We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days in this hotel and the experience was excellent. Service, food, rooms, ... Everything was perfect. Staff is very kind and helpful, rooms are very comfortable. Perfect vacations ever!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurapatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Big convention style hotel. We stayed here for a total of 3 nights on our way to and from Isla Palenque. Rooms are modern and comfortable but there was something about them that I felt was not clean enough. I didn't like the sheets, not enough towels, the bathroom had a slight odor and we asked maintenance to help us turn on the TV and we still couldn't figure it out after he left! Staff was nice. Couldn't see the view from one of our rooms because of the condensation in the window! They have a good cafe as an option to the buffet breakfast in the restaurant. Hotel is in a good location and we could walk to restaurants and overall was fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2atthebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

On my third visit to Panama City I stayed at the gorgeous Riu Plaza in Marbella.

The lobby is like a work of art. Huge, stunning, welcoming. The staff at the front desk is always friendly, speaks fluent English, extremely helpful.

Out room was on the 24th floor. The viees of Panama City were jaw dropping. Wow. The room was really beautiful, well appointed, spacious, very neat, and smelled so clean. I love the rain shower and his & her sinks. The bed was huge and super comfortable. The thermostat was perfectly set and we slept comfortably and soundly.

Breakfast is from 630 through 1030 and let me tell you this is SOME breakfast! Evertthing you ever wanted for breakfast is here, fresh, abundant and delicious! Omeletes made to order by a cheerful staff, dozens and dozens of options, choices, so much deliciousness! And the service is outstanding. We ate our breakfast poolside to enjoy the perfect weather every morning and were served the most dekicious Cafe de Panamá.

The pool is immaculate and it has a faabulous bar and restaurant. There is always someone cleaning it, and maintaining the grounds. Everything is so clean and comfortable.

They have a fabulous spa, and room service is on point. You can't beat the outstanding prices!

Centrally located and just a short (and cheap) cab ride from restaurants and shops. This is THE place to stay.

Cannot wait to go back :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I'm checking out today.. The service at this hotel and the attitude of the staff is truly bad...

They got around to cleaning my room at 5 in the afternoon, only after I rang and asked to speak to the manager, a Mr Carlos, who refused to speak to me or call me back.

I stayed in 3312, nice room, but had much better in other hotels.

Don't try the food from room service, Not Good.

The staff here think they are doing you a favor by letting you stay here.

Like I said.. Will never return..

Will try trump hotel in a few weeks.. And let you know..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MrKevinMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here over valentines day weekend and it was a very nice hotel. Had an awesome breakfast buffet included and the pool area was very nice. Especially at night. It's a large hotel, but still good value. Good location. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vball777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week with my son and his wife and their 9 month old baby. We each had a suite (lounge, separate bedroom, large bathroom with an enormous separate shower, guest toilet,) which was very comfortable and clean. Our rooms were on a high floor so we had an amazing view. There was a problem with the air conditioning in one of our rooms but it was fixed pretty much straight away. The breakfast buffet is abundant to say the least. As we had breakfast relatively early we could sit on the terrace outside facing the pool. The breakfast restaurant is quite large and tends to get rather noisy. The pool itself and the pool area are very clean and there are plenty of sun-loungers and towels. A good place to relax. The hotel has several restaurants and a coffee shop (which also does take-away). Tried the sushi one night from the Sushi Lounge. Unfortunately this was not the best sushi. In general the food in the hotel is pretty average (apart from breakfast). The staff are very friendly and it helps if you speak Spanish. I requested a late check-out (6pm) which was not a problem, however they did charge me US$50. The hotel charges US$10/hour after 1pm if you want to keep your room. Overall we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not enough can be said about this hotel. The breakfast that's inlcuded in the room price is next level. The staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are spacious, the bathoom is roomy with an awesome shower. The lunch menu is reasonably priced. The drinks a little expensive though but are tasty. A few things I would change is there is a frosted style glass separating the bathroom from the sleeping area. If one person wants to go to the bathroom and others are asleep the light will wake them up. There is a coffee pot in the room but no coffee was supplied. The transport company outside is overpriced and the canal tour provided by the hotel at a cost is little more than an expensive cab ride. Do not use them. The yellow cabs are cheaper, the drivers are friendly, courteous and surprisingly honest. Invest five dollars to go to the nearby mall. The supermarkets are very nice and the mall is beautiful! The police are everywhere but take any normal precautions. If you rent a car note that the others drivers are crazy! Overall, this hotel is awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#35 of 115 in Panama City
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 115 in Panama City
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing