We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Spent one night here. Beautiful lobby and grounds. Very beautiful accommodations. Very clean. Very modern decor.
Room- Clean- beautiful, comfortable bed, clean nice bathroom,
Our AC was not working but the maintenance came quickly and fixed the AC no problem.
Staff was helpful
Buffet dinner was very good, lots to choose from. Dressy attire.
Breakfast buffet was VERY GOOD! tons of variety! very tasty!
right in the city.
I would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    904
    242
    100
    90
See reviews for
594
796
119
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I asked for a room higher up with a view and with a great smile the front desk clerk gave us a wonderful room on the 33rd floor. The room was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had lots of towels and amenities. A small mini bar was great for my beer and my wife's wine. There is a wine store a 5 min walk from the hotel and the beer was .58 cents and the wine around $8-9 per bottle. This is the same wine we buy at home for $13 - $15. The buffet breakfast was as good or better than anything I have had in Las Vegas. Some people have complained about the lack of coffee but I had no problem getting a refill or 3. The food both hot and cold was fresh and plentiful including great smoked salmon. I would recommend this to anyone. There are several casinos within a short walk and all served food and drinks. Taxis were cheap and the ones in the street are less than the limos outside the hotel. Even the limos were not outrageous in cost. $6.00 for a 4 minutes ride at 10:00pm. Regular taxis in the day were about half of that. I will definitely stay at this Hotel on a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckie2_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were extremely pleased with our room on the 27th floor. It was clean, well appointed, and quiet. Breakfast buffet had an incredible variety on offer. Dining poolside was pleasant. The weak point in our experience was the concierge. To say she was "unprofessional" is putting it mildly. She has no concept of how a service professional is expected to act.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hortolandia, SP
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The decor of the hotel is wonderful, rooms are very clean and the beds are the best ones I've seen. Breakfast is terrific. The service in general are under average of similar standards. Fully recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

If you don't speak Spanish prepare for a challenge.
Beautiful place needing better care.
Service spotty- don't be in a hurry. Fantastic breakfast bar (entire room). Made up for shortcomings. Watch tab in restaurant & bar. Charges get mixed up.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tvkscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Whether for business or pleasure you cannot go wrong choosing the Riu Plaza. Location is ideal, close to many restaurants and shopping. Rooms are spacious with large bathrooms. There is cable television with several English speaking channels. If possible get a room on higher floor facing front of hotel, the view is spectacular.

Another great feature of the hotel, as many have mentioned, is the Breakfast Buffet. The breakfast buffet at the RIU was by far better and had a greater selection than the dinner buffet at the All Inclusive Resort that we later stayed at.

What’s negative about the hotel? Not much, drinks were a bit expensive. I paid $9 for a Mojito, throw in a dollar tip and a day poolside can become very expensive.

Some tips if you’re going to stay there:

• As mentioned ask for a room on a higher floor facing the street. We were on the 20th floor and view was spectacular.
• Walk a block either direction before hailing a taxi, in front of hotel will be much more expensive. We hailed a taxi a block away it cost us $10 to go to the Albrook Mall. Later we paid $23 for a hotel taxi to Albrook Airport, which is next to the Mall. Most fares in the city should be around $5.
• If you enjoy walking, the hotel is less than 1 KM from the start of the Cinta Costera. This is a beautiful walk, check it out on Tripadvisor.
• If you exit hotel turn right at the first corner (less than 50m) then right again. On this street there are several restaurants, mostly fast food, a huge wine store on the left side of street a block away, as well a grocery store. If you keep to the right side of the street, about three blocks away is a large shopping Mall, Multicentro. It is directly across the street is the Hardrock Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2014. The hotel room was lovely, clean and everything in order. The bar, pool and amenities were great and easily accessible. Front desk staff took a bit of prompting on a couple of things which should have been straight forward front desk functions and I thought this was disappointing for such a top notch hotel. Aside from that, everything was spot on.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 114 in Panama City
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing