now and I will stay here again next time I am in town. again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrankWhileTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed on that hotel and i have to say the rooms were very nice , clean and big , the food was fantastic , i would recomend if you have any walking disability to ask for a room with a easier way to enter the shower wich i find a little difficult and you could hurt your self.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sergio Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First trip to Panama and it exceeded my expectations. The hotel is in the downtown part of the city and is a first-class facility.

The hotel restaurants were good, but don't expect service like you'd see in America (from some of the hotel staff). The pool bar/restaurant is a great example. We ate there three times at different times of the day and unless you plan to sit at the bar, forget being waited on. We did finally learn to walk up to the bar and order what we wanted but on one visit couldn't even get a check to close out the tab. The buffet was good and service there as well. We also spent an evening at the nice restaurant (can't remember the name) and the food/service was very good.

One more item we dealt with was hotel shuttle service (to and from airport). We called and arranged for it and paid up front but found out during the checkout that we had to pay for the return trip again. Not a big deal, but make sure you know.

Again, great hotel and great trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed only one night at the Riu Plazza early January 2014 before flying back to Europe after a wonderfull 2 weeks in the country. The only nice aspect of the Riu Plaza is the Pool area. It is really nicely decorated; it was actually lovely to take the breakfast outside near the pool. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but the breakfast room really gloomy. It looked more like a school canteen to be honest. Lines of tables and chairs.
We have been disapointed with the service of the hotel. I found the check-in employee not very welcoming and although she wrote down in her computing system the we wanted a late check-out, our key didn't allow us access later then noon. There was also a specific issue in the room that we mentionned but weren't really aknowledge.
Otherwise the Riu is located in a rather convenient area of Panama city. We could walk down to a restaurant 800 meters away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was super clean, beautiful, calm... We slept there for one night because our flight was delayed... So we were not in a good mood when we arrived, but we were happy to have stop there finally... The breakfast was amazing! The staff was nice. The pool area was nice!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dominique572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well managed. Amazing breakfast with some wonderful fruit and local food (tamales, empanadas). The reception staff were courteous, efficient and friendly (can only remember Jesus but they were all nice). The rooms are large, well appointed and spotless. The pool area is a real oasis in the middle of a chaotic city and the cocktails were fantastic! We had rooms on the 20th and 23rd floor and the views were great!
The location is good and felt fairly safe. Is easy to catch taxis and get in and out of the city.

The only disappointment was the food by the pool: we had a horrible pizza (super artificial cheese on a thick piece of undercooked dough) and some odd tasting ceviche. Dissapointing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Before I forget, if you drive yourself from the airport, make sure you buy a pass and use the corredor sud instead of trying to save $ 15. Maybe there is no problem outside rush hour, but it took us 1,5 hr to the hotel, while the corredor would have taken us only 15 minutes...

Reception desk was slow, only one guy, but the rest is really good. Nice large room, great view, king bed, good shower and bathroom, free valet parking and a huge, very good breakfast, one of the best I have ever had, and I travel about 60 days a year.

Located 15 minutes from casco viejo by cab, at $ 6, it was a very good deal. If you take a cab, do not get one in front of the hotel, they will charge you triple.

Decent pool area, including outside dining ( nothing special). We did not check out the fitness not massage, but both are available.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Golfandtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 116 in Panama City
1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £72 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Panama is located in the heart of the banking and business district of Panama City and very close to most attractive entertainment and shopping centers. Only 250m from the luxurious "Soho Mall" Panama and Tocumen International Airport (PTY) is approx. 21 km away. It is ideal for both leisure and business travel. The 644 modern designed and lovingly decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi offer maximum comfort and relaxation and in our 23 stylish and modern conference rooms you can successfully organize your events, meetings. Relax at the Renova Spa or get in shape in the gym. 1 outdoor pool. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking station at our buffet restaurant, an á la carte restaurant, as well as 2 bars. Crown Level Executive lounge service free for guests staying in Executive rooms and Suites as well as hotel guests holding RIU Class Gold and RIU Class Diamond cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing