We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint Little Lodge in Panama”
Review of Hostal Casa Areka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Casa Areka
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Felt very informed with constant communication with the owner via email. He was hospitable and accommodating. Our requests and queries were met with a genuine eagerness to assist. The amenities were average; catered for basic needs and maybe a little luxury with the air-con, TV and Wi-Fi. The location was quite central; only 30 minutes drive from the airport (PTY) - the owner did insist on sending us a private car (USD30.00 - same as taxi) but we were not able to arrange that due to a lack of Internet access on our end. Casa Areka is only a 5-minute taxi ride away from the Old Town and about 15 minutes from the Panama Canal (for those interested). There is a 24-hour convenience store (Super 99) right across the road. We did all our grocery shopping there. Prices were very reasonable and cheap for established brand names (speaking as an Australian). Wish we were here for longer than 3 nights. Casa Areka made us feel welcomed and fully accommodated our needs. A quaint little place to stay, it made our experience in Panama City a pleasant one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed in Casa Areka during my 24 hour layover in Panama City. It's close to the airport so I didn't have problems going back to the airport in time. The owner (Oswald) is very friendly and nice enough to show me everything about Panama in a glance on the hostel's creative board. Two best facts that I liked the most with Casa Areka: (1) It is located infront of Supermarket99 (open 24hrs); (2) Their kitchen is awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here back in March. The location was excellent, don't get fooled into staying in Casco Viejo because that is super far from anything, this place was right on Punta Pacific near everything. There is a huge super across the street but it was quiet at night. The room was awesome, AC, cable, awesome WIFI, and Oswald was a super friendly dude. I recommend 100 percent, also Panama City is great in general.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I ended up here after the previous hostel had no room for me. It turned out to be pretty nice. The kitchen was well setup and stocked. The bathroom and shower setup is weird, though. I think the shower was in the owner's private room? I wasn't sure.

I'm not blaming them, but due to my lack of Spanish at the time, there was some confusion when I was trying to get my room key and sort a few things out as the one guy running the place at that time knew zero English. Like I said, I'm not faulting the hostel for that!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was our first stop off the plane from the US and the owner arranged for a cab for us from the airport which was $30. My girlfriend and I found our entrance intimidating but found a pleasant room with its own bathroom and good AC. The next morning the owner took it upon himself to drop us off (in heavy traffic) at the rental car agency. He was very accommodating and friendly and made us feel welcome, we would recommend this hostel for any traveler.

Room Tip: Be prepared if arriving late that the owner may not be their to greet you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damook7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in a private room and the room was okay although the ensuite smelled and was not very nice. I really didn't like the location, we were only supposed to be there a night but had to stay for 3 waiting for lost luggage and massively regretted booking this place by the end of it. Oswald was friendly and quite helpful however

When we came back to Panama we stayed at Panamericana and would recommend staying in that area

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajenks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The hostel is next to a 24supermarket which is excellent! Oswald is really friendly and tries to help where ever he can.

The rooms are not as nice as on the pics in the internet. Ours was really old and the price wasn't fair. We found out that a other couple has to pay for a nicer room 5-10$ per night less than we had to pay. Looks like they do not have a common price politic.

The Garden could be a wonderful place to meet other people but unfortunately they did not invest a single minute of their time to make it to a nice place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinniwinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.7 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 111 in Panama City
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#10 of 79 in Panama City
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#4 of 111 in Panama City
668 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostal Entre 2 Aguas
Hostal Entre 2 Aguas
#11 of 79 in Panama City
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 111 in Panama City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Areka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Areka

Address: Calle Ramon H Jurado | Calle 56 Este, Panama City 0834, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £11 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Areka 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We arrange trips to San blas and Sailing trips to Cartagena! Hostel Casa Areka is located in the heart of Panama City close to the vibrant district “Calle Uruguay”. There is a 24hr supermarket opposite of the hostel and two big malls, many restaurants and bars as well as the bus stop (e.g. to the Panama Canal or Casco Viejo) in walking distance. The highlight of our hostel is the amazing pool area surrounded by palm trees with a BBQ area where you can hang out. Inside we have a common room with a pool table and a common kitchen that is equipped with everything you need to cook your own meals (remember there is a 24hr supermarket across the street). We offer private rooms as well as dorms – all with air-conditioning. Breakfast and Internet are included. We also offer laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Hostal Casa Areka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Areka Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing