We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #33 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“just perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were very happy with our two nights at Las Clemintinas. The current six rooms are actually spacious, comfortable apartments with living room , dining area, kitchen, bedroom and bath. I'm told that the expansion will have a variety of arrangements. Hotel staff were friendly and happy to help. We were told that they have a great restaurant, but due to Monday night closure and other plans on a Tuesday night, we only enjoyed their breakfast. The choices were varied and delicious. I liked the early 20th century aesthetics but with modern plumbing. They have a sweet ground floor garden and a great view on the balcony. If you can't walk steps, wait for the completion of the remodel; there will be an elevator.

Room Tip: I'm told that the remodel will have a swimming pool too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings and thank you for writing! We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us. And yes, we are in the process of expanding our little hotel, and there are plans to include a pool! I think the staff is as excited by the prospect as our guests have been! We hope you return to see everything completed. Regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    87
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
82
223
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was thinking of 5 stars for this Casco Viejo oasis, but that would mean "exceeded expectations". Sin embargo, my wife and I truly enjoyed our 4 nights here. The staff, Marvin, Miguel and Carolina are focused, intelligent and totally connected to the best tour guides. I took a star off only because we were expecting a colonial era building deeper into the renovated section.

All 6 rooms are huge with large sitting room, and a kitchen, and good sized bedroom and bathroom. Lovely wooded floors, good linen, and almost adequate wifi. The other reason to take off a star is the price inferred at least somewhere to sit in a lobby, and an elevator. We had no problem with walking up 60 concrete stairs - we're fit old folks. And the cafe and bar is a fine place to hang out and meet your co-tourers.

The roof top patio is cool. The staff superb. The help in arranging a last minute Embera village trip was the beautifully managed. I grew to love the quirky and safe location across from the police station and a yet to be renovated section of the old city.

I say this: If you need a large living space and want extremely high level service STAY HERE. Casco Viejo is an intriguing work in progress and the owners of Clementinas, and Canal House and the newly renovated American Trade Hotel have a social conscience. That I liked too.

Hey, maybe I should give 5 stars!
?!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a window view toward the new city, and a balcony over the square. Also a view from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello Bob and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I know I speak on behalf of everyone here, that you and your wife were a joy to have with us. We're incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us and came to love this little corner of Casco as much as we do! Hopefully, you will both make your way back to us some day. Kind regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Las Clementinas is a wonderfully cozy 6 room hotel in the Casco Viejo section of Panama City (PC) and affords a nice base from which to explore this old section of PC. The ground floor has a small reception foyer and the hotel's restaurant where you can have a great breakfast to start your day. Or lunch. Or dinner. Or drinks. Locals as well as tourists frequent the resto which attests to its offerings and appeal.

There are 2 rooms per floor, starting one floor above the ground level. There is no elevator and the ceilings are tall so it can be a bit of a climb if you're in the upper rooms. We were in room 6 (on the 3rd floor) and it was bright and airy (and we did not mind the climb). We had a balcony that overlooked the small square in front of the hotel (a local police unit also fronts the square but they were quite quiet). The room had a large, bright sitting area and a large bedroom; the bath was off the bedroom. There was a small efficiency kitchen off the sitting room with a fridge and a sink (we stored extra water in the fridge). And, there is a nice roof-top area with tables and a killer view of the district and the downtown Panama City skyline - a nice spot to watch the sun go down.

The staff (Marvin & Miguel) were extremely helpful and we met the general manager (Carolina IIRC) who asked about our stay. We asked to leave a bag with them while we ventured off to Bocas del Toro and they readily accommodated us.

The Casco Viejo area is a mix of commercial/retail, residential, religious, and governmental properties. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants to try during your visit (in addition to Las Clementinas). Renovations and gentrification are proceeding at full pace and one wonders if some of the local attractiveness of the section will be lost to US$1M+ properties.

I would definitely stay at Las Clementinas again and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Skip, Thank you so much for writing about your experiences with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words about Marvin and Miguel to them. They are definitely amazing, and we're always thrilled to hear them get all the kudos I definitely believe they deserve. Thank you again and hope you enjoyed your time in Bocas as well! Kind regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful service. A special thanks to Miguel who booked a fantastic table at Miraflores restaurant for us and arranged for a friendly , reliable taxi driver to take care of us. The most amazing thing is that this was done by email 2 weeks after our stay in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Your review made me smile. It speaks to just what is so great about our staff here. Even when you leave, you're still part of the extended family. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We truly loved the hotel. The rooms were spacious and elegant. The restaurant was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed Casco Viejo and all that it had to offer. It was a pleasure to have worked with Miguel and Marvin. They made our stay fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write. Marvin and Miguel are quite the dynamic duo when it comes to our guests, and we're so glad that you enjoyed their fine hospitality. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

All reviews lead us to believe that Las Clementinas was a pristine hideaway in Old Panama. It is charming with huge suites that include a large living/dining room, generous size bedroom, bath and kitchen. It was built in the 1930's which add to the charm, but some of the furniture in the rooms was definitely tired. The linens were all lovely as well as the shampoo and lotions. Each suite had many personal touches of art work, old Panama photos and a great selection of reading material for the area. We were warned that Las Clementinas does not have elevators and that the staff will bring your bags to your room, but climbing two long flights of stairs in the Panama heat is not easy unless you are in good condition. The outside patio covered with spectacular foliage was too warm for eating. Their much acclaimed restaurant was a disappointment. The welcome drink was delicious and very appreciated. Breakfast was pretty good, but our dinner there a big disappointment. Do not get the flan for dessert. Las Clementinas is adding on to the six suites they have and I trust they will also upgrade the existing ones as well.

Room Tip: The lower floor would have less stairs to climb, but may possibly have more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel and restaurant. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and found our rooms, linens and amenities to your liking. As I wrote to you in your other review, we feel badly that your experience in our restaurant for dinner was not great; I assure you that is not the norm. Thank you again for taking the time to write, and we hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laax, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at Las Clementinas for 2 nights. Very nice suites with separate bedroom and kitchen (we shared a site with our adult daughter), an excellent restaurant (we had dinner on our arrival day and came back for lunch on the day we left, because the food was so good) and a great location to explore the Casco Viejo (which is really worth exploring).
This is truly a "boutique hotel", so don't expect the services of a big hotel. Yet, everybody was very friendly and helpful. If you want to experience the old part of Panama City this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Greetings and thank you for writing. We're so pleased you enjoyed our rooms and restaurant. As you say, we are a small boutique hotel, but for those guests, like yourself, looking for deeply personalized service and engaging experiences, we feel we do an excellent job of providing that. Kind regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#60 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#54 of 116 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Property: Las Clementinas Hotel
Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing