We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Only stayed one night but was great, good service, breakfast included and you had a lot to choose from, Joel Mina at reception was very courteous, had a smile and gave us a great room (tank you, mil gracias)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chichi058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    904
    242
    100
    90
See reviews for
594
796
119
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have waited a few weeks to write this - we were waiting for the manager to communicate with us as we had been told, but clearly that was too much to expect. the rooms are good, the bed is comfortable, the location is fine. We had Crown level rooms so access to the crown lounge. At no point did the lady at the desk acknowledge us, smile at us, or greet us in any way, simply carried on working on her computer. On a daily basis we went for a glass of wine and there was inevitably none left and we had to wait 30-40 minutes for some to be found. On our penultimate day we were told there was no white wine!!! this is a huge hotel with multiple restaurants and there is no white wine??? ASTONISHING!! Our room had a lovely welcome letter asking us to let the manager know if there was any issues etc. so we raised it at the main reception and were asked to put it in writing and the manager would respond. We were not drinking gallons of wine - 2 glasses a day in the Crown lounge and this is a service we pay for. We had paid for a late check out (4pm) and at 2pm while I was naked in the lounge getting changed and my partner was in the shower a man walked into our room - was he a guest or staff? we don't know but he didn't knock first. he left when I screamed and tried my towel. This is an unfortunate incident and on its own is not a drama but when we mentioned it at the desk on check out the receptionist was very amused which is not acceptable and no one could say whether it was staff or guests. We had no response to the issue we had raised (in writing as requested) and it was suggested that if we provided our email address the manager would respond.......we are still waiting. I would not recommend this hotel at all. The customer Service is unacceptable

Room Tip: The rooms on the 32nd floor had fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Overall, the hotel was very clean and comfortable and service was above average. It was centrally located more so in the business district. If we had to do it again, I think staying in Casco Viejo area would have been a better choice as the business district was not as charming or tourist friendly compared to the Casco Viejo area.

Like many have mentioned in previous reviews, the breakfast had a large variety of choices. However, the quality/taste of the food for breakfast was average compared to many breakfast that we have at other hotels. We did not try any of the other meals at the hotel as there were several restaurants with a short cab ride from the hotel that were good.

The pool and bar area was excellent. Very clean with great poolside service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild4Wasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at the Riu Plaza from August 7th till August 10th accompanied with my 2 year old daughter, my sister and my mother. The Hotel is very nice, beautiful and is well located so you can go to Multi Centro Mall and 15 minutes to go to All brook Mall.
With my experience in the Hotel business I will say that the Front Desk staff should have more customer service skills when dealing with guests, they need to give a more welcoming feeling and show interest in satisfying the guest needs, when I asked if they have cribs available the young men that was helping us did not know what to answer so he asked someone else and the person answered very rudely "you need to request it if you want to" I mean they could offer it seeing I had a child with me... Anticipated guest needs is how we call this... At the bar and the restaurant I had a great service, very attentive same in the pool restaurant very nice personnel. One remark is that on Saturday around 10 am in the morning there were kids that wanted to go into the pool but at that time they were adding some stuff at the pool. This should be done early in the morning before you have guest arriving at the area for a swim. The pool boy was very nice though.. Rooms were comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

When we walked in I thought, wow how beautiful. However like many establishments in panama, the customer service was horrible to say the least. The people at the front desk seemed annoyed to have to attend yet another customer. Furthermore when I arrived to my room 2015 the bathroom was dirty, particularly there was mold in the tub. My friend was in 1214, the tv did not work, when we called the front desk they said they will send someone to fix it and no one came.
In addition, I left some belongings in the banquet hall. I have been calling the RIU for the last 4hrs an I spoke to the front desk rep (Karla) she was of no help, I asked to speak to the supervisor (margelis) she never came to the phone. Finally I spoke to a very nice young man named Marlon and he was able to help. However no one ever apologized.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonPaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had mixed views of this place. We took 2 rooms, one a suite and one a standard on the 23rd floor as this was the only way we could have interconnecting rooms. The views were spectacular, but only 3 lifts meant long waits. The pool area was lovely, and bar food there good value. We didn't think the breakfast was as great as other reviewers, certainly not as good as 5* hotels in Asia, and we found the concierge service terrible, the girl kept breaking off from dealing with us to talk to her colleague about something else and gave us the wrong information about when to go to Miraflores locks.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lugano
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Ideal location for business but as well to start descovering Panama City and surroundings. (Panama is not Big! From Panama city to Colon 80 km). Friendly Staff, Big Rooms excellent breakfast buffet. Three restaurants , One Sushi Bar.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank traveladdictLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.2 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#21 of 114 in Panama City
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#11 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing