We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Not a great experience at all. Had to ask three times for the staff to fix the tv and assemble the sofa bed. Room was cleaned at different times of the day? Staff were indifferent at best.
Food/water in lobby was very expensive. Breakfast was great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stubowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    837
    225
    94
    85
See reviews for
552
740
113
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you travel to Panama, Hotel Riu is an excellent choice, The hotel is impeccable, free wi-fi., great pillows, small refrigerator, coffee and free bottle water. The bathroom is a dream.
The restaurants have a great variety of foods. During breakfast and lunch you can find everything that you can imagine and if you are a celiac: you have a lot of choices.
You can find a 24h coffee shop (sandwiches, salads, coffee, wine, beer, sodas, water, fruit, desserts, ice creams). Also, in the lobby there is a sport bar where I watch the soccer game in a big tv and a great atmosphere.
All the employees at the hotel are lovely and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Do not think it twice to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soledadveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I spent a couple of nights in Panama City on business, this place offered anything I could need, good beds, good wifi speed, good business centre with coffee and tea options as well as nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The breakfast is one of the best I have had anywhere including the Far East , the pool and it's restaurant service is first class ....the rooms are big , I like big rooms especially when wife brings son along all in the same room ..the other amazing feature is the reality that some people might just want a quick sandwich or a snack or candy bar without mini bar rip off prices ...and they have a quick service shop in the lobby to cater for just that ......the reception did have a problem not knowing who I was and losing my reservation , which made me uber angry which is why i was surprised at how good everything else was ...and overall I would use Riu again

Room Tip: Go high as the city view is excellent , the local area is under construction so this large hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked an executive twin room (two relatives traveling together) and were pleasantly surprised at almost every turn. We aren't business travelers but wanted access to the views and free drinks. Our room was huge with a floor-to-ceiling window overlooking the city skyline. The beds are exceedingly comfortable with huge, fluffy pillows. I don't love the lilac decorations, but so what? The room had a nice bathroom with dual shower heads, a couchette, a table for working or dining, wall mounted tv, safe, minibar, ironing board, hair dryer, and wifi. Upon arrival we were also presented with a plate of cookies with chocolate sauce and a large fruit basket with a welcome letter, which was a nice touch. The executive lounge is well-stocked with drinks, but the snacks could use some improvement in quantity and quality. The room came with free access to the buffet breakfast, which may be the most well-stocked spread I've ever seen. It was impressive. Service is the most inconsistent aspect to the hotel. In some places we were greeted warmly, in others, barely acknowledged. I always try to speak in Spanish, but it's nice that everyone seems to have some basic English for those moments when you've exceeded your vocabulary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at the Riu Plaza for 2 nights at the start of a 2 week trip to Panama. Firstly, our flight to Panama was cancelled and Riu Plaza changed our reservation by a day with no problems, which was very nice of them.
The hotel itself is lovely, there is a large lobby with a cocktail bar, reception staff were all very friendly! The rooms themselves are very large, the beds are huge and very comfortable and there is complimentary bottled water.
But let me get on to the main attraction, breakfast! The breakfast buffet is fantastic! An amazing selection of food ranging from eggs to empinadas! We liked the Riu Plaza and the breakfast so much we stayed for an extra night at the end of our trip!
It's also a short walk away from a large shopping centre and there are lots of restaurants in the area.
Don't use the taxi service outside the hotel, instead walk down the road and get a normal yellow cab for much cheaper!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I love the Riu Plaza Panama and must say that after staying on the property many times, I have had the ultimate hospitality and class act service.

The staff from Reception to Management were all great providing exceptional service second to non. The respect was there all the way.

It is perfect for the business or solo traveller and also couples. The food is excellent, drinks are great and ambiance is priceless.

The VIP lounge access is a plus and designed for the solo traveller with business centre setting and concierge service to assist your every request. The little bites of fresh fruit, sashimi, pastries and cheeses along with beverage access was exceptional. Service was great overall.

The poolside was peaceful and the restaurants and lounge were neatly appointed and served great breakfast and other meals.

The rooms were comfy, cozy and available on floors of your color and settings of choice. There was a lavender, green and orange floors that i have stayed on for my many trips.

Thank you hotel RIU Plaza Panama. Its always a pleasure.*****

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Virgin-TravelBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Decapolis Hotel Panama City
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing