We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
310
94
27
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
94
27
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolice stationno elevatorcasco viejoold cityboutique hotelroof terracetiled showerfull kitchenliving roomflights of stairssmall kitchentall ceilingsnoisy at nightcomfortable furnituresmall hotelrooms are hugeapartment building
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is located on the edge of the Casco Viejo next to the main police station, an easy walk to anywhere in the old town. Spacious traditional apartments comfortably furnished, it captures something of the atmosphere and style of the old city. Lovely staff - relaxed and accommodating. Being on a street corner it is a little noisy perhaps at night. The restaurant and bar were excellent. The ginger lemonade with or without alcohol is a must as is the sea bass cerviche. We ate at other Tripadvisor recommended restaurants and thought les Clementinas was better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our little hotel and our staff. I know each one does strive to make sure our guests are treated like family. We're thrilled to know you enjoyed your drinks as well, which I think are some of the best in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Las Clementinas is the place to stay in Panama City. Not only for visits to the beautiful Casco Viejo, but also if you have to be elsewhere in the city. It is now much easier to get in and out of the Old Town than before and the hotel can easily be reached by car. Valet Parking is available. Once you arrived at the hotel and want to stay in Casco Viejo you do not need the car anymore. All nice bars and restaurants can be reached within a couple of minutes walking. Of course you so not have to leave the hotel. The restaurant is one of the best in town and Edward mixes the very best drinks. Mojito is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Franz, thank you so much for your lovely review. I completely agree: Edward does make the best drinks in town! We look forward to your return. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Catch this while it's still just six wonderful apartments with truly friendly and helpful management and staff. Very well thought out and maintained accommodations, fine breakfast and an excellent location for indulging in the thrill of wandering through and watching a careful and extensive revitalization of the best part of Panama City.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_and_r_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you very much! We appreciate your time in writing and are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our staff. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It seems such a long time we were staying at this charming boutique hotel in Casco Viejo at the start of a long odyssey in Central America.

We stayed for four nights in Room 1 (on the first floor). There are six rooms in all at the moment (with plans to develop an adjacent building currently derelict) and with no lift access to rooms 1 and 2 is certainly the easiest and worth bearing in mind if your mobility is restricted.

The rooms are all very similar and massive in size, the sitting room is enormous with antique furniture and contains a small kitchenette with the bedroom and bathroom a little smaller but extremely comfortable - we always prefer a bath but the shower was pretty good and the water hot when needed.

All the staff were charming and helpful and the restaurant is very good compared to most of them in Casco Viejo and well worth staying in one evening for dinner. Breakfast was included for us and was also good with plenty of options.

Casco Viejo is a developing area, lots of restoration going on, Las Clementinas in on the edge of the seedy side but there is a Police Station opposite and we felt quite safe. Should we ever return to Casco Viejo we would have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: There are 3 floors with 2 rooms on each. If you are in any way restricted in mobility you need to book either room 1 or 2 as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of our hotel, and of your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and found both the room and the staff agreeable. We hope you return to us, next time you are in Panama!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Very roomy accommodation with nice balconies. Location is ideal for the best part of Panama City in my experience. Breakfast was nice and well-cooked, though service could be a bit slow in the otherwise nice cafe they have. Staff was very helpful and they helped us find and arrange a good solution for our visit to the Panama Canal, including a very nice boat trip on the lake of the canal (not the locks) where you can see passing container ships and tropical wildlife (monkeys; turtles; birds; jungle).

The hotel is quite expensive for Panama and I did not appreciate their charges for an airport transfer - adding 50% to the price you can get with no negotiation from any cab driver is not agreeable. And since the hotel can be difficult to find for taxi drivers (appears to be a general problem in Panama city) and the first meeting with the international airport is quite confusing (for some reason the airport is without a taxi stand for normal taxis), a competitively priced airport transfer (say USD 30) would add to the experience. As it is, they clearly make enough on the cost of the room.

The trick at Panama City international airport is to ignore the (aggressive) touts in and outside the arrival hall, and wait for a yellow cab to happen by outside the terminal (every 2-3 minutes) and then offer him USD 30 for a ride to any address in the city (look for aircon, it is hot in Panama)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hello and thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel. We could not be happier that you enjoyed the experience.

A note on airport transfers: You are indeed correct that a taxi driver will transfer from the airport for $30. We usually use private transfer companies, which charge $45. We use these companies because, as I'm sure you've seen, there isn't much (if any) regulation of taxis here, and what you get in car, comfort and service can vary wildly. Most of our clients prefer to be driven in an air-conditioned, comfortable car with an English speaking driver, and companies that offer these things do charge more. We do not charge any percentage over their cost to us.

I write all this only to explain so that there isn't misunderstanding. Any guest who requests a simple tax transfer, we will be more than happy to book that as well.

Again, thank you so much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews