We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value and nice people”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed seven nights in Feb-Mar 2014. Considering we were there during carnival, the hotel was busy but managed the crowds well. One of the elevators stoped working on a Friday night and was fixed on Monday morning which was as much as anyone could expect, remaining two handled the volume fairly well. Rooms very nice, Glass wall between very modern bathroom with two sinks, fridge flatscreenTV. Traffic is heavy but crossing street etc. not a problem as it moves slow. Walking after dark was OK if you are heading towards the ocean, We did have someone follow us as we headed up to the Marriot one night but shining a flashlight around seems to deter them. Pool is nice and the felow looking after deck chairs etc. was very helpfull. Food at the pool was good and the drinks OK, don't order anything complicated.
Buffet breakfast very good and service also top notch.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 26th floor and the view was great! Our room, 2621 looked down on the pool which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    884
    234
    99
    88
See reviews for
580
778
116
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

So I'm taking a shower, look down and see yellow water all over the tub (i'm like... did I just pee?).

I get out and see that the water that I was tacking a shower absolutely yellow. Yuck.

I am sure that someone in the hotel knew about the "yellow water" and did nothing. They just dont careñ

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller123066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights for a family wedding, and used the Riu as a base for shopping, touring, and generally being astonished by Panama City, a town that in 15 years has gone from backwater to boom town full of glitter and skyscrapers.The hotel is big and busy like many business hotels, but the staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal for walking to shopping centers and Calle Uruguay clubs and restaurants. The pool restaurant is very pleasant as well for dinner, and the breakfast, as every review has mentioned, is unbelievable. The lobby snack bar is convenient for snacks and sandwiches, particularly take-away, and there are dozens of fast fooderies and fine dining in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

New addition to a downtown hotel universe with elegantly appointed rooms, well designed bathrooms and large sitting/work area. The junior suite was a real treat! It is a short ride from the historical center that is in the process of being restored. The concierge desk is fluent and very helpful. Breakfast is served both by the pool and in the A/C dining room. There is wall to wall fruit bar, salad spreads, chef station with egg dishes and local specialties. The lobby can be overwhelming in its over the top design but the entire place is sparkling clean, professional and all embracing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days in this hotel and the experience was excellent. Service, food, rooms, ... Everything was perfect. Staff is very kind and helpful, rooms are very comfortable. Perfect vacations ever!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurapatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Big convention style hotel. We stayed here for a total of 3 nights on our way to and from Isla Palenque. Rooms are modern and comfortable but there was something about them that I felt was not clean enough. I didn't like the sheets, not enough towels, the bathroom had a slight odor and we asked maintenance to help us turn on the TV and we still couldn't figure it out after he left! Staff was nice. Couldn't see the view from one of our rooms because of the condensation in the window! They have a good cafe as an option to the buffet breakfast in the restaurant. Hotel is in a good location and we could walk to restaurants and overall was fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2atthebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

On my third visit to Panama City I stayed at the gorgeous Riu Plaza in Marbella.

The lobby is like a work of art. Huge, stunning, welcoming. The staff at the front desk is always friendly, speaks fluent English, extremely helpful.

Out room was on the 24th floor. The viees of Panama City were jaw dropping. Wow. The room was really beautiful, well appointed, spacious, very neat, and smelled so clean. I love the rain shower and his & her sinks. The bed was huge and super comfortable. The thermostat was perfectly set and we slept comfortably and soundly.

Breakfast is from 630 through 1030 and let me tell you this is SOME breakfast! Evertthing you ever wanted for breakfast is here, fresh, abundant and delicious! Omeletes made to order by a cheerful staff, dozens and dozens of options, choices, so much deliciousness! And the service is outstanding. We ate our breakfast poolside to enjoy the perfect weather every morning and were served the most dekicious Cafe de Panamá.

The pool is immaculate and it has a faabulous bar and restaurant. There is always someone cleaning it, and maintaining the grounds. Everything is so clean and comfortable.

They have a fabulous spa, and room service is on point. You can't beat the outstanding prices!

Centrally located and just a short (and cheap) cab ride from restaurants and shops. This is THE place to stay.

Cannot wait to go back :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 113 in Panama City
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.4 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing