We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay for one night”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2014. The hotel room was lovely, clean and everything in order. The bar, pool and amenities were great and easily accessible. Front desk staff took a bit of prompting on a couple of things which should have been straight forward front desk functions and I thought this was disappointing for such a top notch hotel. Aside from that, everything was spot on.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    898
    239
    100
    90
See reviews for
588
791
117
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited this hotel for a conference. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We spent some time by the pool where the staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, their cocktail making ability was dubious at best. I was served the worst Margarita I have ever tasted and had to send it back - I truly couldn't drink anything that sweet. The coffee at the hotel cafe was of similar quality - stick to the milkshakes. The staff were lovely though, particularly, Margelis, at reception. This delightful young woman organised restaurant bookings, taxis, she was always helpful and pleasant. She should definitely be promoted to the concierge's desk, I visited her as my first port of call. One word of warning, avoid the sharks at the hotel door who are organising the taxis. They are a complete rip off. It is better to walk out of the hotel and negotiate your own cab.
We managed to find an honest taxi driver who we called when we needed him, much to the chagrin of the sharks. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay. One further note, i visited the hotel spa for a pedicure and was very happy with the price and the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlyslightlymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Riu Plaza is a large, beautiful hotel that is only three years old. The very large hotel lobby is both modern and contemporary. The front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and able to check people in and out of the hotel quite quickly. The hotel is located about 10 blocks back from the ocean.

Our room was on the 17th floor and faced to the west, towards the Gulf of Panama. The room was very nice modern, large, with a king size bed, a small sitting area and a large flat screen TV sitting on a low dresser. The bed was very firm and comfortable with seeming new sheets. The window took up the whole exterior wall with a view of other non-descript buildings, including the very tall Hard Rock Hotel, with a small view of ships waiting their turn to enter the Panama Canal. I don't know what the views were like from the higher floors.

The very modern bathroom was fairly large with one of the full length walls being made of frosted glass. Very cool. There were two sinks, toilet, and bathtub with two showerheads one coming from the ceiling. The room had a large closet and small empty refrigerator that we filled up with pop and snacks.

The pool area was large and had more than enough lounge chairs. There is a bar next to the pool (no pool bar) and wait people were coming by asking if we needed anything. My only complaints about the pool was not enough shade for those trying to keep out of direct sun and the pool was only about four feet deep or one and a half meter deep.

Even though the hotel is in the business district, it is still a good place for pleasure travelers to stay, with a lot of restaurants, shopping, casinos and the Hard Rock Hotel nearby. Almost all tourists destinations are within a five dollar cab ride. When you take a cab back to the hotel, pronounce the Riu Plaza the Roo Plaza. If you take a tour of the canal, use the Gamboa Tours Company. The half day tour is the best (full day is to long and it gets boring). If you want to stay out of the sun and be cool, sit on the port side of the ship, or left side when you are looking forward.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the water. Always ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon3249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The breakfast buffet is bar non the best I have ever had. Didn't need lunch. Huge huge huge. The room were clean and well appointed. We opted for the crown rooms, 21st floor and above. more but worth it as you got to go into the crown lounge on main floor. There you get good snacks, bottled water, cokes, etc (all you want) computer and a person to help you with anything.
Nice pool and close to everything. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for our last night in Panama, having spent nearly 2 weeks in Bocas Del Toro. This hotel on arrival speaks for itself, very grand in appearance. The check in was very quick, easy and the staff were articulate, and spoke good English, which was very helpful. The man who checked us in, even called to find out if stores were open on the Good friday, as we wanted to shop before heading back to London. He was great in coming back to us. We loved it here, we took pics, but pointless adding them because the pics on the website are exactly what the hotel looks like. The room was BIG, the bed was BIG, the space was BIG... the bathroom, BIG. everything was perfect, breakfast in the morning was beyond anything we had expected. The quality of the food, caters for all diets, and all persons. The room was serviced by very polite, efficient, and well presented staff, who ensured you wanted for nothing. We will stay here again when we return to Panama.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrina1972186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayce, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel Riu is gorgeous. We like to go an Wednesday nights and dance Tango in the downstairs bar. Everything about it is beautiful. service is good, there are a few restaurants and it is centrally located. We love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernardoray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We attended a conference here and got the special rate that included breakfast. We also noticed 2 weddings going on so it seems popular with the locals as well. The room was attractive, clean, and spacious. It had a bathtub which seems to be quite rare these days and I made full use of it. There is a free mini fridge, robe, slippers, iron, hairdryer. They offer free snacks and wine throughout the day. We visited the restaurant Tastes and it was very good and as expected a bit expensive. Arts restaurant was an all you can eat and it was well stocked with very fresh food. The staff was very nice. It is an easy walk to find what you need. Only complaint was trying to catch the elevator because we were on the 33rd floor. The work out area is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#14 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing