We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the historical part of Panama City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Clementinas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem in the historical part of Panama City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at Las Clementinas for 2 nights and would highly recommend this little gem in the historical old part of Panama City.
The staff are very courteous and a pleasure to deal with.
The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. Everything is spotless.
Breakfast is freshly made and very tasty. Dinner at their restaurant is first rate.
The location of Las Clementinas is excellent as it's walking distance (15 minutes) to all the old Churches and parks in the area. Lots to see!
Forget the impersonal and overpriced hotels in the newer parts of Panama City and opt instead for the more personal touch just a few minutes away. You will be happy you did.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
How kind of you to take the time to write such a nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Personalized and warm service is something of a hallmark for us here at Las Clementinas, and what we strive for every day. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    85
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
219
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We read the TripAdvisor reviews for Las Clementinas very carefully, and they were spot-on. We traveled as a family of 4, with two children (a teen and a tween), and this was the perfect spot. We were picked up at the airport and served a well-appreciated mojito when we arrived. Our huge bags were carried up the stairs. Our suite (Room 3) was enormous, with a bed, a comfortable sofa bed, a full kitchen, and a table large enough for 4 or more people. We enjoyed a very nice dinner in the garden.

Here are the touches at the hotel that make for a very gracious experience:
-Sparkling clean bathroom, with a beautifully-tiled shower
-Very nice toiletries, and ample amounts
-A full-size fridge at a nice, cold temperature with lots of cold drinks and water, with a very very reasonable price list. And fancy chocolate.
-Good bedside reading lights
-A delicious breakfast (included) that offered a range of options. We particularly enjoyed the traditional Panamanian breakfast, with some local foods we had not tried: Hojaldra (like a fried bread for breakfast) and corn tortillas (not the tortillas we think of in the states, more like a crunchy polenta cake).

The staff are as attentive as everyone said. Miguel, Edward, and Johan were all lovely and helpful in organizing travel, tours, giving advice about sights to see, or making a special drink. But unlike some small hotels with personalized service, there's not a "creeper" vibe. There is plenty of privacy, and no one is chatting you up. We felt welcomed without being smothered.

The one thing I would mention is that the neighborhood of Casco Viejo varies from block to block and even within blocks. Some of the buildings right next to Las Clementinas (which is pristine and white) are quite run down. The police headquarters are right next door to the hotel. This is not a noise issue (I didn't hear one siren the whole time I was in Panama City), but the corner where the hotel is is swarming with police. This gives a real feeling of safety, but can also be disconcerting if you were not aware why all the police are stationed outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
What a great review. We so appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay with us, and your experiences with our staff. I'm so glad none of them came across as creepers! That made me laugh, and I know what you are talking about with other small places. Miguel, Edward and Johann -- our resident jokers -- will be thrilled to hear you found their service helpful! And yes, Casco does change from block to block, but as you saw it is very safe. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed over New Year 2013 and had a superb time - the hotel has been renovated with sympathy, and the staff are great! Food was also really good - and with lots of healthy veggie choices. Staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed & arranged a private trip to the lakes for us. Great location too.

The room itself was spacious as you'd expect and the 'mini bar' had everything we needed ;)

We stayed in another few hotels in Panama on our trip but this was certainly the #1

Room Tip: There's only 6 rooms - chamber 2 has the big balconies on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SquarecatBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for the kind words! New Year season is always a little hectic, but we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the food, the staff and your trips to the lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The size of the our room was breathtaking. A huge suite with four small balconies looking out on various scenes of Casco Antiquo life. The bathroom had a gorgeous tile shower and was sparkling clean. The bed had good reading lights and the kitchen, living room, dining room had anything one could want. There is no elevator and we were on the top floor. It is quite a climb but thankfully staff handled our luggage. From a free welcome mojito to a delicious breakfast in the garden we loved Las Clementinas. It is a small boutique hotel away from the noisier parts of touristy Old Town. We stayed in Casa del Horno as well and wished that Las Clementinas had been available when we returned to Casco Antiquo. It has a much warmer, softer, comfortable feel. I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraftonLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you noticed the warmth and care we strive for with each of our guests. There are lots of lovely hotels in the area, but I agree with you... Las Clementinas is special. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

It is so nice when a place lives up to its reputation! The hotel is lovely, the old city itself is charming, the room we stayed in was OFF THE CHARTS nice, and the food is to die for. This place has the only true 5 star restaurant in Panama City, which is not just the food, but the whole experience. Staff is friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Lower floor is better as this small hotel does not have an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chichipati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked the rooms and food at the restaurant! Thank you again, and we hope you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

An excellent choice if you are staying in Casco Viejo for a few nights. After a very long travel day from California, this was a very soft landing. The rooms are huge, quite nice and full of charm. Breakfast is spot on. The bar is cozy and serves a damn good mojito. Most of all the staff is incredibly warm, helpful and full of great recommendations. They helped make dinner reservations and gave us great tips about the area. There is a groovy booklet in your room full of info about the area as well. We really like everything about Las Clementinas and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thanks so much for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, but more so that you found our staff helpful and warm. It's what I know we all strive for here, so it's great to see that it came across. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed there now two times and will stay another time in 10 days. I just love the place. Only 6 suites (2 on each floor). No elevator, as it is a listed classic building - but the most friendly staff will take care of luggage and any other need. Stunning views from every room over the skyline of Panama City and the old town. Even more so on the roof terrace. Take a drink with you before sunset and enjoy the views. Nice little garden for relax or sipping your favourite cocktail. The rooms are spectacular. A lot of niece accessories and old books on Panama and the old town. Comfortable beds. Only the AC makes a lot of noise. The locarion is ideal to explore the city by foot. Valet parking available. Book well in advance, especially for weekends.
Excellent restaurant too - separate review

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Rooms 5 and 6 have even better views, but you have more steps to climb....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review. It's very comprehensive and hopefully gives people a sense of what our hotel is like. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again when next in Panama!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#46 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#48 of 116 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Property: Las Clementinas Hotel
Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing