We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Whether for business or pleasure you cannot go wrong choosing the Riu Plaza. Location is ideal, close to many restaurants and shopping. Rooms are spacious with large bathrooms. There is cable television with several English speaking channels. If possible get a room on higher floor facing front of hotel, the view is spectacular.

Another great feature of the hotel, as many have mentioned, is the Breakfast Buffet. The breakfast buffet at the RIU was by far better and had a greater selection than the dinner buffet at the All Inclusive Resort that we later stayed at.

What’s negative about the hotel? Not much, drinks were a bit expensive. I paid $9 for a Mojito, throw in a dollar tip and a day poolside can become very expensive.

Some tips if you’re going to stay there:

• As mentioned ask for a room on a higher floor facing the street. We were on the 20th floor and view was spectacular.
• Walk a block either direction before hailing a taxi, in front of hotel will be much more expensive. We hailed a taxi a block away it cost us $10 to go to the Albrook Mall. Later we paid $23 for a hotel taxi to Albrook Airport, which is next to the Mall. Most fares in the city should be around $5.
• If you enjoy walking, the hotel is less than 1 KM from the start of the Cinta Costera. This is a beautiful walk, check it out on Tripadvisor.
• If you exit hotel turn right at the first corner (less than 50m) then right again. On this street there are several restaurants, mostly fast food, a huge wine store on the left side of street a block away, as well a grocery store. If you keep to the right side of the street, about three blocks away is a large shopping Mall, Multicentro. It is directly across the street is the Hardrock Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntarioHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2014. The hotel room was lovely, clean and everything in order. The bar, pool and amenities were great and easily accessible. Front desk staff took a bit of prompting on a couple of things which should have been straight forward front desk functions and I thought this was disappointing for such a top notch hotel. Aside from that, everything was spot on.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank travellingfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited this hotel for a conference. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We spent some time by the pool where the staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, their cocktail making ability was dubious at best. I was served the worst Margarita I have ever tasted and had to send it back - I truly couldn't drink anything that sweet. The coffee at the hotel cafe was of similar quality - stick to the milkshakes. The staff were lovely though, particularly, Margelis, at reception. This delightful young woman organised restaurant bookings, taxis, she was always helpful and pleasant. She should definitely be promoted to the concierge's desk, I visited her as my first port of call. One word of warning, avoid the sharks at the hotel door who are organising the taxis. They are a complete rip off. It is better to walk out of the hotel and negotiate your own cab.
We managed to find an honest taxi driver who we called when we needed him, much to the chagrin of the sharks. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay. One further note, i visited the hotel spa for a pedicure and was very happy with the price and the service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlyslightlymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Riu Plaza is a large, beautiful hotel that is only three years old. The very large hotel lobby is both modern and contemporary. The front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and able to check people in and out of the hotel quite quickly. The hotel is located about 10 blocks back from the ocean.

Our room was on the 17th floor and faced to the west, towards the Gulf of Panama. The room was very nice modern, large, with a king size bed, a small sitting area and a large flat screen TV sitting on a low dresser. The bed was very firm and comfortable with seeming new sheets. The window took up the whole exterior wall with a view of other non-descript buildings, including the very tall Hard Rock Hotel, with a small view of ships waiting their turn to enter the Panama Canal. I don't know what the views were like from the higher floors.

The very modern bathroom was fairly large with one of the full length walls being made of frosted glass. Very cool. There were two sinks, toilet, and bathtub with two showerheads one coming from the ceiling. The room had a large closet and small empty refrigerator that we filled up with pop and snacks.

The pool area was large and had more than enough lounge chairs. There is a bar next to the pool (no pool bar) and wait people were coming by asking if we needed anything. My only complaints about the pool was not enough shade for those trying to keep out of direct sun and the pool was only about four feet deep or one and a half meter deep.

Even though the hotel is in the business district, it is still a good place for pleasure travelers to stay, with a lot of restaurants, shopping, casinos and the Hard Rock Hotel nearby. Almost all tourists destinations are within a five dollar cab ride. When you take a cab back to the hotel, pronounce the Riu Plaza the Roo Plaza. If you take a tour of the canal, use the Gamboa Tours Company. The half day tour is the best (full day is to long and it gets boring). If you want to stay out of the sun and be cool, sit on the port side of the ship, or left side when you are looking forward.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the water. Always ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon3249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The breakfast buffet is bar non the best I have ever had. Didn't need lunch. Huge huge huge. The room were clean and well appointed. We opted for the crown rooms, 21st floor and above. more but worth it as you got to go into the crown lounge on main floor. There you get good snacks, bottled water, cokes, etc (all you want) computer and a person to help you with anything.
Nice pool and close to everything. I would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for our last night in Panama, having spent nearly 2 weeks in Bocas Del Toro. This hotel on arrival speaks for itself, very grand in appearance. The check in was very quick, easy and the staff were articulate, and spoke good English, which was very helpful. The man who checked us in, even called to find out if stores were open on the Good friday, as we wanted to shop before heading back to London. He was great in coming back to us. We loved it here, we took pics, but pointless adding them because the pics on the website are exactly what the hotel looks like. The room was BIG, the bed was BIG, the space was BIG... the bathroom, BIG. everything was perfect, breakfast in the morning was beyond anything we had expected. The quality of the food, caters for all diets, and all persons. The room was serviced by very polite, efficient, and well presented staff, who ensured you wanted for nothing. We will stay here again when we return to Panama.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrina1972186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel Riu is gorgeous. We like to go an Wednesday nights and dance Tango in the downstairs bar. Everything about it is beautiful. service is good, there are a few restaurants and it is centrally located. We love it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernardoray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#16 of 116 in Panama City
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#14 of 116 in Panama City
1,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#10 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £72 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Panama is located in the heart of the banking and business district of Panama City and very close to most attractive entertainment and shopping centers. Only 250m from the luxurious "Soho Mall" Panama and Tocumen International Airport (PTY) is approx. 21 km away. It is ideal for both leisure and business travel. The 644 modern designed and lovingly decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi offer maximum comfort and relaxation and in our 23 stylish and modern conference rooms you can successfully organize your events, meetings. Relax at the Renova Spa or get in shape in the gym. 1 outdoor pool. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking station at our buffet restaurant, an á la carte restaurant, as well as 2 bars. Crown Level Executive lounge service free for guests staying in Executive rooms and Suites as well as hotel guests holding RIU Class Gold and RIU Class Diamond cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing