We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, beautiful place to stay in the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #35 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Millstone, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small, beautiful place to stay in the old city”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The good:
The hotel is a little outside of the big city, in el Casco Viejo. We arrived a little early and even though the power had gone out (which is very common in Panama City) we were treated to the best mojitos I have ever tasted. The power was up very soon and after some fantastic ceviche we checked in to our room. It was fully equipped with a stove, dishware, cookware, fridge (mini fridge accommodations but nothing mini about it - really good prices too) AC, huge living room, shower, tv, balconies, and a game of dominoes. The staff always greeted us every morning (complimentary breakfast was so freaking good - get the french toast and brie), gave us directions, maps, recommendations and ordered a cab for us. The town is safe (stick to the east side toward the water) and there are great restaurants and bars in the area. A wonderful experience all around.

The OK: If you are going on a Sunday, things will be quiet at night. We expected this and it was fine. When I looked at the bill there were minibar purchases that we had not made. I let them know and they took it off immediately. So just check over the bill before you pay.

The not so good: We cooked dinner one night and the plastic lining of the pot came off in the heat. Better quality cookware would be nice. Not the biggest deal but we forgot to mention it to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. While we could not be happier that you enjoyed your stay (and the mojitos!), we're sorry to hear about the incident with the cookware. We normally supply cookware on request, and it is usually reviewed before being provided to the guest. We're very sorry that the quality control on this particular item slipped through the cracks and have already taken that item out of inventory once we read your review.

Thank you again, for your time and we appreciate all the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    88
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
83
226
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good service, excellent amenities, a solid restaurant close by, in the case of this hotel it is on the premises. We loved it and will recommend it. Great for anyone who wants to see the old part of the City as it should be seen, within its walls!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melpomene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and service, and always appreciate so much that our guests enjoy their time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great service, delicious food, close to main tourist attractions in the Casco Antiguo.
Rooms are spacious and very clean, air conditioning a little bit noisy but not an issue.
Staff is very helpful. Taxi drivers indicated by the hotel are highly recommended: look for Vicentin during the day and Armando during the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so very much for writing your kind review of our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and found our rooms, food, and most importantly our service to your liking! We hope you return next time you are in Panama!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After 3 days in Panama City, my wife and I had a wonderful lunch here. We really liked the simple decor and excellent quality of the food. It was probably the best meal we have had in Panama City. We will definitely return. We agreed that it reminded us an old New Orleans style quality restaurant. Three stars!

Room Tip: Although we did not stay in the hotel we visited the room immediately above the restaurant to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our restaurant. We are thrilled that you rate us among the best in the city, and comparing us to New Orleans is high praise, indeed. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The best option in old town for dinner, v ery good options on the menu, great service and nice ambiance, pls try the ceviche, the burger and any dessert, being near the bar also great option, on prices a litle upper than oters but it will be the one..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manuelnavarrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely review regarding our restaurant. We could not be more pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. We certainly hope we can host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

great place. just back from two nights there. clean, great location, excellent staff. miquel is a gentleman who runs the place and will do anything to make your stay. good breakfast, cute restaurant...clean, spacious rooms, nice rooftop spot to view the old city. good A/C, hot water, comfy bed. really relaxing place...with great coffee table books in the rooms too.
great city for walking all about.
ask about lunch at the fish market and the best hildago at a place that starts w/the letter G. really, really good. i went twice in one day.
had a great time. spend the cash, stay, relax and explore the city and enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: I had room 3. It was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmyboyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay with us. We're so happy that you enjoyed the rooms, staff, restaurant, and above all Casco Viejo where we call home. It's a really special place, and we're delighted that you got to see the neighborhood and enjoyed the fish market. Definitely a great place! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our car overheated near the Bridge of the Americas, and we took the exit to Casco Viejo to look for water. We found it at a police station, and the policeman took care of putting it into the radiator. Because of the 5 pm traffic, and the potential for losing the water again, we chose to spend the night in Casco Viejo instead of continuing to our home in Coronado at night, a journey of 55 miles. The policeman recommended a couple of hotels, one being Clementinas, so we drove there.This hotel and its restaurant are first class, with a staff that is also first class. We looked at the room before checking in, and it was a suite with a full kitchen, living room, a large bedroom and bath, and two separate patios. It had been totally restored to Casco Viejo's required original concept two years previously, which means outside it looked like a building in the Bourbon Street section of New Orleans, but the inside was beautifully new. The stay included a breakfast that was excellent. With our Jubilado visa discounts, its price was very economical. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for writing so beautifully about our hotel! I remember you and your wife, and your sad tale regarding your car's radiator. We couldn't be happier that we were able to make a difficult situation a little better for you both. We do hope you come and visit us again, this time under better circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 114 in Panama City
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#38 of 114 in Panama City
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 114 in Panama City
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 114 in Panama City
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Property: Las Clementinas Hotel
Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing