We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”
Review of Hostal Casa Areka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Casa Areka
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My experience overall was good until I realized the day after I left there is $200 missing from my money belt. I called Oswald (the owner) and informed him of the situation. Without giving me the benefit of the doubt he right away accused me of losing the money and that he trusts his housekeeper Veronica who has been working for him for over 2 years. I never mentioned to him that I suspect Veronica. I guess this is a common occurane there and he has a speech prepared for these situations. I would've gone to the police but was already in Colon ready to sail to Colombia. If you stay at this hostel make sure your room is never left unattended with your valuables!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Siffredi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed for one night with one friend and thought Casa Areka was exactly what we needed. Initially, the staff was not very helpful (though to her credit, my Spanish is very bad), but when the owner arrived later, we enjoyed chatting with him. The facility and room were reasonably clean, and perks included functioning air conditioning, free wifi, and cable tv in our room. I was able to get a great night of sleep. With a location very near the freeway entrances, you can get to Casco Viejo in a cab for $3 or to the airport for $20.

The hot water in the bathroom kind of went in and out but other than that, no complaints really. We left at 6am, so I don't know about the breakfast situation. Based on the previous TripAdvisor reviews, I expected a grungy no frills cheap hotel experience (we ended up there on short notice, because our other choices were full), but it turned out to work out great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here for 1 night and that was 1 too many. The room and place in general was dirty and definitely not appealing. No breakfast was offered although clearly stated on their breakfast and no discount on what is poor value at $40 a night. I have no hesitation in not recommending this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1superreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I unfortunately found this “hotel” online and booked a nights stay (luckily only one!). I stay in a lot of hostels and hotels but this place is the worst I have ever seen. On arrival it seemed quite nice but don't be fooled by the reasonably well kept reception area. On check in the owner asked for full payment and only when I enquired where the (included) breakfast was served did he mumble that he wasn't “doing” breakfast at the moment - but the price is the same. Right.
After climbing the stairs and nearly breaking my neck on the bags of trash that adorn the hallway I found my double room. Basic is an understatement - it was literally 2 single beds pushed together with some grotty old sheets draped over them. I then went to check out the shared bathroom and was horrified! The place is crawling with mosquitoes, is filthy, the door doesn't lock (lock broken) and the water - ice cold. The bin that holds used toilet paper was overflowing and not changed in the 24 hours I was here and there was also no toilet paper here for the entire duration of my stay. Worth the money? You could not pay me to return to this hole. I wouldn't even let a dog stay here. Disgusting. It should not even be operating.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clarenascr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank revitalcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
830 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 111 in Panama City
529 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#2 of 111 in Panama City
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#3 of 111 in Panama City
644 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#9 of 111 in Panama City
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Loco Coco Loco
Hostel Loco Coco Loco
#16 of 111 in Panama City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Areka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Areka

Address: Calle Ramon H. Jurado | Calle 56 Este, Panama City 0834, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £10 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Areka 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We arrange trips to San blas and Sailing trips to Cartagena! Hostel Casa Areka is located in the heart of Panama City close to the vibrant district “Calle Uruguay”. There is a 24hr supermarket opposite of the hostel and two big malls, many restaurants and bars as well as the bus stop (e.g. to the Panama Canal or Casco Viejo) in walking distance. The highlight of our hostel is the amazing pool area surrounded by palm trees with a BBQ area where you can hang out. Inside we have a common room with a pool table and a common kitchen that is equipped with everything you need to cook your own meals (remember there is a 24hr supermarket across the street). We offer private rooms as well as dorms – all with air-conditioning. Breakfast and Internet are included. We also offer laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Casa Areka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Areka Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing